September 1 -- Steemit Ramble #115 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

Well, there is a lot of chaff to wade through to find some good posts to share. I hope today will be easier. I know the good writers are out there, just seems to be a whole lot of either rather lazy writers looking to make a quick dollar or not so good writers.

Not everyone is capable of writing or producing good content. That is one of the reasons we’re able to enjoy good writers and content producers so much, they do what many others can’t.

Experienced a new variation on content spam the other day. A commenter copied and pasted from someone else’s comment and put it as his own. The first time he did it, I thought it was odd but I let it go. The second one was very clearly from a comment I had recently received and referenced a past interaction I had with the original poster.

When I took at look at the spammers profile, I saw that he’s been up to this bogus commenting for a while judging from the number of comments he’s had flagged. His reputation is also at 2 which gave me an immediate clue. So, if you come across @rahuljoy it’s not likely his actual comment.

This post has taken me a few days to get done due to offline distractions. Normally, I don’t feature posts more than a day or so old but I’ve left the ones I think you should see in there.

Onward to today’s rambling

Raffle Bot Is Now Live!!! Winners Guaranteed!!!

I tend to love initiative by young people. The creator behind this raffle bot is the 16 year old son of @jonny-clearwater, @nidolabz. This is one of three bots he plans on having up and running. @raffle is drawn at midnight and noon. Drop by and have a visit to his announcement post and maybe take part.

Are You Frustrated With Your Steemit Blog? Here Are Four Ways To Change That

@ogochukwu is one of the Steemit bloggers who have been around for a while and knows from where he speaks. He’s written a very informative post on ways to improve yourself as a blogger and writer.

I always work on the basis that I can’t know everything there is to know about blogging and writing. There is always some way I can improve, I just need someone like @ogochukwu to give me a pointer or two.

Part Two: Why My Home Town's Residents Love Bagpipes And Parades

As she often does, @rebeccaryan wrote a great post on the Pipes & Drums Festival in Kincardine, Ontario and also about their really cool town mascot.

Normally, I make my comments on a post here. @rebeccaryan dedicated the second video in the post to me and it has inspired me to write this post in response — The Call of the Bagpipes -- the Haunting by Amazing Grace

Meme of the Day! Forrest Gump speaks out on his STEEMIT posting strategy!

There are very few memes I find amusing but this one caught my attention. I’m a bit of a fan of Forest Gump so, I got curious how @barrydutton would handle it. He nailed it with the punch line. Well done @barrydutton

Introducing Mangosteem - Steem Powered Web Chat

This is the first chat built on the STEEM blockchain. You’ll be able to join chat rooms, chat and upvote comments made in chat to earn while chatting. Really interested to see how this develops. There are only a few rooms at the moment but they will grow.

You can also check out this post Mangosteem - Let's get some channels going for instructions on how to make your own channel on Mangosteem.

Zappl Open Beta Coming Sept 12th

This is another project I’ve been watching the development of and am looking forward to trying out. Zappl is a Twitter like application for the STEEM blockchain. If you visit @zappl’s blog you will find some other posts with screen shots of the upcoming app. It’s really looking good.

A Radically Updated Steem Whitepaper

One of the complaints some members of the community have had for some time is how outdated the original white paper for STEEM was. A new, updated whitepaper has been issued and can be downloaded from this post.

Wrap-up on Day 115

This is a shorter than usual post today as I focused on posts that I really wanted to you see. Now I’ll carry on and do a regular sort of Ramble in my next post.

Still Pending Posts

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. Below are the posts still pending payout as of the time of the writing. I invite you to visit the posts and upvote them if you like them:

August 27 -- Steemit Ramble #114 -- Curating Great Posts for You
The Call of the Bagpipes -- the Haunting by Amazing Grace

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just put a link to a post you have found and really enjoyed in the comments.

This is NOT an invite to SPAM!

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

I wont promise that I’ll agree with your choice but, I will promise to have a look at it and if I use it in the next Ramble, I’ll let you know in a reply to your comment.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

If you’d like to join my curation trail on Streemian, please click here


Sort:  

Thanks for including me @shawdowspub! I think it's an honour to be included and regarded as a decent writer. Thanks again.

well, you are a good writer so I like coming across you in my ramblings :)

Saw the opening remarks of this post and remembered our our discussion on some of the annoying schemes that guys use to make money on schemeit. There is a guy who commented on one of my posts with an Isaac Newton quote and there is yet another one who took the opportunity to sell me an ICO.

Great post! I hate spammers. So bad for the community.
Now following you, thanks for sharing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ShadowsPub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is a great idea, my friend. Not only for supporting great content but also for the others to find it easier as unfortunately there are still a lot of spammers on this platform. Keep up the good work. :)

Will take a look of some of these posts later. Have a great day. :)

#TheUnmentionables

Great piece of work, tha

Thanks for the inclusion...

Happy last Long Weekend in Canadastan!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52