Zorker's Steemit Lessons: Getting @Curie's Attention

in #curation6 years ago

piggy-bank-1189875_640.jpg
Source: Pixabay


There are lots of little things you can do to optimize and maximize your returns here on Steemit. Earlier this month I wrote a piece describing nine simple tips and suggestions for people looking to play the long game and build gradually. If you're unfamiliar with @minnowsmith or @steembasicincome, take a minute to click on that link and get on the road to automating small growth. Look into the @dustweeper program while you're at it too, it's a great and inexpensive way to ensure both you and your readers are getting the full value of your curation efforts.

There's one important thing I didn't mention in that post, and that's because it deserves its own stand-alone piece. You've likely seen their name pop up if you've been reading articles here for any length of time. Maybe you've been fortunate enough to get seen by them and benefit from their efforts, and if so, you likely felt relieved because finally all your work was paying off. Maybe you've seen them hit other peoples' content and wondered how you get yourself on their radar. Having been the recipient of their generosity and community-building service over a dozen times at this point, I can't guarantee everyone who reads this and adopts these methods will profit, and I can't promise you the same success I've had. What I can promise is my interpretation of how I've attracted @curie's attention on the average of 2-3 times per month by analyzing what those posts have in common. With any luck, you too can profit from my hard work.

This is the Zork-meister's guide to getting @curie's attention.


What is @Curie?

If you're new to the platform, or never encountered her yet, @curie is a dedicated curation service for the Steemit blockchain. Unlike autovoters such as @steembasicincome and @qurator, or voting bots like @minnowbooster and @randowhale, @curie neither requires investment from a user nor can you purchase her affection. You don't need to follow her, send SBD, delegate Steem Power, or invoke her name in the comments section of your blog.

Much like Chuck Norris, you don't find @curie--she finds you.


How does @Curie work?

Basically, @curie runs off the dedication of a hard-working team of curators who have attached themselves to the project. These curators constantly browse the platform in search of content they deem interesting, exciting, unique, relevant, and worthy of reward. When they find an article they feel should be considered by the group at large, they submit it for approval by the rest of the team. If, after investigation, enough people on the team agree it's worth curating, they then decide an appropriate upvote percentage to reward the author, and @curie makes the initial strike.

In the aftermath of @curie's vote, you see a veritable orgy of upvotes from those users who have joined @curie's curation trail. These accounts generally shift their votes to match @curie's, so if she gives out a 5.8% upvote, you'll see a slew of other 5.8% upvotes. Using SteemWorld you can easily track vote percentages if you're curious to see exactly who voted what.


So @Curie makes you rich?

Not exactly, but she certainly helps. Remember the @curie community not only decides whether your content is worth upvoting, but also how much of an upvote it's worth.

Here are two different posts I've made in the past few months which got @curie's stamp of approval:

Top Three Desert Island Video Games - 73 upvotes, $4.55 payout.

The Six Best Classic Gen 13 Story Lines of All Time - 438 upvotes, $121.37 payout.

Why the massive difference? Well besides the variations in Steem's median value and the larger number of upvotes for the Gen 13 article, the main reason comes down to @curie's initial upvote. In the first example, @curie rated my post as worth of a 2.1% upvote. The second example, on the other hand, saw a @curie drop a 30% upvote. The trail follows @curie's assessment, and votes accordingly, and many on the trail don't have enough Steem Power to make such a tiny upvote worth anything. When this happens they don't upvote, so you aren't missing out on any actual reward, and they aren't wasting their voting power.

At the time those articles got their @curie votes, a 2.1% vote from @curie was worth ~$0.28. A 30% @curie upvote, on the other hand, was worth a whopping $8.40. Bigger @curie votes = larger article payout. Simple economics.


That's all well and good, but what does @Curie actually like?

Obviously I can't speak for everyone on the team because I'm not a part of it and am not privy to their discussions when it comes to article nominations and the peer review process, but there's one thing above all @curie seems to value, and that's hard work.

Every piece I've received @curie upvotes on has been long-form prose, and they all share similar qualities.

First, although this might be obvious to most, I'll point it out anyway: nothing I've written that received a @curie nod is plagiarized or borrowed from other sources. Some of the things I've posted to Steemit have been posted previously elsewhere (the Desert Island Games piece, for instance, first appeared at Retro Gaming Magazine), but if you steal other people's work and claim it as your own, or post your own work but don't properly source it from the site where it originated, @curie not only won't be interested in your stuff but you may end up on a blacklist from not only them but other curation guilds. Always, always, always source your materials, even if you wrote them yourself.

Second, you'll rarely find @curie upvoting short or minimalist works. If you want her to notice you, then memes, single pictures with minimal commentary, video links, and other things that obviously didn't take much time for the user to create for Steemit aren't the way to go. The good news is that, per their white paper, @curie maintains an active presence in a lot of the artistic tags here, so things like poetry, art, and fiction are all potential candidates for curation.

