I Promise I'm Not A Crazy Cat Lady -- Crazy Maybe :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)
There is this stereotype of middle aged women who live alone and have cats being crazy. I do sort of fit the stereotype except my house is not swarming with cats. I have two, the most I’ve had is three.

The picture to the right is of Cookie, a Siamese mix breed. She was eighteen when I took that picture.


At the time I also had Dawn. Anyone who has seen my notice to people that they have been included in the Steemit Ramble has seen a version of this picture. She’s a part Maine Coon cat.

She seems to have gotten their intelligent, mischief making traits but not the large size. She weighs around nine pounds most of the time.

When I took that picture of Cookie, Dawn was about a year old and had shown herself to be rather playful and really wanting to play with Cookie who wanted no part of that. That got me to doing some serious thinking.

It was likely Cookie would not be around much longer, after all eighteen is a pretty good age for a cat. Dawn clearly needed younger company to bond with so she had someone to share her energy and socialness with.

But, I really wasn’t sure I wanted three cats even if one basically spent her time sleeping near me. My house is not large and I really didn’t want that crazy cat lady like feel to my household. Eventually, I reached a decision.

Fawnya selected me when I went to have a look at the litter of kittens a Legion friend’s cat had. As I reached for one of the other kittens, he hopped onto my arm, ran up and licked my ear. Was hard to refuse him.

So, at six weeks old, he was brought into the household.

While the picture shows his eyes as green, they were and still are amber. His name is an old English word meaning fawn coloured. I was grateful that the name is also gender neutral as I originally thought I had a female cat.

I brought him home in a cardboard box which immediately brought Dawn running to see what I’d brought in. I opened the box expecting her to be happy to see a new friend. I was shocked to see her fur stand on end and her hissing at this interloper. This wasn’t going to be as easy as I expected.

For the next few days, Fawnya would try exploring his new space and Dawn would hiss and howl at him, sending him running to me for protection. He came flying across the floor at one point and tried to burrow between my leg and the arm of my chair as Dawn was whacking at his backside.

Meanwhile, Cookie accepted this new addition and even would curl up with him as she slept. I was astounded. As she got older and more feeble, the by then much bigger Fawnya would lay down and wrap his paws around her like he was protecting her. It was sweet to see.

By about the third day, I had to leave the house for most of the day. I was a bit uneasy about doing so but decided that either there would be blood on the floor when I returned or Dawn and Fawnya would be starting to get along. They started to get along.

So, here we are a few years later. Cookie has passed away at the age of 24 and the household is back to two cats and me. We are a household and even though I don’t think of the two cats as kids, they behave very much like them at times.

In this photo, Dawn is laying in my arms and Fawnya has moved from laying across my lap to curled up beside me. He’s twice Dawn’s size but yields to her as the senior animal in the house.

They often will play together in the house until they notice me watching and then it turns to swatting at each other. Like a couple of kids.

Fawnya likes to hunt which makes him the mouser in the house. When he catches one he prefers to play with it until he wears it down and finishes it off. I really don’t like seeing it but living in a rural older home, he’s doing a job I need done.

Dawn watches this going on but doesn’t take part. She on the other hand is really into watching videos with me. Recently I was watching the movie “Nine Lives” on Netflix. It’s a cute movie about a guy and a cat switching bodies and the guy’s struggle to get the message to his family.

She was laying on the back of the couch when I started watching it on my laptop.

I caught sight of her head moving from side to side as she looked at the screen. That is the usual indicator that a video has caught her attention and she’s watching. A few minutes later, my view of the movie was taken up with her sitting on the keyboard getting up close and personal with the cat on the screen.

We had a bit of a discussion about her being a better door than a window. I moved her to my lap and she moved back to the keyboard until I put the movie on pause each time she tried the keyboard. She got the hint.

When she first started taking notice of videos, she would paw the screen trying to touch what ever animal was on the screen and then go around behind the screen looking for it. The next thing I saw was her head popping up above the screen with a look like “WTF!” on her face. Eventually, that stopped and now she just views.

If you think cats can be aloof and standoffish, these two can definitely put that concept to rest.

This is Fawnya curled up sleeping, or he was sleeping before I turned the camera on, on my chest as I work at the computer. This is his routine after he has breakfast in the morning.

Take some sleeping on me time and then he disappears into the bed for most of the day. I do mean into the bed as in under the comforter.


This is Dawn getting ready for bed in the evening. Or tucking me in, not sure which it is but she’s laying on my pillow and will stay there until after I’ve gone to sleep. I’ll wake up later and find her nearby curled up sleeping.

So, you may think me a tad crazy for how much they are allowed to run my house, but I do keep in mind this adage: Dogs have owners, cats have staff.

And I remember my place, no matter how crazy that makes me.



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

If you’d like to join my curation trail on Streemian, please click here


Sort:  

an adorable cat. I also really like the cat, a useful post

I'm kind of partial to all three of them : )thank you

yeah that's absolutely right

I'm more of a dog person, possibly because if cat allergies, but Maine Coons are cool cats. Any cat that will swim and play fetch can't be bad. You'll find cats of other breeds occasionally do this, but the Maine Coon is the best bet if you want a cat-dog. Lol

We will only deem you the crazy cat lady of steemit if you start only or mostly posting about your cats, otherwise you're good ;)

since I mostly post the Steemit Ramble.. I'm safe for now lol

I like dogs, and have considered getting one but tend to be a bit uneasy about trying to introduce a dog into the household.

They're a whole different animal, lol, with a different set of headaches. Barking, gotta be let out, potty training...

They'll tie you down a little more than a cat for a weekend trip that you don't take them on. On the other hand they do travel better than most cats.

As to introducing a dog to the household, you just never know what will happen. I saw a story this year about a litter of pups that disappeared, and were found to be adopted by a cat. The pups had lost their mom and the cat had lost her kittens so she was nursing the pups, and had carted them off one by one to do it!

I was raised around dogs and have had some myself. In fact when Cookie was a kitten, she used to love to lay in wait at the top of a bi-fold door and leap onto my dog's back to go for a ride. The border collie mix would oblige her.

LOL very good post thanks for sharing, but be careful not to become the crazy cat LOL: D

I'll work on the crazy .. I can be sure I wont become the cat :) crazy or not.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Love your post. I am glad other cat-owning women of a certain age are standing up to the 'crazy cat lady' label. I had Persians for the last 19 years (the last one died a week ago tomorrow) and I loved them like kids. Animals have characters, and even try to communicate with us, which means that they are somehow on a level with us. The only thing stopping them from engaging in conversation with their humans is their physiology which makes it impossible for them to speak our words. For many people, a pet provides comfort when there is no one else around, or when they have lost a spouse. My aunt carried on after her husband's death, but when her dog died, and she was all alone, she deteriorated quickly. It was not long before she also died.
So, thanks for the post. It is much appreciated.

my condolences on the loss of your cat. It's upsetting when they go.

Yes, they do have characters. Even though they don't have the ability to speak, they can often get their wishes across. Dawn comes up beside me and tugs at a blanket the lays on the back of the couch. What she's after is for me to drape the blanket across the end of the couch forming a tent for her to sleep in. I did it one day as a tease and she apparently liked it, cause she comes and demands it every day now.

There have been many studies that have proven that animals like cats and dogs do make very healthy companions for people and do contribute to their wellbeing.

lovely story, I love cats they have such a special character, and are so independent. I have tons of photos of my cats I could share!

sounds like the start of a post about your feline companions.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


This post has received a 1.20 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @shadowspub.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 3.66 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @shadowspub. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

This post has received a 2.87 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @shadowspub. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57