September 7 -- Steemit Ramble #118 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

The response to opening the Steemit Ramble discord has been very positive. I had a few glitches in the learning process of how to use discord and managed to not set the permissions for the nomination channel. They are set now, so drop over, say howdy and make your nomination.

Got a wicked early morning thunderstorm this morning. Dawn was literally a scaredy cat, tore though the house and into my arms when the first clap of thunder hit. Fawnya ambled into the room, looked at her and over to the window, calmly laid down and waited for it to end. Too funny.

Onward to today’s rambling

Hey Steemit - I'm Kiana !

This post was nominated by @seablue. Thank you mate.

I like checking out some of the introduceyourself posts. The better written ones are often people to keep an eye out for as they progress on the platform.

@kikibosslady is one of those posts. She shares with us that she is the mom of a daughter and two boys who have challenges in life. It’s a tough road for parents with special needs children and I’m sure @kikibosslady will be sharing with us about those challenges.

I Promise I'm Not A Crazy Cat Lady -- Crazy Maybe :)

Yes, this is my own post. My privilege :) It’s a post about my cat companions that make up my household. They are like kids even though they are not kids.

The Unmentionables Contest - 50/50 Raffle - Enter to Win SBD, Free Whale Votes & More

The Unmentionables discord is working hard at growing and creating community that builds Steemit. Nice energy over there. You may want to consider supporting their raffle.

IRMA, the name means War Goddess

@battleaxe is near the area expected to be affected by Hurricane Irma. She’s taken some time out from preparing for it’s approach to examine the mythology behind the name. Interesting reading.

Support those working to expose abuse, and save the rewards pool!! Featuring: @paulag, and @sherlockholmes (part 1)

@mikepm74 writes about two people, @paulag and @sherlockholmes, who are working to try to improve the STEEM community without regard if they gain anything from it.

❤️ How to stop being a people pleaser

I’ve met a lot of people who tend toward being people pleasers. They are usually very nice people and very capable people but something in them makes them strive to make everyone happy and often make themselves miserable.

In a leadership position, a people pleaser frustrates the hell out of me. I try to place the person in a position they both can do well and like. The problem is the person is so busy being a people pleaser, I can never get an honest answer if they are comfortable with what I’m offering for them to do.

@karensuestudios writes about how to stop being a people pleaser. Please, if you are one, read this very carefully.

The Destruction of All Sorts of Disease that are Now Begin To Be Forgotten

@nfloker writes about the health benefits of honey. Not talking about what passes for honey in most supermarkets. Talking about the raw, unprocessed honey that comes from the apiary. It is a very natural source of nutrients but like everything else, don’t overdo.

I have at least a tablespoon of raw honey every day along with lemon juice. I also work on a diet as free as possible of processed foods, refined sugars and flour based food items.

With the exception of the serious illness I had a couple of months ago, I am generally pretty healthy and I have recovered from the illness better than the docs had expected. Our diet choices make a difference.

Announcing the Steem Bluepaper!

Last week Steemit released the long awaited update to the White Paper which describes the system. Today, they have released another update called a Bluepaper. To be honest, I don’t really know what the difference is but I may figure that out when I get a chance to read them and compare them. Until them, you can have a look yourself.

Just What Makes A Bestseller - Does Quality Content Always Rise To The Top?

@winstonalden posts about bestsellers and what makes one book into a bestseller and another not. He explores the results of software that has analyzed bestsellers, old and new, for what made them tick. The results are very interesting.

Rest In Peace, @lauralemons. You Were Dear to Me, and Everyone Who Knew You.

@alexbeyman breaks the news to the community that a valued member, @lauralemons, has committed suicide. @alexbeyman, she’s at rest now, don’t let the shoulda, coulda, woulda eat at you.

You provided her all the support you could. Some people are just determined and it sounds like she had had enough of this life. Suicide is the hardest death to come to terms with.

