Shout-out Saturdays!! -- Issue #5 from The Weasel's Wife -- The Primo Contributors to Steemit / Cinco de Shout-Out Edition

in #shoutoutsaturdays6 years ago (edited)

CincoDeMayoMariachis-041118.jpg
Cinco de Mayo is a big deal in Mexico!
Image Source

Cinco de Shout-Out

So once again, it's time for #shoutoutsaturdays!! Or as the venerable senior citizen of Steemit, @sultnpapper puts it this week ... it's cinco de shout-out. As residents of the American Southwest know, Cinco de Mayo is kind of a big holiday in Hispanic culture. (Mostly it's an excuse to get drunk, like the people in this state needed that. But that's another story for another post.)

People say it's like Mexico's Independence Day ... but that's not accurate. Again -- another topic for another post ... on another day. (Hmmm. I better get busy.)

cws.gif

Nachos-001-041118.jpg
Time for food, folks and fun!!
Image Source

Getting organized

It's been an extremely busy week for me, and I'm getting a late start on this post. (Again!) But it's going to be the Cinco de Shout-out edition anyway, whenever it gets done. (Maybe somewhere in the world it will still be May 5. Let's hope so.)

Let me look through my "followed folks" list and see if I can come up with a theme. Last week we did the Geezers of Steemit. No way to rank these folks except on the same superior level -- so here they are in the order to which they come to mind. @lizelle, @shadowspub, @catweasel and ol' @sultnpapper. (If I do the name twice, maybe he'll get the notice. GinaBot has kind of fallen down on the job lately.)

cws.gif

PineAndWhiteStripedFlowers-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

Finally ... a theme

(Ok, Editor's Note:) It looks like what I've written this week is a post based around Primo Contributors to Steemit. These people do fabulous work to make Steemit more interesting. They help you find other great people. They live extraordinary lives of their own. They simply enrich your experience here -- just by being themselves.

I know there are plenty more who belong in this category, so it will come up again. Once I start writing I can't seem to stop though -- and you haven't got all day to spend reading this post.

cws.gif

WhiteTulips-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

@artemisnorth

I guess I'll start here with @artemisnorth. She's @shadowspub's younger sister -- and if you don't know who @shadowspub is, hustle yourself over to her blog ... and her newest branch office at @steemitramble ... and find out. Anyway, @artemisnorth has recently returned to Steemit after some time away -- and is busy carving out her own niche in the field of curation.

She does two curation projects -- one on the fiber arts at @fiberartists and the other on nature-folks. (That's people who love the wilderness and outdoors ... not free-spirits who run around naked.) That one is @paddlingnature ... and if you're looking for more interesting people to follow or if those are interests of yours, check out her work. You won't be sorry.

She has great taste in people to feature and I have found some very worthwhile blogs by tagging along in her wake.

cws.gif

BlueCornFlowers-001-080917.jpg
Image Source

@crazybgadventure

The next one I'm going to mention is the guy who started this whole effort, that @crazybgadventure himself. The dude be more than a little bit nuts ... so if you need inspiration or something to brighten your day, see what he has to offer. He's into gardening and magickal herbs. He gets so carried away digging in his yard he gets sunburned.

He runs the @beyondtheveil blog and Discord -- which are dedicated to highlighting the strange, spiritual and supernatural topics in life. He runs his own radio show, too. (OMG, where does this man get his energy?)

Rumor has it he makes a mean lemon-drizzle cake ... but he didn't share the recipe with me. Just mentioned it over and over. And over.

However, he has promised to post a video if his partner ever lets him install a fireman's pole from the top floor of his house to the bottom. That prospect alone keeps me following him. That would be a sight worth seeing.

He has dogs. He's from England, but lives in Bulgaria. (Don't ask me why. Even he hasn't got a good answer for that.) And he heats his house with a stove he recycled and refurbished himself. (He wrote a post about that. My Lord, what a job.)

He also started the #shoutoutsaturdays tag, idea and project. So, if you're reading this, it's all due to him. He gets either the blame or the credit -- and you get to choose which.

