Are the whales losing out?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Ok so I am see a lot of complaints about whales getting big rewards for crap posts and as someone who puts time into my posts and gets <$1, I can understand their annoyance. But the main point of this post is to show you that whales are actually losing out.

Inflation

The crux of my point will be the inflation model of steem.

Currently the supply of steem increases at 9.5% a year. Of this new steem 75% of that goes to authors and curators and the rest goes to witnesses miners.

This means that you need to earn 7.125% to get 'your share' of that new steem and 9.5% to stay ahead of inflation.

Examples

Let's look at an account that has 1,000SP and one that has 1,000,000 what their weekly numbers need to look like. Also we can look at some active top 10 whales @blocktrades, @ned, @jamesc, @val-a, @abit, @dantheman, and as he's been discussed a lot around this topic 15th biggest @berniesanders. Also just thought as I am putting other people's info out there better put my own as well.

All earning have been adjusted to steem

target ROI (both)Needed Weekly ROI (both)Needed Weekly earnings (minnow)Needed Weekly earnings (whale)
7.125%0.132%1.321,320
9.5%0.175%1.751,750
WhaleThis week's earningsProjected Yearly ROI
@blocktrades49754.5%
@ned6650.6%
@jamesc5120.8%
@val-a11202%
@abit13602.4%
@dantheman2400.5%
@berniesanders5801.7%
@fiveboringgames8353%

So as we can see none of these whales are not getting there 'fair share' of the new steem and are certainly not beating the inflation. I'd also like to note that I had one post do well this week so my 53% ROI is likely inflated and similarly for the whales this week may not of been indicative.

Too big to succeed

To be successful at curating you need to find posts early that others will like and for them to vote much more on it than you did. Whales have a hard time here, I know it doesn't seem that way due to the bigger numbers, but for example if I upvote a crap post to $0.01 that will give it more visibility and it may go on to get $0.02, I will not receive much, this would be a failed curation. for a whale to upvote to $15 and the post to get a lot of visibility and go on to earn $30 is the same level of failure as my one. Most of my curation earnings comes from finding posts and upvoting them to $0.01 and having them go on to earn $10 - $100 for a whale to have that success they would need to find a post early and have it make $15,000 - $150,000, nearly impossible. they have a similar problem when it comes to posting.

In the steemit system whales are not 'too big to fail' they are 'too big to succeed'

This is why we shouldn't be worried when whales powerdown, it is something they need to do.

It just occured to me that due to this a STEEM is worth less money to a whale than it is to an average user getting 7.125% ROI, probably up to 5% less due to the difference in their returns. Added to this is the fact that most of the STEEM being sold on markets is from whales powering down. Therefore the STEEM on market places is discounted, likely for the next good while, as long as there are whales with too much SP to handle.

Don't start a save the whales fund yet

It's not all so bad for the whales, firstly they got all that money by being early adopters/founders/miners and secondly if steemit is successful it's increased valuation will easily beat inflation.

For example in the last month the value of steem should have fell 0.76% due to inflation but it has increased 13.5%.

For a whale the earnings possible by curation and authorship pale in comparison to the potential earnings if steemit is successful. So they have a very big incentive to help the it succeed.

Conclusion

I know it's hard to see a whale upvote a crappy post with a picture of a dog, and sit there thinking 'Why don't you upvote my crappy post with a picture of my crappy dog!!'

sorry for calling you crappy Max

Just remember they are losing out in expected value. Doesn't make me less jealous, stupid crappy dog.


P.S

As a side plug, for anyone with streemian.com that wants to increase their curation earnings but doesn't have the time then get on my curation trail to automatically vote on everything I vote on. I currently earn around 9.6%for curation alone, while as you will be voting after me you will get less, you should get >9% if you one of the first 10 in the trail.

Sort:  

Wow, i really appreciate this post. Totally helps me clarify things and understand not only this particular topic, but you've inspired me to follow your curation trail as i think i finally understand curation!! haha, and i've been here for a long time oops. i mostly focus on posting though and haven't done thorough homework on the system. anyway, thanks again. good stuff.

Thanks nice to hear that.

Full selfish request but if you think it's worth it please consider resteeming

I'm, I think, at my limit?? Not sure if ReSteems dip into post limits, but I'm assuming they do? Trying to get a new post out tonight...I need to check my status on limits.

But once it's clear, I'll resteem for sure.

Thanks appreciate it, am 99% sure resteem doesn't count, but you are right it's not worth the risk. Also here is a cool site where you can check if you hit your limit, I am always checking it paranoid http://www.steemdollar.com/limitstatus.php

I checked in chat, it doesn't hurt the limit! So resteemed my friend...also thanks for that link..I forgot to make it a bookmark months ago and have been digging for that all day today. <3 mucho appreciated.

Cool good to now for sure about the resteem.

Awesome post keep up the great work and thanks for the follow ! Im following back , and falling asleep ! Lol ! Good night !👍😪💤

Wow you have no idea how much I just learned from this post. Resteemed and followed, I hope to see more content like this from you.

Thank you for this read, it was well worth it.
~ @Timbo

i appreciate that

Great explanation, looks like you really did look into the numbers a bit. So it seems then if your authoring a post and doing ok, then and gaining some SP from curation the your going to be ahead of the inflation curve as it is, and should be winning overall!

i think solely curating is possible I have been trying to up may game lately and I am am around 9% ROI. But one or 2 post a week added in, and with the upcoming comment changes, 10-20 comment posts, I think you can stay ahead.

Also I didn't mention because I didn't want to go into too much detail, but inflation is falling at 0.5% a year so going forward solely curating will be viable (maybe)

That sounds like great news.

I do like it when someone digs into the data to substantiate a point of view. Thanks

I have seen a lot of these posts lately. I am not here for money or bits or anything. I want people to chat with online that have similar interests and facebook is owned by a sect member, and I hear the other one is too, so I moved to the new sites. If the money part is going to mess it up, that sucks and it would be better to have it with no money

Interesting read, maybe we me more whales as they have a massive job to do with so many posts going out

I'd rather every whale was 10 dolphins

I do think there is far to many minnows to whales

that will always be the case

Thanks for the info.

The reason these whales are losing out is because they are choosing to. It's not because the system is bad for whales. As long as they are active authors and curators at least . These whales either never post anything or rarely do. If you look at blocktrades posts this account made fucking HUGE profit when ever it posted. Averaging what $500-$3000 usd per post? blovktrades also seems to curate more than the other whales as well.

It is interesting to see how you pointed out that inactive whales will lose money. It just seems to me all they have to do is write more posts and curate to profit instead of being squeezed dry while inactive.

well a couple of things about the 500-3000 range. First that was when steem was worth 10 times more so that is 50-300 in today's money and secondly to me or you that is a lot and would make great ROI for us but for @blocktrades account a $300 post every week would only add 1.7% to his ROI, and even for someone with his SP $300 would require a quality post

Ah of course the value has gone down a shitload. I wasn't around then so I forgot to factor that in. Steem worth that much sounds like a fairy tale.

a nightmare for me, first hear of steemit then and put in $1000 which quickly turned into < $100. Still happy with the idea of the investment only crypto project I've seen with mainstream adoption potential

Thanks for posting this. Very learnfull , Follow you know.. Peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25