Greetings "H'o'i'el" from a Native American (Indian) in Canada... my first year on Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemiansbesthat.jpg

That's me! I'm wearing a cedar bark hat that I made myself in the style of a fedora.... Now why in the world would I be wearing such a thing? I made the hat myself. I harvested the bark, processed it into strips and then wove it onto a hat form. I chose the style I did because in my heart (even though I have been retired from it for 15+ years) I am a journalist. I have made a practice of writing every single day for the past 20 years. I used to write for

The National Post --
See (https://steemit.com/meaghanwalkerwilliams/@somena/our-own-indigenous-hong-kong-in-canada-tetla)

The Winnipeg Free Press
See (https://steemit.com/canada/@somena/the-case-for-native-assimilation)

The Cowichan Valley Citizen
See (https://steemit.com/ndns/@somena/get-your-indian-act-ion-figurines-franklin-mint-special-edition)

For a number of years I was an activist that was demanding that the Canadian Government and Indian Tribal Governments be more accountable to both their own people and to the taxpayers. My work in this capacity was covered in the New York Times -- See (https://steemit.com/firstnations/@somena/jan-1-2001-the-day-i-was-in-the-new-york-times-canada-s-tribal-women-fight-corruption) My work was also featured in Homemakers magazine, on CBC, CKNW and CBC Radio Canada, as well as some spots on CKNW. Here is an article about my work from the Vancouver Sun in 1999.
(https://steemit.com/firstnations/@somena/vancouver-sun-fraud-nepotism-corruption-rife-on-indian-reserves-1999-article)

I eventually burned out and had to retire from activism for a time.

I worked with my husband on establishing our own currency. See (http://www.tetla.org)
Here is the link to a newspaper article about our work on that....
https://steemit.com/tetla/@somena/first-nations-native-indians-unveils-barter-currency-when-tetla-was-first-started-this-was-some-of-the-media-attention-we-got

ameandwillie.jpg

I also ran a housecleaning service for a number of years See (http://www.welovedirtykitchens.blogspot.com)
That actually ended up in the news too... See here when I appeared in the National Post over the issue of putting up posters to advertise my business and challenging the right of the governments of Canada to force me to get a liscence for cleaning toilets when no treaty has yet to be signed between Canada's crown and my people The Cowichan Tribes.
(https://steemit.com/firstnations/@somena/one-of-the-times-i-was-featured-in-the-national-post-newspaper-in-canada-re-aboriginal-rights)

As for some other factoids about me:
I homeschooled my eldest son -- Here he is at Graduation from highschool several years ago...

graduation.jpg

And I have another son, seen here days after he was born....

Douglas.jpg

And a slightly more recent pic of him here with me, walking home one sunny afternoon...
meanddoug2.jpg

So that's my work and life in a nutshell. There's more, and I will likely update and expand this article at some point... But I hope this is enough to prove that I am a real person, trying to do good things to make the world a better place...

I'm here on Steemit, because I believe that Steemit is going to cause a major paradigm shift in publishing. I want to be part of that. Here's an idea I have about how that could be done in some small measure.... (https://steemit.com/hoaxbusters/@somena/hoax-busters-a-proposed-project-for-steemit-journalists-and-steemit-developers-the-new-improved-competition-for-snopes)

I really want to get this HoaxBusters off the ground. I hope by showing my dedication to honesty and integrity in the field of journalism for a long time that people would take this project seriously.

achangew2orld.jpg

Well... Do you?

Then please get in touch... I'm at [email protected] or [email protected]

Thanks for taking the time to read this. And thank you in advance if you'd like to help. Cheers

acloseupshot.jpg

I apologize if it's not ok to introduce one's self more than once. I am trying to find Steem Developers that I could work with. I also have just signed up to take a class in programming in Python so I could maybe just work on it by myself with some friends... but it would be easier if I could work on it with somebody who already knows how to do this... cut down on the learning curve and all that.

Oh... and one more thing before I go...

blueroses.jpg

blessingcurse.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome! You got me with the "Roses are red" joke. :)

YAY! :) Followed! Cheers mate!

Welcome on Steemit @somena! It's totally okay to introduce oneself more than once. Every post is a new re-introduction. Have fun!

Thanks for letting me know! Nice to meet you! :)

welcome to steemit @somena
following you now :D
follow me back pls :)

Welcome to steemit and have a great day gorgeous lady.

thank you kindly! :)

@somena This is supercool! Thanks! Followed

Nice introduction post! Glad you made it onto this platform. It’s going to change your life, hope you have a good time. If you have any doubts, you can always join Steemit.chat and ask for #help.

Hi - sorry for missing this comment until just now. Thanks for the warm welcome!

Welcome, good to have you here!

Thank you kindly! I just saw this today. I apologize in advance for not responding. I kind of lost interest in following comments on this, when my "Welcome post" only earned me 7.55 Steem. I am still plugging away at everything that I said I would do. Cheers.

Welcome to Steemit! I think you'll fit right in :)

THAT GIF MADE ME LAUGH -- LOUDLY! :)

welcome to steemit.. ^^

thanks. It sure is nice here. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59