Third, @curie loves a personal touch. Every last thing of mine selected for @curie curation has not just been long-form prose, but it told some kind of story unique to me. That Desert Island Game list? Nobody else but me would have the same Top 3 in that category. My favorite Gen 13 comics? Again, my personal choice--everybody else's would be different. The list goes on:

  • Tom and the Cow is a humorous anecdotal memorial to an old friend from high school who passed away in February.

  • Michael's Horror Lase-O-Rama: Leviathan is not just a review of the movie, but my personal experience of watching it for the first time on laserdisc and an exploration of how the underwater shots were accomplished with such a low budget, which required additional research about the film's production before I could even start writing.

  • Under Siege, Send Help! -- Tips For Defending Your Awesome Stronghold in D&D is my personal summation of accumulated knowledge through several decades of role playing about low-cost and imaginative ways you can stave off and thwart an invading force intent on taking over your castle.

The connecting line these all have is a personal touch. Journalism teaches writers to put themselves in a reader's shoes and ask the six important questions of who, what, where, when, why, and how. If you approach your own writing with at least a nod to most of these questions, the end result of your article will have not only your own personal touch, but expanded interest for readers.

Think of it this way: it's easy for someone to take a picture and post it here with a sentence that says, "Good morning Steemit. Here's my dog."

1004512_434426300005587_1789676090_n.jpg

These are not my wolves, and it's not my back yard, but bear with me here.

Now it's not every day you get to see someone sitting on a milk crate in a fenced-in pen with real live wolves, especially someone as devastatingly handsome as myself (Ladies!), but be honest: that's boring. It's interesting for the ten seconds it took for you to scan the picture and realize I didn't have on any underwear (Ladies!, @blewitt!), but you can go on with your day without considering just how close to death I was (those were puppies, so not very) at all times in that paddock. And if it's true for you, it's true for @curie. Uninteresting = uninterested.


I Wrote a Really Interesting Post and Didn't Get a @Curie Upvote! WTF!

Here's the thing--@curie's under no obligation to upvote you or anybody else, and putting in a shit-ton of work doesn't mean you've earned her services. Not even for me. Witness:

Michael's Long Box: Razor's Chronology (Is Ridiculously Complicated) was a long-ass post about comic books that required an absurd amount of prep work and digging through my collection to try and piece together. I'm not even sure I got everything right, but I did the best I could. The prep time for even writing that article was weeks as I collated issues, read through them, and tried to make sense of the general hash of the timeline for a 90's bad girl book nobody but me probably remembers or even cares about. Its final payout: $1.61 from 37 upvotes.

Ouch.

So, what happened?

Could have been anything. Maybe the @curie curator or reviewer who stalks #comics was on vacation or sick. Maybe someone submitted it and the community decided it wasn't worthy of consideration--it was too hyper-focused on something too few people cared about. Maybe it just got overlooked. Maybe a potential curator looked at it but decided somebody else wrote something better and selected that instead. I have no idea, and I never will.

But that's not the point. The point is, the posts where I don't put in the hard work? Those are guaranteed to never get noticed by the @curie community. The only thing that gets results where @curie is concerned is dedication. Maybe once you get noticed the first time you wind up on their radar, and that impacts your potential for future curation opportunities, but I see too many people whining about how @curie never notices them and not enough users actively putting in the screen time with their posts to make something worthy of @curie's attention.


That's the bottom line: @curie wants to reward hard work and under-valued content. If you do get 'Curied', take note of what made that post stand out compared to your other work and strive to do something similar the next time. If it doesn't work, try again the next time. You can't get noticed if you don't do the work, so don't give up! The upvotes are out there if you're willing to work for them. And trust me, that feeling when you see a ridiculous number of votes on your work is better than any other high in the world. Get addicted to it and it makes you a better Steemizen by default.

Now get out there and kick some more ass!

Sort:  

I always love your writing 😊 Reading your posts are the time really worth and fun too. Just wanna say that I'm somehow proud that I've met you here ☺️ I know I'll never get a curie-upvote but I'm always happy if I see you have got one. And I don't say that because it sounds nice. I always upvote your posts and I know the upvote value is not high - but maybe in the future it could be much more and then I'll be still here...

Thank you so much, @peekbit! I'm glad we met here too. You've been a constant fan of mine for months. I'm grateful for all your cheerleading and support! :D

Now we just need to work on that book of nipple photography so you can profit and I can review it. ;)

I promise - when I ever create a book of nipples - there will be only one official review! 😊

I'll buy it 😄 Promised...

Thanks for your kind words about Curie.

I wanted to clarify/add couple things you mentioned.

As you mentioned there are smaller and bigger votes. Curie's main curation is usually the one with bigger votes. They way it works is, curators independently scout the platform and submit awesome posts they find and reviewers do the reviewing. There is no community discussion of individual posts.

