Design - Brand Image Development - Memory Sports

in #design7 years ago (edited)

After the time and effort I put into the Five Stars Entertainment Group logo for @fivestargroup, I had just enough time for a breather before another steemit user contacted me to see if was interested in doing some work for him.

The client


Client.png

@flauwy runs a website, community and competitions centred around Memory Sports.

Memory Sports is a phenomenon where people use memory techniques like the memory palace or the Major System to memorize numbers, cards, names, words, images, dates and more as much and as fast as they can. They might compete in competitions like Speed Cards as well. The world record for memorizing the order of a deck of 52 cards and laying a different stack of cards back in exactly the same order currently sits at 23.22 seconds for juniors. The Adult record is 16.96s.

We started discussing his requirements on discord and having some back and forth on what it was exactly that he was looking for. Initially he stated that he was looking for a logo, but after talking about it, we came to the conclusion that he was actually looking for a brand image to use for his posts on Steemit. He already had a logo and a mascot to boot.

The Brief


Brief.png

So after deciding on his actual needs, I asked him what he would like to see, what was he seeing in his minds eye. As it turns out, he was seeing quite a lot. As said, he already had a mascot of an elephant which was being redesigned and if it could be in there (the elephant). He saw snakes and fantastic beasts and all sorts of items (like Platonic Solids) used in memory sports. This was going to be one hell of a brand image. He had a passionate way of talking about it, that it inspired me right away. I had a direct view into his minds eye so to speak. It was a blast.

The Concept


Concept .png

So after a rather large session of what could be going on inside the elephants head, I came up with the following.
I said, what if I portray the elephant in concentration mode, fingers to his temples to emphasize the state. Around him we see all these elements like he would see them, floating is space, making connections. and what if, what's left between those items forms the words Memory Sports (yet another negative space logo). The elephant is based on the redesign @flauwy had in the works, where I tried to mimic that style as close as possible. The elephants trunk is shaped like that to portray an equivalent of someone sticking his tongue out in concentration.

The Final Design


Final.png

The final design is pretty close to my concept sketch. Obviously, I moved some stuff around and I used an actual font for the spacing as background and to make sure all letters were about the same size. I used a lot of colors next lots of items to portray whatever connections a memory sports person might make. The blue 'smoke' portrays the haze between 'real' (the elephant) and the elephants imagination / memory.

MemorySports_750.png

Thank you for reading.



Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians - @eqko

Sort:  

Ok I finally admit it.

Your art's official
&
I'm art-i-ficial

XD

haha that's brilliant. I like it. I guess we'll just have to settle for
love to hate / hate to love
the others art XD

It is an amazing piece of work and I am very glad you have created it. Thank you, @eqko!

Thanks man. It was my pleasure. With all the input you provided it was bound to be stellar.

Awesome logo!
My favorite animal on the logo is the nine-tailed fox.

Yeah it was one of the creatures he mentioned when we talked about what they use to memorize order etc. Legendary creatures such as The Nine Tailed Fox is are just a small part of the things they use.

This post has received a 15.06 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @flauwy. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

By the way: The 23.22 seconds record was just a Junior Record. The Adult record is 16.96s: http://iam-stats.com/discipline.php?id=SPDCARDS

Oh my bad man. I'll edit it.

Hi @eqko, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Ha ha i like this image with brand. It looks pretty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70