Jan 23 -- Steemit Ramble #61 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

Well, the beginning of another week. I can’t hardly believe that I’m in Ontario at almost the end of January and there is zero snow on the ground and the temperatures have been mild enough that a sweatshirt and t-shirt is all I need to wear, well slacks too in order to keep my butt warm.

We are supposed to get some snow this evening but it likely wont last as the temps are staying mild. Since we had a drought last summer, it is at least helpful that we’ve had a fair amount of rain. There are some wells that will benefit from the rain since there is no snow cover to melt in the spring so far.

Onward to today’s rambling

Are the whales losing out?

Interesting perspective from @fiveboringgames on the whales of Steemit. While there is a lot of criticism and complaining about the Steem Power and influence the whales have on the site, it isn’t often you see someone expressing a different perspective on them. A very worthwhile read. Balance is important.

The Switch Foundation, where the mind is immortal.

A thought provoking piece of flash fiction. The disturbing part of it is, that our advances may not be so far away from this actually being possible.

What Happens When Heavy Snowfall Hits Japan?

@penguinpablo provides us with some photos of some truly creative snow sculpting from Japan. Very cool stuff.

Happy Monday Steemit ! Time for my TOP 5 Steemians Of The Week !

@karenmckersie posted her weekly top 5 Steemians and I think she’s got a great group of them this week, so I’m going to share her post with you, so you can check our her choices. She also hit 400 followers this week, congratulations @karenmckersie! I love her positivity on the site.

Steemit feed "hack"

Have you ever wanted to have a look at the feed of another user? The feed is the posts the people they are following have made. @fibra59 shows you how to take a peek at other’s feed.

An Experiment in Budget Control, Part 2

@natalyaborqo posts her second part of her quest to learning to live on a budget. I shared her first part in Steemit Ramble #60which prompted me to write a post about budgeting. So check out her second part and follow her to see how her quest goes.

Why Curiousity is Man's Greatest Tool

@ansah300 writes an interesting post about the power of curiousity in our lives. We all have curiousity, some have greater amounts of it than others. It is rare I meet anyone who doesn’t at some point get curious about something. @ansah300 just joined this month and this is the first post. Have a visit and give @ansah300 some support as a beginner on the site.

The character of leadership: The art of NOT being everybody´s darling

@surfermarly writes about how leading for the good of the organization creates distance between the leader and those being led. In some ways that distance is needed but it can be isolating. I live through that on a regular basis as I lead an organization. The upside is that when I have to make decisions that aren’t particularly popular, I am not losing friends I don’t have.

Today in history: The first Frisbee!

Who hasn’t tossed a Frisbee at some point in their lives? @steemizen writes a great piece about the history of the toy that crosses generations in popularity.

The Small Town Beer Run Runaround

Truth is often stranger than fiction @nonameslefttouse tells his true but bizarre story of trying to buy some beer as he passes through a small community in Saskatchewan (detail found in comments).

Wrap-up on Day #61

Interesting day today. I was able to get some serious work done on the Ramble before going to do my volunteer shift at the branch, a bit more done during my shift and then able to finish it up this evening. A variety of posts caught my attention today. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Great picks ! And thanks again for choosing my post ! Glad to be following you steem on and keep up the great work !👍💙

Excellent post my friend @shadowspub, congratulations to the aforementioned

@shadowspub, I appreciate the mention. Thanks for looking out for us. I'm glad you enjoyed that little story. I certainly enjoyed sharing it.

I need to start paying more attention to these sweet collections.

Thanks for the mention!
Glad you liked my Frisbee post!

Thank you so much for having me, what a kind gesture! I'll have a look at the other nominees, too...:)

Thanks so much for the mention. I appreciate it. @shadowspub

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41