Where You Can Learn To Code For Free Online

in #technology8 years ago (edited)

Coding has become an increasingly valuable skill in society today and its considered important enough to warrant being implemented into the regular school curriculum for learning establishments across the globe. There are still millions of people who do not know the first thing about how to code, but luckily there are a number of tools out there to help them.

Learning how to code can really set you apart from others in the work pool who don't know how to code and it opens up doors to new opportunities of employment. There are a number of career paths that can be followed: web developer, designer, software engineer, programmer, and many others. You could even help to build a site like Steemit one day.

Codecademy

Codecademy is an online coding platform, created by Zach Sims and Ryan Bubinski, as a way to try and help people to learn and develop this skill for free. After just 5 years, they've been able to help over 25 million people. The two creators were classmates back in Columbia University and they said that they themselves had a lot of trouble with learning how to code. They wanted to come-up with something that was going to be easy and efficient for those who want to learn the skill.

In order to make money from the platform, they sell advanced coding lessons for a $20 per month subscription. But other than that the courses are free for anyone to try, because they've made it clear that their main goal isn't profit, it's about helping people around the world learn how to code. They are committed to being the best and most accessible platform on the net for people to learn how to code.

Codecademy focuses on different programming languages and componenets like Python, APIs, Ruby, Javascript/jQuery, HTML/CSS, and more. Those who take part in the program are not only going to be learning from the lessons but they will also they also engage in quizzes and exercises. There is also the chance to get feedback on the coding from others who use the platform.

They aren't the only ones with this mission either, they've got competition like Udacity, Coursera, Treehouse, Thinkful, and many others. But what sets Codecademy apart from the others is that it is completely free for them to use unless they want the more advanced courses.

pics:
HangoutLife
Smartlearninghub
Code.org
sources:
https://www.codecademy.com/
https://techcrunch.com/2016/07/12/codecademy-the-free-online-coding-school-raises-another-30m-led-by-naspers/

Sort:  

They are huge projects however for which an online is unfortunately not enough. You need to know more. Struggling with one of those at the moment ;)

I haven't a clue about coding, my 52 yr old brain needs a lot more help that it used too, coding sounds a bit out of my league :)

Hey @karenb54, if you can write a comment on Steemit, you can write code.
I'm 51 and I write code every day (nearly), so age is no barrier.
If you want to learn or see if you can learn, let me know and I can teach you some of the basics for you to play with and see if you like it.
All it will cost you is some time, and the only tools you'll need are the ones you already have ;-)
Why am I offering this?
I used to teach programming for a living and I miss doing it. So you'll be helping me out as well. :-)

Yeah I would love to learn some. Bring on my homework lol

Hey @karenb54 very cool.
You, and anyone else interested, can message me in steemit.chat.
my username is trevor.george. Just drop me a message and we can talk about the best way to get this going for you :-)

Ok ill pop in tonight :)

Wow very cool @trevor.george ! I might take you up on that offer too, i'd love to learn some basics in it myself - it's always seemed too daunting of a task though

It can seem daunting at the start. there is sooo much to learn!!
But the really cool thing is that you don't need to know a lot to get started.
And once you know the basics, then it's really just up to your imagination.
I'm happy to give you a good grounding in the basics to get you started.
And then if you have questions or problems, I'm also happy to help. ;-)

Hey @doitvoluntarily and @karenb54 I've got a plan. :-)
How about I make up a website - learntocode and put up some tutorials for you on there.
Then you can ask questions etc and i can build up a resource for anyone else who wants to learn too.

Would you guys be into that?


Hi @doitvoluntarily, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65718.58
ETH 2677.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91