October 6 -- Steemit Ramble #126 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

Well that was an interesting start to my day. Getting up early to discover that Steemit was down. For the seriously addicted, that is not a good start to the day. But, the site did come back up and life will carry on.

I can remember Ned talking in one of the voice chats about his vision that an ecosystem of STEEM based apps would develop over time. There are now a few apps out that are more specialized or present Steemit in a different way.

Today I’m going to share with you some of the ones I’m aware of.

Coffee Time Meditation

Onward to today’s rambling

Steemit More Info 1.3 - Chrome Extension + Firefox Extension

If you’d like to have additional information on your blog, then you may want to check out this extension developed by @armandocat. I have been using it for about a week now in both Firefox and Chrome.

With a glance at my blog, I know how many votes I’ve made today and what my voting power is. I can also click a tab and check out my voting history. When looking at the voting list on a post, I can see how much each vote contributed to the rewards on the post. To name just a few features I like about it.

Introducing dMania: 9GAG on Steem - Make money with memes

Memes, for better or worse, tend to be posted a lot on Steemit. @zombee has created an app devoted to displaying memes. Those who are most interested in memes can just visit dMania.

For those who post memes, this gives them more exposure. You should be aware, the site does take 25% of rewards when you post on dMania. The creator does need to get some return for their work

Introducing DSound: a decentralized sound platform using STEEM and IPFS

For those who like to produce music or audio files, there is @prc’s dSound

DTube 0.3: This update contains so many new features I could not find a good title for it

This is one of the more popular apps on the ecosystem, @heimindanger’s DTube. Increasingly, YouTube is censoring accounts and arbitrarily shutting down accounts without warning. It makes an app like DTube that much more appealing.

Design - Brand Image Development - Memory Sports

This was an interesting post by @eqko as he outlines his work for another Steemian and the final design concept he prepared for him. Nice work.

That Crazy Little Bot Called Curiosity

@molovelly writes about the bot Curiosity which has been developed by @gyzimo on the SteemSpeak discord server. I often hang out there and have also watched this bot develop. Pop in, join the bot’s lottery and hang out. Warning though, the conversation can be far ranging and brutally honest

The Prince and His Quince

While I was exploring @molovelly’s profile I came across this cute post. It will only take a minute and should produce a smile.

Internal Authority Versus External Authority

@anarchistbanjo was brought to my attention by @seablue. He has some interesting posts up there. You might not always agree with what he writes but I think he presents his posts in a way that should make you think.

Dispatches #166: Smashed gods, stall catchers and very bad trips

I found @andrewmcmillen, a freelance journalist, because of an article of his that was published about Steemit. When I explored his profile I came across these interesting dispatches he writes about what he has read and written during the week. They are a great read.

To Change The Future [Original Short Story]

This post was nominated by @kubbyelizabeth

This is @negativer’s entry into @steemfluencer’s writing contest. The premise was to be your current self leaving a video for your future grandchildren. Now, I’m sure that your own ideas would come to mind of all the wonderful things you’d tell them. @negativer sort of took a different approach at first. Reality sometimes needs to intrude.

Creative Writing Challenge: The Unrequited Love Story (vol. 2, task 7)

Here is @steemfluencer’s latest writing challenge. You have until Monday to enter so get writing. This one is about unrequited love.

The Bones of Partridge Park : Liza

This post was nominated by @sargento.

@molovelly crafts a well written piece that starts out with child sexual abuse and her life goes downhill from there as her character becomes an adult. @molovelly has future plans for this character, so, catch the first installment here.

Friendly Frankie (Original Story) - Part 1

This post was nominated by @enginewitty

@topkpop has a talent for creating delightful children’s stories and this one doesn’t disappoint.

SMT - The Launch of Steem into the Orbit (Overview and Review)

This post was nominated by @ethandsmith

I think most of us are very curious to see how the coming release of SMT (smart media tokens) is going to work out and how they will benefit the STEEM platform. @perennial presents an interesting analysis of how this could or could not work.

A Traveler's Guide To Lisbon, Portugal for Steemfest2

This post was nominated by @inquiringtimes.

If you are thinking about going to Steemfest to in Lisbon, you’ll want to have a look at this post. @narconaught guides us through Lisbon and gets you familiar with what you need to know.

Earn a FREE One Week Vacation Just for Talking ~ Seriously!

This post was nominated by @kubbyelizabeth

@arbitrarykitten writes about an interesting venture that is underway. You can get free travel and accommodations in return for hanging out with the locals where you have travelled to and helping them understand English.

Wrap-up on Day 126

Thank you to all those who nominated posts. There were some great finds you brought my attention to. The site had some challenges on Friday but hopefully, it’s back on track and steeming forward.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

This is NOT an invite to SPAM!

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

This is a pretty useful summary of very interesting content! Thanks a lot!

This post received a 7% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Another smorgasbord of great posts. Thanks for bringing these to our attention.

I'm new here. Please help me to earn money. I need to buy a wheelchair for me. That's why I need all of yours support and help. Please follow me, do upvote and resteem my post. You 1 vote and 1 resteem will help me.
This is one of my post - steemit.com/life/@amartyasen/the-fourth-fastest-bird-in-the-world-white-throated-needletail#comments

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This is a great helpful post, thank you.

Hey, this is awesome! Thank you for including the last Creative Writing Challenge post! :)

Great finds! And thanks for including mine, glad you liked it :)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56582.63
ETH 2959.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25