March 13th -- Steemit Ramble #147 -- Curating Great Posts for You

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

I’ve had an interesting few days. I curate the posts shared at Pimp Your Post Thursdays to arrive at the top five and up to three honourable mentions. In order to do a curation post different from the Ramble, I had decided to do a video format.

So, having never done video, a couple of weeks ago or so I spent most of a day sorting out a video format that I could use. Did a couple of reports using that format which was pretty much a slide show with musical accompaniment.

Then @sircork reminded me that PYPT is a radio show and a video report without audio doesn’t play well on the replays. Simple solution, add audio to the video. Simple right? NO. The software I was using for my video doesn’t handle audio being added as well as I would have liked.

Never fear, I could do the audio in another studio editing package that I own. Except, I’d never actually used the package. I had bought it with good intentions but never got around to learning it. So, off I went to learn it this past weekend and finally managed to produce and publish both of the last PYPT reports on Monday.

So you can find the Morning Report and the Evening Report on my blog.

Now, if I can manage to follow my process this week, I may have another content creation tool in my toolbox.

Onward to today’s rambling

How much SBD is up for grabs this week???

SHE’S BACK! And with her the Treasure Hunt is on. @dreemsteem was holidaying last week and we didn’t have a treasure hunt to wrap up at the evening Pimp Your Post Thursday but the hunt is on and you could be the winner if you follow the posts and show up at PYPT on Thursday evening.

Nothing is Free :: @v4vapid Block-Chains Contest Story

@v4vapid issued the call for stories involving a blockchain conspiracy. @negativer answered the call with this story that is almost frightening with the distinct possibility of future truth could the wrong people become in control of blockchain technologies.

How to Master Kurt Vonnegut’s Rules for Writers

@bryancollins has done an excellent job of writing about the background of Kurt Vonnegut Jr and introducing us to his eight rules of writing. If you want to be a writer and haven’t at least had a passing acquaintance with Kurt Vonnegut Jr., you should at least read this post and consider it carefully.

River of dreams! ( latest artwork)

You may have encountered @poeticsnake as the co-host of @resteemradio or her curation series “You Got Snekked” (currently on hold) but there is another side to our beloved Snekky (besides her love of apples) and that is her wonderful artistic talent. You’re drawn into the painting by the beautifully descriptive commentary and then she shares pictures of the process. Great work.

The Beginner's Guide to Steemit, Part 1: Steemit Quick-Start Guide

@ethandsmith has risen to the often mentioned problem of how to introduce new people to the platform in a way that will actually make it easier for them to get started. This is his first part as a quick start guide.

The guide pretty much takes a new user by the hand, gives them the basics of what Steem is, how to sign up and what to do once they have their account. Great job and done without a lot of complicated tech talk sure to scare the average person off.

The Top Apps for your Steem Experience!!

@inquiringtimes has provided us with a great outline of the best apps to make use of in your STEEM experience. I use several of them myself. I’d be lost without them.

How not to be successful in terms of $$$ on the Steem Blockchain (In five easy to read points with fun pictures000!) YAY!

@riskdebonair is one of my favourites on the platform. He has his own unique perspective on life and the platform. I was laughing all the way through this post, truth often makes the best comedy and this post shows it.

On Stolen Content, Comment Spamming and Self-Victimisation: Some Things I Have to Get Off My Chest

update: this post was nominated by @therosepatch who said: "@ Tiny posted a very eloquent rant regarding a Steem user that plagiarised one of her stories and has since been slandering Tiny."

People who create original content have the right to have their ownership of that content respected. Full stop, no if, ands or buts. Even people who write bad original content, own that content.

@tinypaleokitchen doesn’t write bad content. She works very hard on producing quality, entertaining content. She also works very hard to help other writers create quality content at @thewritersblock. This post is about her experience with someone who refused to respect others right to own their property and steals from them.

The person who bought the votes for the thief did so because he knows her offline and thinks she’s a sweet person even if he didn’t agree with everything she did. Well, @tinypaleokitchen is a sweet person too and unlike @ginafraser, she is honest and ethical.

Working within a breaking society....

It’s not often that a poem really grabs my attention. @battleaxe succeeded with this one. Just as many of her posts hit us where we live, this poem does the same. Nice work @battleaxe.

Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to be part of supporting the posts that I curate, you can join my curation trail. What that means is if you are part of the trail, when I vote on a quality post, your votes will automatically follow me. The trail name is PathtoSuccess which is another of my accounts and the one where I read most of the posts shared here.

You’ll need to sign up at SteemAutoand I’d recommend you use SteemConnect when asked to give voting rights. That makes sure your keys are safe.

Once registered, the link to the curation trail is right here. You can set the percentage of vote you wish to use in the settings once you join the trail.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Earn A Share of the Post Payout

As you explore around the platform, you come across posts you really like and think others should see. Come to the Steemit Ramble Discord and share the link in the *nominate-someones-post channel. There are some rules:

  1. The post must be introduced by you.
  2. The post must be in English or have an English version.
  3. The post must not have been presented during PYPT.

I’ll review the post and if I use it in a Steemit Ramble, a portion of the SBD the post earns will be sent to you on payout.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

My favorite is @ethandsmith's The Beginner's Guide to Steemit, Part 1: Steemit Quick-Start Guide post. It is full of great information for every steemian, no matter what level or reputation they are.

Looking forward to his Part 2!

yes I think it is going to be a very valuable document to be referred to over and over @goldendawne.

I AGREE! I just saw his Part 2 earlier after I posted on here.

And THANK YOU for always doing these weekly curation posts. I am constantly reading on average 5 or 6 posts like this every day. They are always so full of great members and posts.

well they are intended to be more than weekly... doesn't always work out

Thank you for the rambling curation, @shadowspub!

my pleasure @negativer... great story you wrote there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52