For that alone, AFAIC he deserves a cyber-hug and some virtual cheesecake. He likes that, too ... and teases me with the image of him and his little hamster-cheeks just shoveling it in. Come to think of it, he's kind of a sadist. Maybe you shouldn't follow him after all.

cws.gif

Dandelions-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

@goldendawne

Next up in this theme is that sweet, lovely angel @goldendawne. (She's simply a powerhouse of industry. I don't know where she finds the time to do all she does. I need to take lessons.) She's a homesteader in Michigan. That's one full-time job right there. She's into canning and recipes and gardening and seed-stuff and making things out of sour milk. (I hope that wasn't an accident.)

She edits the Daily Qurator -- which you can find at @qurator. (That's two.) Like me, she seems to be perpetually on Steemit, so I don't know how she also manages to run a home and keep her husband fed, but she does. (That's three. Count them. Three full-time jobs.) I bet she has pets, too. People like her usually do.

She sleeps once in a while (I suppose) -- or she'd look even more frazzled than she already does. I'm not sure what's going on there with the hair, but I'm not going to hold it against her. She does even more than I do in a day, and believe me ... that's a recommendation. Go see what she's into. It's sure to be fun.

300-DQmc2oeN2ZLTg1iNEHomcUFx9LvTMvaVXsDj6AQfPKpuKiL.jpg

cws.gif

SweetPeas-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

@ameliabartlett

The last one I'm going to mention feels very bittersweet. It's @ameliabartlett ... who for the last few months has headed the @ladiesofsteemit project. That was one fabulous idea -- 'cause I know those when I see them.

The melancholy is because she's taking some time away from Steemit, so you'll have to catch up on her work already in place -- and wait for her return. She says it's only for the month of May -- but I have a feeling it could be longer than that. No evidence. As I said -- just a feeling.

But she has created and left behind some terrific stuff for you to prowl through. I enjoy rummaging through her past issues when I have time. It's tough to find interesting blogs on Steemit (IMO.) So I really appreciate those who do most of the leg-work and searching for me -- like @ladiesofsteemit, and all the curators I've mentioned here, and of course #shoutoutsaturdays. God bless @crazybgadventure.

The visibility issue on Steemit is awful. The developers should be ashamed of themselves. But they're not. So we have to pick up the slack ourselves. (We're like pioneers -- who are a very special breed of human!) @ameliabartlett like all the others I've listed here and elsewhere is one enterprising enough to fill in the gap. We all need to follow her example as best we can.

cws.gif

PurplePansies-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

Closing remarks

Now it's up to you. All of you I've showcased here already do your own #shoutoutsaturdays post, so keep up the great work. Next Saturday ... same time, same station. Anyone else reading this, you are cordially invited to join in the fun whether anyone has tagged you or not. Sometimes you need to blow your own horn. Get fired up. Just do it.

Talk about people you like. Talk about people who brighten your day. Talk about people who make life better -- here and elsewhere. Let them know they haven't just been taken for granted -- or lost in the crowd. Feeling invisible and unheard can be fatal. Become a solution -- not part of the problem. We are all counting on you.

Ok, that's it guys. I've met my requirements. Yeah, I know it's late, but it's better than nothing. And trust me, I could not have gotten it done any sooner. It's not like I slack off. As @catweasel says, chance would be a fine thing.

P.S. I invite anyone reading this post to leave me a link to someone you think is terrific. I am always looking for great new people to follow -- and great posts to read. I may do a New Friends edition of #shoutoutsaturdays soon -- featuring the latest fun people I've followed. You could be doing us all a favor it you take a minute to throw a name in the hat.

Love to you all!!

cws.gif

One last note. All the people featured here are members of @thesteemengine. (Not steemengineteam. That's totally different!!) If you have been on Steemit for at least four months and you think your work is excellent but undervalued, you might want to consider joining our group. If you and your work meet that description, you're a member we want to have. Click on The STEEM Engine banner below for more information.

cws.gif

About the art in our visual essays ...

Although sometimes the background pictures in our visual essays support the topic and text, they don't always. Sometimes the connection is clear. Sometimes it's symbolic and subtle. Sometimes, there's no connection at all.

The scenes depict landscapes and natural features, buildings and wildlife. They were chosen because they show something lovely or interesting ... or simply because the photo appealed to me.

