Is Re-posting One's Own Original Content on Steemit Okay?

in #curation6 years ago

Asking for a friend...

No just kidding. I'm asking for me, but most of the posts I could find on this topic (by googling) are very old. So I post partly in hopes of knowledgeable feedback from today's active Steemians, and also so that there will be a more current answer to this question online for those who might ask in the future :)

Over two years ago I was actively blogging on Steemit (Guy's Work Blog - my adventures waiting tables), and some of them were earning around $20usd at the time, which I though was pretty good. I didn't cash in either, only Powered Up.

However the time spent versus the rewards weren't enough at the time, and - ironically perhaps - I started picking up more shifts at the restaurant to earn real USD!

So here's the thing... two recent but kind of controversial changes to the Steemiverse have helped contribute to me becoming more active here lately, "returning to Steemit" one might say (and I have three accounts actually, all of which I've been active on again recently)...

The first : Parley!
https://www.parley.io/ The feature that allows users to share articles (mostly news is popular right now) from other places online - to encourage discussion - and also receive upvotes from other Steemians for sharing the content. Of course the content shared is not original (which might rub some Steemians the wrong way), but the concept of promoting discussion on breaking news stories (and earning Steem) has the potential bringing Redditors here, and of competing directly with Reddit.

I've been using it recently to good results. I hope Steemit overall accepts this beneficial addition to the realm.

The second : BID-BOTS! Steemians seem to love 'em or hate 'em.... I've been testing these as well lately, and happy with the results.

But the discussion over these critters is raging
https://steemit.com/life/@dreamants/i-was-blamed-and-flagged-by-the-whales
https://steemit.com/future/@tarazkp/thechangingsteemecosystemandthosewhodontchange-p3wny88598
(just as examples) AND there are also downvote bots coming into play against those who use them. As well as @flagfixer -and maybe others- to counter those.

My o my, Steemit is changing and things are heating up on some fronts. But anyways as said, I've been using them both, and spending A WHOLE LOT OF TIME on Steemit lately as result of these "innovations". So, in the sense that Steemit is an "attention-based economy" these are beneficial additions which are keeping me here (largely because I'm making money, yes) and also inspiring me to start adding more original content because I can see it paying off again.

Hence the original question btw - Re-Posting old content.

My waiter blog (that I originally published elsewhere on a free Google blog site, but never got flagged for adding here) has over 50 chapters to it, plus chapters that I've drafted and never published.

So here's the thing (I know, I said that already. Fine, here's the other thing)...

I feel that I should re-publish the posts that I published here over two years ago, to basically begin the story fresh. I'd like to start again with Chapter 1 re-posting the first 17 posts I put here two years ago, then add the 30+ that I never posted here ... And THEN maybe even write some newer, original, posts that I have drafted but have never actually written out yet.

One more thing.... I've somehow picked up around 1000 new followers recently (from the Parley Bitcoin articles in part) and I'm certain that many of my old followers from two years ago aren't as active on here anyways. Starting the story fresh seems like the best approach for my current followers, opposed to just posting links to old posts. Those original ones did get some good discussion going here, back in the day, and would probably do so again.

Oh - last thing - I'll totally be using bid-bots this time.

Will Steemit be okay with that? I want to become more active, earn here, and get back to creating original content, but I don't want to get flagged or hated on for re-posting my own work to new audiences. I'll even post a disclaimer that it is a re-post - should that be in title perhaps, or just at the bottom?

Those in the know, please post your answers and/or links to the original question about re-posting, to the best of your knowledge, for me and for the sake of people who find this link in the future.

If you do reply, please forgive me if can't reply to you until much later tonight ... I actually have to leave for work soon(wait staff trainer by night, Bitcoin by day now, and "once again aspiring Steemit blogger" at all hours in-between) ...

And hopefully we can look forward to

returnofguysworkblog.png

Sort:  

I don't think there is an answer that is not heavily nuanced. I mean, it's pretty obvious that we are attempting to practice freedom here, so in the very least we should all be able to get behind the idea of sharing anything we have ever worked on without much concern.

Granted, I'm talking about a situation were the content, the blogs, the videos or what have you are benign for lack of a better term. If they are not, then the community would probably react negatively to it, and that would be quite understandable. If someone wanted to share lets say, hate speech, he or she could expect a negative reaction from the community, but that distinction seems to be necessary these days.

To me, the answer to your question depends pretty much on what it is that you are seeking to get out of the platform. If you would like to engage in discussion with others, which I suspect from your writing approach, I would say it might be best to restrain from using too many bots, as they seem to attract spam (mostly) and deter real human interaction.

The little plankton accounts using their translators have this idea that if a post has a high payout, that must mean it belongs to a whale and that also must mean that they can win a big upvote by leaving meaningless comments. It's an understandable yet futile behavior.

If however you want to get on trending in the hopes of catching an eye or two of someone that might enjoy your content, I would say that is not that likely, but it is possible.

Now, since we have bots running on the ecosystem that are constantly looking for spam and plagiarism, I would encourage you to cite your sources. Yes, even on your own content. Because the default mob mentality sometimes takes over and if cheetah finds a plagiarist, many assume automatically that no mistake has been made and attack.

Most of the time this is correct, but just a few days we had an instance when an author just decided to copy paste his own content and he got attacked. The behaviors that ensued from that were as you might imagine unpleasant, and if I'm to be honest on both sides.

In other words. Go for it, be you, be happy, knock yourself out... this is your little box of legos. Just know exactly what you want first.

