May 8th -- Steemit Ramble #154 -- Curating Great Posts for You

in #curation6 years ago

Life in my little abode has returned to a more normal pattern after a few days without hydro which went out when a windstorm swept across Ontario on Friday. I got my power back yesterday and have been working to get caught up on the platform and offline.

I was able to charge my devices and have some use of them by going over to the Legion each day. I tried to do some work from there but it was hard to focus with so many interruptions. So, I charged devices, touched base with people on discord and headed home for the most part. I did manage to make a couple of posts on the @shadowspub account.

Now, I’ve gone through all my Ginabot notices and found some interesting posts. I’m going to share them here and then will be checking my other usual sources. If there is some good material there, I may get a second ramble out faster than usual. Who knows.

Onward to today’s rambling

You bought me WHAT???

@dreemsteem does this post as part of her dropintheocean participation at @buddyup. The theme is ‘context’, her approach is different. She shows without telling, which is a bit of an unusual outcome for a writer. She explained the concept but left her readers looking for answers.

I Once Lived in a Van Down By the River

@katieaguilera is a new Steemian writing her introductory post. I love her first line “My name is Katie Aguilera and I write stuff.” After reading her intro, I’m curious to see what ‘stuff’ she’s going to write for us in the future. Welcome aboard @katieaguilera

Main Reason For Staying On Steemit?

@snook shares with us her reasons for staying on the platform. She came to support two people she cared about and found she’s met some other people she cares about too. As she meets more people and ‘is snook’ with them, the circle of people who like and care about her just keeps growing. Glad you stayed @snook

Fifty-word round up and new prompt!

If you think that good short fiction is easy to write, you’ve likely never written it. To create a proper story and characters in fifty words takes a lot of thought. @jayna has been running a 50 word story challenge using a word prompt each week. This post is a compilation of the latest entries.

Look Into Her Eyes [Short Story]

One of the participants in the fifty word challenge, @anikekirsten, has also published a short story of a longer length. This story will keep you reading from the very first sentence to the last, never knowing which way it will twist next.

Chinese Designers Create Life-Saving Floating Survival House

@anonnews report about a Chinese developed product which could prove a lifesaver in catastrophes like floods and tsunamis. A floating emergency shelter designed to withstand rough waters, provide survivors with fresh water and shelter until they can be rescued. Fascinating read.

I STEEM of Dreemy...or some such shit.

At the last Treasure Hunt during PYPT @enginewitty won some gift items which Capt @dreemsteem shipped to his place. Here @enginewitty shares getting the package and what was in it which was more than expected. How very cool. We’re looking forward to @dreemsteem returning with the next edition of the Treasure Hunt.

The STEEM Engine Express Episode 20

@ethandsmith brings the shoutoutsaturdays initiative to his Steem Engine Express curation podcast as he features some of the hardworking people who keep @thesteemengine discord group on the rails and chugging along smoothly. Great edition @ethandsmith.

Shout-out Saturdays!! -- Issue #5 from The Weasel's Wife -- The Primo Contributors to Steemit / Cinco de Shout-Out Edition

Coming from my neck of the woods, I didn’t make the connection that there was any significance to May 5th. Well, actually, from my Legion background I’m aware that May 5th is liberation day in the Netherlands. However for people in @theweaselswife’s neck of the woods, they are aware that Cinco de Mayo is a big deal in Mexico which is not far away from them.

So, @theweaselswife did a Cinco de Mayo style Shoutout Saturday. Cool approach to adapting a regular series to a special day. Nicely done @theweaselswife.

My Life's Biggest Regret Contest

I was partial drawn to the topic as I’ve been recently wrestling with a sense of regret I never thought I would experience. It prompted me to read the post and found a very touching story by @purpledaisy57 a bond that didn’t have opportunity to grow and a life taken too soon. Beautifully written.

Spring is Here, But I Did a Boing and a Sproing in the Snow (Very Good Boy Doggo Winter Portraits)

Last, but not least, my favourite dog @murphydog has posted about a romp in the spring snow he and his lady hooman went out on. The weather was great @murphydog was delighted to get some great training in to make sure he’s ready to sproing into action when the squirrel menace should appear. Lady hoooman took some great pictures of @murphydog so he could share.

About the Steemit Ramble

The Steemit Ramble is a manual curation project written by @shadowspub since August 2016. She scours the blockchain to locate and share the best posts so you don't have to. Every day many quality posts disappear on the blockchain leaving their authors frustrated they aren't seen and readers just as frustrated trying to find them. This curation project brings readers and authors together.

How You Can Participate?

As hard as she works, @shadowspub doesn't find all the best. You, as a reader, will find posts that have been missed and really should be seen. You can take a part in bringing these posts to light and earn a share of the post they are published in.

The Steemit Ramble has it's own discord called, Steemit Ramble. Here you can nominate posts you've found and think belong in the Ramble.

How to Nominate a Post

  1. Read How I Manually Curate to give you an idea of what I'm looking for in a post. This covers the formatting, the quality of the writing is just as important.
  2. When you find a post visit the Ramble discord and submit it to the #nominate-someones-post channel by writing a short nomination

It's that easy. I review each submission. Those I select will receive credit for the nomination, their nomination will be part of the entry in the Ramble and they will receive a portion of the SBD earned when the post pays out.

Supporting the Steemit Ramble Curation Project

In addition to reading and upvoting the Steemit Ramble, you can support the project and the authors featured in it by:

  1. Delegating even as much as 25 SP to @steemitramble -- this will increase the voting power of the account when it votes on those curated. Delegating is like loaning me some of your Steem Power so I can vote on others posts with a larger vote.

  2. Join the curation trail on SteemAuto and then join the curation trail. The trail is called Steemit Ramble

steemit ramble

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EDT on the Steemit Ramble Discord. Come and join the fun promoting your posts and getting to know others.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time — It's All About Community


If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see @shadowspub's other writings, just visit her profile


Sort:  

I am so happy to be part of this line-up, @Shadowspub. Thank you so much for the honor and for everything you and your work bring to the Steemit experience.

I find some great people to follow just by following you. To steal the General Electric motto and apply it here: You bring good things to life!

I look forward to the next one -- as always.

Thank you for all your consistency! It's inspiring!

I want to get this out on a more regular basis, so need to work at that.

Sweet, thanks for throwing me up in there! Look forward to her return too😍checking out the others you have up there. Passed on for more eyes😎

Yeah, the Treasure Hunt was a fun segment. We just need to get more folks to participate.

aw wow thanks for the feature I am glad you liked my story Makes me determined to write more and better

will be looking for your future work ... if you'd like some peer review for your writing before you post, consider joining The Writer's Block on discord.

Thank you so much for sharing the 50-word challenge, on behalf of the whole #fiftywords community. We have so much fun crafting our micro-fiction stories each week. The highlight is much appreciated!

I've seen some great 50 word stories but they are a bit short for individual listing in something like that Ramble.

Oh, my. Thank you! Honoured to be Rambled. <3

Thank you :D now I have more to read LOLLL

Electricity! If Tesla had 'beat' Edison then we'd have no issues with this, jk
lol :P
<3
b.a.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78