Our spectacular and remarkable planet is changing at astonishing speed. Rarely are these changes for the better. Few people seem to know ... or care ... or have the will and power to do anything about this. It may not be long before the world humans have known and lived in for centuries is forever lost. We certainly won't be able to make repairs as fast as we destroyed it.

So a few years ago I began collecting pictures of the way things were ... and still are for now, a record of the beauty we have while it is still ours to love and honor.

The photos here are part of that collection, with sincere thanks to the artists who saw these moments ... and with their cameras ... preserved them. All of us at Enchanted Spirit are profoundly grateful to them for their generosity and skill ... and for the added grace, depth and dimension their art brings to ours.

Original images used under this Creative Commons license or this Creative Commons license and modified by added text.

cws.gif

enchanted_red.png

cws.gif

The STEEM Engine

cws.gif

thealliance_logo.png

cws.gif

Isle of Write

cws.gif

cws.gif

LadiesOfSteemit

cws.gif

BTV2.png

cws.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite #qurator

cws.gif

Sort:  

How many ways can I say “I love you?" I got help, so at least six.

I love your #shoutoutsaturdays, too.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Oh, good grief.

That was very nice. (And surprising.)

Hi @theweaselswife, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thank you so much for this. What an unexpected surprise! I need to get over and say "thank you" also on the Steemit Ramble itself. Sadly, every time I've thought about that, I've either been in a heck of a hurry -- or in the wrong account to reply. So today, I made a point to sign into the right account first. (That's how I have to do it these days.)

I'll see you over there in a minute. Bless you, @Shadowspub for all you do and the invaluable contributions you make to Steemit. You are one of the platform's genuine jewels.

I took you up on your offer to nominate someone else's post in the Steemit Ramble Discord just now. Please have a look when you get a spare minute (I know how that goes!!) If you have an edition of The Ramble ready to go, you might want to give it a home. <3

Okay, Gina told me to get over here, and only to find out that I can only make it around here as an "old geezer", no way that I would ever make it as a "primo contributor" but that won't stop me. Good try.
Last I checked, it might still be Saturday in Mexico since Cinco de Mayo last about a week down there.

And well, you're a primo contributor in your own fashion. Anyone who churns out a post, day after day after day. After day after day -- qualifies as that. So, maybe you've got a kick coming about being omitted. (That's different than when I tell @catweasel he's got a kick coming. Totally different thing. Believe me.)

Anyway, you got me thinking about how many categories you might legitimately fit -- and doing that I came up with another theme for another Saturday. Steemians with Style. So when that one gets written, you'll be right up there on stage. Maybe we can't all be good at everything, but some of us can be good at a lot. You can lay claim to that -- and I won't argue a bit.

(My variation on, "You can fool all of the people some of the time, and some of the people all of the time, etc." Who'd have guessed how true those words would turn out to be.)

It was your list not mine, I was just giving you a little jab in the ribs like my wife gives me in church when she thinks I'm not paying attention. I don't even consider myself a "primo contributor" so I wouldn't expect others too either. Now if it been labeled "consistent" , that would have been a whole another story if I didn't make that list, but then the question becomes the type of consistency?
The guy mucking the horse stalls everyday is consistent, day after day after day... but in the end he is still just shoveling a bunch of shit. I better stop or you just might see the similarity I just pointed out.
I am glad though that I prompted some thought on another possible category for a shout out post, I am good for something every now and then.

I'm counting on the fact that Cinco de Mayo goes on for a week in Mexico -- and here. (Or until revelers sober up. Whichever comes first.) Things like deadlines used to bother me a lot more than they do now. I used to crawl The Weasel's frame for treating deadlines like "a suggestion." Either what he's got is catching -- or I'm slowing down with age. Probably some of both. I've got too many other things to worry about. Deadlines on Steemit don't even make the list any more.

Thanks for the shoutout!! Have I told you you're Awesome?!!! You're pretty brave calling out the Geezers...LOL!! Better you than me. LOL! Have a great one.

I think my wife is the primo geezero.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You are so lucky she loves you!! LOL!!

I know.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Yes, you are. You really are. Really.

I know. I really really know.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Congratulations @theweaselswife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92