To Change The Future [Original Short Story]

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


A story about regret and rationalization in life, and one way to change your own future.
This is a submission for @steemfluencer's writing contest, Task #5.
The intro paragraph and character is provided as the prompt. The challenge is to finish the story of the man, Adam, recording a video message for his future grandchildren.

(story preview only)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is the exact opposite of the direction I took with this one, but somehow I love it perfectly.

So sad for Adam though!

💙

Thanks! Yours was a wee bit more positive than mine, that is true. That's kind of what makes these challenges fun; you can go in almost any direction with them and still end up with a legitimate story.

Well, at least you didn't kill off your character again...sort of. Great writing though. I love the detail and imagery.

I'm pretty sure things won't end well for Adam, but you can be optimistic if you wish. :)

Someone has to....can't count on your for that. :P

I'd like to believe that Adam rethought it all and put the pistol back under the couch. After all, if he had planned that video he must've considered the possibility that there might be grandchildren and all the life that would lead up to that. So, at the risk of overthinking this I've concluded that this type of story can be "as you like it", so to speak.

Thanks for reading and thinking about it. You may be right; I didn't make the final decision on Adam's behalf in the story, so he may yet come out of it alive.

I agree. I could see it either way. I enjoyed the details of perspective. Same circumstance, but different angle, both in the camera and in his mind.

I went dark on my story too just for you. However, the emotion you convey in your story is unmatchable. I felt like I was in the room watching him, waiting for his next move, hoping it wasn't going where it appeared to be going. Great work my friend!

When I was reading yours, I had to re-read the second half to see if it really was as dark as I thought, or if I was just imagining it. :)

Love it @negativer! :) What's impressive in this case is your desire to describe what's happening before the first breath of words in the actual message.

Thank you for reading! Even though your setup and prompt details were very positive and uplifting, I still wanted to see if I could turn it the other way and make it a bit darker.

It's good to start with the darkness. It's trivial, but I believe that we often can realize better what the light is only if we have initially survived the darkness.

Hi @negativer, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

I appreciate you reading and for the comment, and for mentioning my story in your post. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.32
ETH 3562.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12