Oct 30 - Steemit Ramble #42 - Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts

in #curation8 years ago

It has been a few days since I last posted. I’m in that crazy time of year where there is a lot going on offline that I have to attend to. I’ll be doing my best to continue posting here though, because I like to.

The poppy campaign is underway. That is the annual period leading up to Remembrance Day where Legion members, cadets and volunteers fan out across the country to distribute poppies. We don’t ‘sell’ poppies, we distribute and people donate what they wish to support the poppy fund.

The poppy fund is a trust fund that each branch holds and uses in accordance with our by-laws. We can use the funds for the benefit of veterans and to promote remembrance. I’ve spent the last couple of days at the branch helping the Poppy Chair with the campaign as well as getting material ready for both Remembrance Day and the Christmas Hamper program which starts this coming week.

STEEM Prices

We all know the price of STEEM has been very volatile the last few weeks. As the price drops so do rewards on posts and there are many users who have become discouraged and stopped participating on the platform.

Personally, I believe Steemit will prevail and the rough waters will calm in the future. So, I see this time as an opportunity to build my own position on Steemit as most of my post rewards go to Steem Power. To me, It’s a long term investment that I’m creating through my writing. Where else could you do that?

There are lots of voices right now generating discussion and debate on how to proceed forward. Lots of posts about the subject. They are not hard to find, so I’ll be more inclined to find other posts, on other topics to share here.

Sometimes, we all need to step back from an issue to gain perspective. I’m not ignoring it, but I don’t need to be pushing the topic into your face either.

Onward to today’s rambling

Unspoken Laws Of Steemit. Why doesn't everyone think this way?

Well, didn’t I just finish talking about staying the course on Steemit and working to build rather than abandon the platform? Here’s @sirlunchthehost’s similar take on the same theme.

Tesla's Solar Roof and Powerwall: The Future of a Solar-Powered Home?

I never really paid much attention to Tesla until I saw the first reports of his power wall battery. Which I thought was truly innovative. Now that he’s not only coming out with a version 2.0 but combining that with shingles that can be a source of solar power without having to install the panels we’re so used to, now that is innovation. They are going to get blow back from local power utilities no doubt.

Wonderful autumn walk with squirrels.

Some beautiful shots in this post of a red squirrel up close. The squirrel apparently was used to people enough it got a bit friendly with @asdes. I noticed this post was filed under the Life tag. It would have been better under Photography. The first tag you choose matters.

Living life on a quiet sunday

@chanthasam took his family for a walk through a park in the Netherlands and took some lovely shots of the scenery around them.

This Bike Can Go 144km/h (89mph) ONLY With Muscle Strength!

A post from @sirwinchester about a Canadian made bicycle, not a motorcycle, that can travel at 89mph. Not likely to be in regular use by the average cyclist but it is an incredible demonstration of what human strength can do.

Coral Castle - A place of Mystery and Wonder - A Tribute to Love or Is It?

@streetstyle writes about a Latvian immigrant to North America who eventually settled in Florida and started creating objects out of limestone coral. A small man in stature, he was never actually observed creating his work or moving them as he did all the work himself. This post is one of two. Going to be interesting to see what part two reveals.

Memories of our childhood: Toys of the 1930's by @mevilkingdom

This post is a walk back through time with the history of some of our most well known toys. Who hasn’t seen a Monopoly game? And Fisher-Price toys, they were always the most sturdy toys you could give a child. Never saw the sock puppet but did use the viewmaster when I was a kid. @mevilkingdom includes a neat war-time trivia about one of those toys.

Where You Can Learn To Code For Free Online

Coding has become a very important part of our life these days. Most of what we see on the web is the result of coding. I’ve done some HTML and CSS in it’s earlier days but haven’t kept up with it. @doitvoluntarily shares where to learn how to code online for free to get you started at least.

DANGER(An Original Short Story)

I’m not a fan of Halloween, in fact, if it disappeared I’d never miss it. But, I know others are. I didn’t let the banner on the page stop me from having a look at this story. Short stories are not easy stories. You have to develop a character and deliver a story in a short span of time. @marialin has done an excellent job with this thriller.

How to write the perfect post [pt.1] – and earn Steem!

How To Write The Perfect Post [pt.2] – Optimize And Attract More Users!

This two part post provides some interesting ideas about posting on Steemit. Well worth the read and consideration. We all develop our own style which doesn’t mean we can’t incorporate ideas to make our style better.

Wrap-up on Day 42

Well, a variety of reads today. I found them fun to read, I hope you do too. I’ve noticed the last couple of days the price of STEEM seems to be a bit more stable. I know most people will be feeling more positive when it starts to move up. There are lots of opinions around as to what has to happen, I’m not championing any particular one. I’m just continuing to support the platform by participating.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

i do hate missing good posts!
thanks for sharing

my pleasure, thanks for your work :)

A good source of new follows these posts!

thank you for your kind comment @meesterboom

Thanks for including me! Means a lot, keep up the good work & I sure do hate missing good post.

you're welcome @sirlunchthehost ... and thank you for your kind words :)

I always love your list and that you write a little bit about the stories you use, so I can decide what I would like to read! Thank you!

Thank you @whatsup, I'm glad you find the comments helpful.

As a community service I am offering a Resteeming list daily announcement list . . .

The main reason I will be doing this is to give readers a one stop place to find people who want a Resteem via rewards.

The minor reason is I myself wish to write less blog articles since there are so many better writers around, I want to post more comments on articles written by others ! ! !

https://steemit.com/steemit/@crok/resteem-rewards-offers-please-check-this-list-for-notices

So @crok.. I'm confused... are you saying you have resteemed my post or you spamming my post with your link?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45