Cheers

And then there is SteemPress, so reposting one's own content is a thing now.

possibly, but imo it doesn't really move the needle enough to warrant doing it. However, as I've stated, we need to be better at practicing freedom. Letting people to their thing.

@meno Better to share new and creative blog rather than simply copy paste work. What do u think?

That is my personal truth, but I empathize with people that put a lot of work into something creative and never really got to show it to an audience.

However, I'm of the idea that holding too much attachment to things we've done in the past rob us from the potential of outdoing ourselves. But that is also a personal truth.

Thanks for such an exhaustive reply @meno ... it is indeed a quite nuanced topic, which is why I wanted updated information and opinions.

To me, the answer to your question depends pretty much on what it is that you are seeking to get out of the platform. If you would like to engage in discussion with others, which I suspect from your writing approach, I would say it might be best to restrain from using too many bots, as they seem to attract spam (mostly) and deter real human interaction.
I definitely enjoy the interaction and discussion. I'm just not in the position to spend hours per day on it as a hobby though. I am seeking to get paid out of the platform. I didn't realize the spambots deterred interactions tho - I usually am able to scroll past them, but it's something to think about.
Thanks again!

Oops that second para didn't work out right ...

I definitely enjoy the interaction and discussion. I'm just not in the position to spend hours per day on it as a hobby though. I am seeking to get paid out of the platform. I didn't realize the spambots deterred interactions tho - I usually am able to scroll past them, but it's something to think about.
Thanks again!

I do it, I am sure to mention and link the first time I published it. Simple solution is the voters can decide if they want to vote for if they want to.

Thank you for that input. I'll do the same. And do you ever see a lot of bad response for doing so?

I've had maybe 2 people say, "I'm glad you are reposting this, but I don't want to pay you again". Or something along that line.

I thought that was perfect and exactly why I disclosed it was a repeat.

I've mostly done this when it was something about Steem I wanted to communicate or an old article I posted before I had an audience. When I do it, I tell people why I am doing it and I think that helps keep the response calm.

Haha, okay thanks. I'm in that second boat, re-posting old articles now that my audience is 4-5 times what it was when I first posted the waiter stories. I'll be sure to put Re-Post in the title, and link at bottom. Thanks again.

That is so great; if you can also buy votes for it, it can be fully automated! 8-P

I'm sure it could be. ;) Oh, course one would have to have the resources first.

Only in the beginning, but yes, we keep forgetting using resources to generate more resources is superior to creating content in every way.

If you don't like how steem is going, you should check out the competition. :)

No, that is a reason to try to change Steemit, not a reason to check out competition. You are wrong again.

I love bacon. :) I decided to rerun a post today and bot it in honor of you.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Do not count on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Luckily, I'm not superstitious.
I am, however, just a little stitious.

I go with @meno here.

Cheetah will find copy-pasted content anyways, so you better make sure to include the corresponding sources.

Personally I'm not a huge fan of raking up old stories for the simple reason that I respect my followers who I wouldn't want to consume the same piece twice. If I were in your position, I'd only link the old articles and start writing the brandnew chapters then.

BID-BOTS! Steemians seem to love 'em or hate 'em.... I've been testing these as well lately, and happy with the results.

Well I guess those steemians who hate bid bots love Steem and the Steem community, and those who love bid bots only do love their own wallet :-)

It's a question of values and purpose. Some people care of the communtiy and the overall growth of Steem which is why they refuse excessive vote buying.

Thanks to excessive vote trading, the whole Steem ecosystem is currupted now. Just look at all those vote buyers who have a reputation of 70+ and 10K+ followers now. Nothing of that is really significant or sustainable, and few of their followers would realy read a piece of content from them if they didn't bought a trending position for it.

I prefer to grow my blog / brand organically, have followers that appreciate my work and not just follow me for hitting trending, and engage with all those loyal users through conversations.

Everything else to me is just a soap bubble that will burst sooner or later...

Wow thank you also for the exhaustive response. I'm not as up to speed then on the view that the uvbots hurt or take money from others tho.
I did grow a great organic following the first time with my waiter blog, I just didn't get paid from doing so. I'm of course trying to do both by importing it to here. Plus adding content related to my other interests of course - things that wouldn't work on a waiter blog.
I see what you mean about followers consuming the same piece twice. I think if I go this route I'll put Re-Post or Re-Blog in the title then, but I still have way more new followers that haven't seen any of those, than those that have. Like I mentioned it's been two years since I posted and many of those folks abandoned Steemit since then. And like you said, I think many of them are following me just to upvote my promoted posts early. Money/earnings being in the mix seems to have always blurred the line between Steemit being a hobby and passion for people, versus a means of income.

The short of it is mainly no. But yes as long as you can prove you are the author where you originally posted it. Like going to the OP and editing it to say I have republished this on steemit.com and throw in the link. And also make a note on here that you are republishing it here and link it, That way they are crossed linked and no one can say you stole the material.
If the said article is on here mainly no, unless you have a series going where it may end or start the same way. But it isn't 100% copied. For instance, @papa-pepper has a couple of different series he does, and pretty much some of the info is the same for the series. I do contest and giveaways and my rules are nearly always the same. Hope that helps clear it up.

That is indeed helpful, thank you greatly! I'll post my Steemit link on the original page :)

Glad I could help.

You got a 7.75% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ibringawareness!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 9.87% upvote from @upme thanks to @ibringawareness! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

You got a 13.85% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @ibringawareness!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Bro sharing is good practice and I am sure by sharing you get opportunity to improve and increase your knowledge , hence continue sharing , all the best bro

Upvote And Reply to my Comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69067.71
ETH 3754.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72