MSP Waves Radio/ @ma1neevent / @msp-waves

I’m veering off the Steemit site momentarily to talk about another Steemit project that is meant to support and build the community. You likely have heard of the Minnow Support Project and even their PAL Discord server. I have been visiting it but it took me a while to catch on to what else they have.

MSP (minnow support project) Radio. You can listen to their radio programs through the MSP Waves Radio website and at the same time visit the msp-audience channel on the discord server and be part of the live audience.

I happened in there this evening while @ma1neevent was interviewing some Steemians. I just caught the tail end of the program but it’s always interesting to actually hear a Steemian talk about themself.

You can find the schedule of shows on the MSP Waves Radio site. And you can get to the PAL Discord here

Team Canada joins the MSP/PAL Discord! Canucks we want you in there :)

Being a Canuck, I was delighted to come across this post. While on the PAL Discord, if you are Canadian, drop by the teamcanada channel and say hello to who ever is around. @juliakponsford displays a red steemit whale in the post, wonder if Canada will get a Steemit Redpaper to go with the Bluepaper that was published today?

Morality Versus Spirituality

This is an eternal debate between those who have faith in a higher power known to Christians as God and those who don’t. Some of the discussions are just insane and some, they are thoughtful. I would put @anarchistbanjo’s brief discussion here as thoughtful.

Have you heard? I'm a steampunk model.

This post was also nominated by @seablue. I actually wrote this post over two days so the nomination up above was yesterday.

@ashlynncrow posts on becoming a model for the Steampunk Cafe and also about the Cafe itself. From the photos and text describing it, it looks like an experience just to visit it. Very nice.

Wrap-up on Day 118

Another varied bunch of posts. I love variety. I’m never failed to be amazed at the work that so many put in to support and grow those who are on the platform. Some really neat projects underway on the chats.

Still Pending Posts

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. Below are the posts still pending payout as of the time of the writing. I invite you to visit the posts and upvote them if you like them:

September 1 -- Steemit Ramble #115 -- Curating Great Posts for You
September 4 -- Steemit Ramble #112 -- Curating Great Posts for You
September 5 -- Steemit Ramble #117 -- Curating Great Posts for You
I Promise I'm Not A Crazy Cat Lady -- Crazy Maybe :)

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

This is NOT an invite to SPAM!

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

If you’d like to join my curation trail on Streemian, please click here


Sort:  

Thank you so much for the mention @shadowspub! Much appreciated. I'd just like to point out that the link in this article is to part 1 of 2 of the @paulag and @sherlockholmes interviews. Part 2 was published today by @inquiringtimes and features my interview with Sherlock. Please have a visit to see what Sherlock had to say here: https://steemit.com/steemit-help/@inquiringtimes/support-those-working-to-expose-abuse-and-save-the-rewards-pool-part2-featuring-sherlockholmes-and-paulag

Thanks again! Have a great weekend folks!!

thanks for adding the link to the second part @mikepm74. I don't always catch the next parts of multi-part posts unless I remember to go back and look it up.

In this lobby, will there be T.P.? For my bunghole?

Loading...

Thanks for dropping my post in here, all PR for Teamcanada is excellent :) So many posts to go through they all look interesting and really diverse! Nice curation!

thank you @juliakponsford and thank you for forming a place for us Canucks to find others.

her name is on so many of my own personal posts, there is nothing to say, it is tragic

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Great selection @shadowspub.

Thank's @seablue and @shadowspub for nominating and including me in this post. ^_^
If you are in the NoHo district you should definitely drop by that cafe. Mmmmm.....

I would but it might be a long trek from Canada :)

Montreal has some delicious venus. I was in chocolate heaven when I visited. I'd love to go again, maybe even live there. * ponders in thought. *

Well, you are getting closer. I live in Ontario and haven't been to Montreal, Quebec. My niece has.. she quite enjoyed it.

OMG thank you for the shout out! :) I'm so touched. You summed it up nicely!

thank you ... glad I caught the essence.

You did a wonderful job! :)

I really appreciate the mention of my radio show @shadowspub! Thanks so much for listening to the show!

great compilations! looking forward to seeing more! keep em coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78