You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Re-posting One's Own Original Content on Steemit Okay?

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

I don't think there is an answer that is not heavily nuanced. I mean, it's pretty obvious that we are attempting to practice freedom here, so in the very least we should all be able to get behind the idea of sharing anything we have ever worked on without much concern.

Granted, I'm talking about a situation were the content, the blogs, the videos or what have you are benign for lack of a better term. If they are not, then the community would probably react negatively to it, and that would be quite understandable. If someone wanted to share lets say, hate speech, he or she could expect a negative reaction from the community, but that distinction seems to be necessary these days.

To me, the answer to your question depends pretty much on what it is that you are seeking to get out of the platform. If you would like to engage in discussion with others, which I suspect from your writing approach, I would say it might be best to restrain from using too many bots, as they seem to attract spam (mostly) and deter real human interaction.

The little plankton accounts using their translators have this idea that if a post has a high payout, that must mean it belongs to a whale and that also must mean that they can win a big upvote by leaving meaningless comments. It's an understandable yet futile behavior.

If however you want to get on trending in the hopes of catching an eye or two of someone that might enjoy your content, I would say that is not that likely, but it is possible.

Now, since we have bots running on the ecosystem that are constantly looking for spam and plagiarism, I would encourage you to cite your sources. Yes, even on your own content. Because the default mob mentality sometimes takes over and if cheetah finds a plagiarist, many assume automatically that no mistake has been made and attack.

Most of the time this is correct, but just a few days we had an instance when an author just decided to copy paste his own content and he got attacked. The behaviors that ensued from that were as you might imagine unpleasant, and if I'm to be honest on both sides.

In other words. Go for it, be you, be happy, knock yourself out... this is your little box of legos. Just know exactly what you want first.

Cheers

Sort:  

And then there is SteemPress, so reposting one's own content is a thing now.

possibly, but imo it doesn't really move the needle enough to warrant doing it. However, as I've stated, we need to be better at practicing freedom. Letting people to their thing.

@meno Better to share new and creative blog rather than simply copy paste work. What do u think?

That is my personal truth, but I empathize with people that put a lot of work into something creative and never really got to show it to an audience.

However, I'm of the idea that holding too much attachment to things we've done in the past rob us from the potential of outdoing ourselves. But that is also a personal truth.

Thanks for such an exhaustive reply @meno ... it is indeed a quite nuanced topic, which is why I wanted updated information and opinions.

To me, the answer to your question depends pretty much on what it is that you are seeking to get out of the platform. If you would like to engage in discussion with others, which I suspect from your writing approach, I would say it might be best to restrain from using too many bots, as they seem to attract spam (mostly) and deter real human interaction.
I definitely enjoy the interaction and discussion. I'm just not in the position to spend hours per day on it as a hobby though. I am seeking to get paid out of the platform. I didn't realize the spambots deterred interactions tho - I usually am able to scroll past them, but it's something to think about.
Thanks again!

Oops that second para didn't work out right ...

I definitely enjoy the interaction and discussion. I'm just not in the position to spend hours per day on it as a hobby though. I am seeking to get paid out of the platform. I didn't realize the spambots deterred interactions tho - I usually am able to scroll past them, but it's something to think about.
Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59