Curie also supports regional and interest-based sub-communities such as gaming, homesteading, education, music, etc. When you see smaller upvotes they are normally as a result of the sub-community curation.

I'm glad @geekgirl clarified. I would add that if people want to know how to get their work curied, they should check the posts on https://www.becquerel.io to see the standard that is required. I'm also attaching the most recent curator guidelines from the curie discord server (which anyone is able to join).

I also like your Chuck Norris analogy. As you can see, this post attracted the attention of several curie curators.

Huge thank yous to both @geekgirl and @choogirl for chiming in on this! I'm both amazed and humbled this got the attention it did, but also happy to know I didn't get too much wrong. :)

Just out of curiosity, does this post itself technically violate Guidelie 4, since it's basically about Steemit? Or is that not the case, since it's dealing with a sub-section of culture and not the platform itself?

Yes, it would be considered as steemit/steem related. Just like your title says "Steemit lessons" :)

Fantastic article. Curie is what motivated me to start working harder and posting every day. The first post of mine curie hit paid over $90. I felt like I won the lottery and it remains my most awarded post so far.

One thing to note is that after your rep passes 55, getting curie votes gets harder. Over 60 and only posts they find truly exceptional will get that vote.

I was not aware of that, but it certainly makes sense. Once your rep gets up that high, you should have a pretty dedicated following. Not surprising they would prioritize lower-reputation users. :)

Really great advice! I feel bad for those who whining about not getting noticed by Curie. I think they should change the mindset from writing for curie to write for steemit instead. This platform needs a lot of good content.

I just want to add some: From what I know about how this great curation effort, yes, sure Curie loves exceptional content. But also, curie prefers active blogger that keep writing great content no matter the rewards. The more consistent, and persistent, the better chance to get a big curie upvote. Many curators love to pick blogger that have good egagement with other blogger too.

The trick is that writing for Steemit is writing for Curie! One just happens to provide a nice rewards incentive for doing a great job. If you're aiming high with most of your posts, you have a better chance of attracting attention. Good content breeds good content, it's just annoying when you see people spamming memes they pulled off Facebook and self-voting their garbage into the Trending and Hot pages. :)

Good point about community engagement, too. It's why commenting is so important to begin with: not only is it a way to score some additional upvotes on top of your regular posts, but it's a way to attract new followers and grow the pool. :)

Great advice here folks. Even if @modernzorker is obsessed with everyone’s undergarments to the point of making us all uncomfortable...he has some valid points here.

I’ve often wondered what attracts “that” vote and sometimes I’ve been right...sometimes wrong. No matter what though the thing that cannot be denied is to write quality and to have that personal touch. Those are things I personally like to see here and I’m a useless zilch...I’m sure those at @curie search out those qualities in pieces as well.

Well done brother. Folks just starting out should take this drop of knowledge and run with it.

Love reading your pieces...sorry I called the cops on you again. I just don’t want to keep getting Facebook video chats of you reinacting Buffalo Bill from Silence of the Lambs...

You could have just put on the lotion like a good gimp, but nooo...you had to be all "MMMMF PHFMMMFPH RARUGHPHFFF GRUNGGH FLURGH!" instead.

Lol. If you ever get the chance...check out Silence The Musical. Pretty funny shit.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 21 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Marvelous advice. I've wondered about what attracts Curie - I've gotten upvoted by them over a dozen times - and I expect I might've figured it out myself eventually had I ever wanted to, but it's nice to have the answers here. :)

This is also great and very useful advice. Curie really does make one's hard work feel rewarded - but one has to put in that hard work in the first place, too. But when you're rewarded - what a feeling!

Thank you very much, @terry93d. When you boil it down, I think getting noticed by curie is equivalent to how you get noticed by anyone else on Steemit: dedication, hard work, and just a little dash of luck from time to time. Those who get noticed more often than others are generally doing so because they keep plugging away, and thus giving themselves more opportunities to win at the game. :)

a lot of great information here, I know I am guilty of lazy writing from time to time, I see that POST button as a -good enough- as opposed to - a means to share something I am proud to send out into the world.

I don't do this every time mind you, a lot of my posts might be short but I honestly believe they add value at some level to the readers.

still, I will take this read to heart and give my writings another scan over before clicking the words into Steemit space....

Everybody's guilty of lazy writing from time to time. I'm certainly no exception--I've got dozens of posts here to prove it. I just like that curie's there to remind me periodically that the hard work is worth the effort. :)

I did a huge article about MtG not so long ago over 1500 words and very detailed which got ignored. If its too niche, it just wont happen is the answer.

"Niche, but not too niche" might be a good way of looking at it. Go too deep down the rabbit hole and it's difficult for people to find you. :)

Super valuable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55