The Making of a Coffee Break

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Sitting around thinking about writing a few more paragraphs on my book, then procrastination took hold. I wanted to learn how to model with a 3D graphics application. It seemed like as good a time as ever. I draw freehand a bit and I had always wanted to render 3D art. I went so far as to load Blender a few years back but never looked at it. Until now.

Donut 1

I started with learning how to create an object and generally use the tool. It was quite frustrating at first as it seemed very counterintuitive. After a lot of mouse clicks and after several restarts, I ended up with a doughnut.

Donut 2

I have a tendency to dive into learning and this was no different than anything else. I was happy with the doughnut but want to get going on much more. Sigh, I still had a lot to learn.

The doughnut needed a plate to sit on. That was an eventful few hours of learning, through trial and error, on how to get a plate together. At least what might pass as a plate.

Plate 1

The plate looked like a plate. I also needed a mug. For this I needed some help from a tutorial on YouTube which walked me through setting up a cup from a cylinder and extruding a handle from the cup. I messed up the extrusion on one side. I'm showing the best side.

Cup and donut

And the cup and doughnut with the bloody plate.

Cup-donut-plate

The final phase was to add some texture to the table top and duplicate the doughnut. I was only able to grab the image for the table and not the actual texture. It's in there but I could not figure out how to get it to come through to give the table the bumps and ridges(i'll have to figure that out).

final coffee

Finally, I didn't realize that the screen was low resolution rendering as I would have had a better render of the mug and doughnut. I do have a much, much better and more exciting render in the works. I'm into about 10 hours on it already, and it's what I want to do... alien landscapes.

Hope you enjoy. Stay tuned for the alien landscape.

Here's a teaser

teaser

Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut

Click HERE to learn more

PAL


Please be sure to upvote and follow me @Jasonbu - Steem ON!.

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-21

So appreciative of the attention muxxybot. Thanks!

Hi @jasonbu, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Great @shadowspub! Thank you for the mention. Really appreciate it. I have resteemed your post.

Wow. This is incredible. Upvoted and followed for moreeeee. X

Thanks, and welcome to Steemit. There will be more to come for sure. Working on an alien landscape. I'll post it shortly.

Aww. Thank you!!

I see that you're amazing at 3D and the technical side of art.

Awesome job dude. I could never get my head around Blender.

Ya, is was super frustrating but as I use it some of the quirks are starting to make sense. I overloaded it with a bunch of, well, way too many, particles of plants on my alien landscape render... Need to learn some efficiency with it.

Very cool!

Thanks. It was pretty cool to see it come together.

I mess with blender every now and then. I'd suggest looking for this 4 part anvil tutorial on YouTube. It gives you a good idea how to get the bumps on the textures.

Here's my result from the tutorial. The Steemit logo is a little messed but the anvil turned out pretty good.

1505695802111-1894243023.jpg

Nice. Yes, I saw the anvil tutorial. I'll have to take a look at it. I think it will help. I have all the pieces, just could not get it to go. Yours looks really good.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @gmuxx from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58551.09
ETH 2617.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44