The Fiber Ramble - May 25

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone! Summer is here in S.W. Ontario and it's hot out there! I was supposed to go to a quilt show today but I haven't been well so I decided to stay home. I'm hoping to go tomorrow to get some shots and interview some of the artists. I guess we'll see what happens tomorrow.

I'd like to congradulate the #needleworkmonday community on their beautiful "Why I love @needleworkmonday" entries. If you aren't aware of this community now is an excellent time to read their posts.

This issue of the Fiber Ramble includes two brand new Steemians who I hope you will show some love to. If you haven't heard there is a wonderful new initiative, @welcomewagon which is a group of like minded people who believe in supporting and encouraging new Steemians. Please visit them and show some love. Maybe you know of a newbie who is creating quality content but could use some help. Let the @welcomewagon know.

This post is also my first entry in @thedarkhorse's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Good luck to all who are entering!


Onward to today’s rambling

Steem Basic Income - My First Sponsorships

@shanibeer's post shows us the perfect example of what Steem Basic Income is all about, sharing love that lasts a life time. You're awesome @shanibeer.

Chimera Redux: A Brief Explanation

@hglucky13 is creating an amazing comic book which is a compilation of her friends' stories and poetry. I've linked her first post which explains her project but it's a little old. After you've checked out what she's doing please don't miss page one and "turn" the pages to enjoy this unique comic book! Well done @hglucky13.

Ultimate Crochet Contest! EVERYONE WINS!

@anjkara and @foxyspirit will become a regular feature here. Every two weeks they are running their #ultimateCrochet Contest and I think it's amazing how many new crocheters they are luring out of the shadows!! The winner of the last round is as striking as her crochet work! Thanks Ladies!

Pocket Unicorn

@koteikonyamme is a brand new Steemian! She not only felts but she also embroiders and it wouldn't surprise me if she has many more skills up her sleeve. This is only her second post but it's quality! Please show her some love and encouragement. Welcome to the platform @koteikonyamme.

How To Make A Seaglass Pendant

@starjewel's entry for the How To: Weekly contest is an excellent tutorial to make a sea-glass pendant using wire. I have a sand bucket full of beach glass I've collected over the years and thanks to this tutorial I can see some people on my Christmas list receiving pendants this year. Thank you @starjewel! Good luck in the contest.

📷 Amazing Art of Quilling

Paper quilling is an old art that has always fascinated me. It's so lacy and detailed. @singa's post shows some beautiful examples as well as a bit of the history of this art. Nice work @singa.

Getting Inspiration From Textile Arts - The Work of Becky Knight

Thank you @cryptocariad for introducing us to Becky Knight. Another amazing fiber artist! @cyptocariad "stumbled" into this exhibit and was happily surprised to find a familiar artist showing her amazing work. Take a look.....you won't be disappointed. Great post @cryptocariad.

💡Hand-art Using A Bulb. ✂️🛠👌

I love to learn new ways to recycle objects into art and @saharkhanommi has shown us an excellent way to reuse burnt out light bulbs. This is a wonderful, bi-lingual tutorial that shows us how to take these fragile bulbs apart. Super job @saharkhanommi!

🌹Flower Stamp Making Process 🌹

I love making my own wrapping paper but have not been able to justify the expense of purchasing a large stamp. @justaboutart's tutorial is an excellent guide to making our own. AND... @justaboutart is introducing the #tos tag for Teens On Steem! I think this is an excellent initiative. Please show some love and resteem her post so that other teens can join the fun!

Joyart on makeover drawing

I discovered this amazing artist at Pimp Your Post Thursday last night. @joyart is another new Steemian who has the amazing ability to look at a photo and stunningly reproduce it in her own style. Beautiful work! Welcome to the platform @joyart. I have a feeling we will see great things from you.

Until next time friends...

Join the Fiberartists Curation Trail

If you’d like to be part of supporting the posts that I curate, you can join my curation trail. What that means is if you are part of the trail, when I vote on a quality post, your votes will automatically follow me. The trail name is Fiberartists.

You’ll need to sign up at SteemAutoand I’d recommend you use SteemConnect when asked to give voting rights. That makes sure your keys are safe.

Once registered, the link to the curation trail is right here. You can set the percentage of vote you wish to use in the settings once you join the trail.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the posts that I sift through each time I sit down to do the Fiber Ramble, I think it is time to give you, the Fiber Artists, an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Fiber Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

fiber ramble

Creatives Coffee Hour

Join in on the fun! Come to the Creatives Coffee Hour, Mondays @1pm edt on the Steemit Ramble Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for including my post @fiberartists 😊
I'm now going over to see @koteikonyamme's pocket unicorn !

Thank you for your entry. I have upvoted a bunch of the featured bloggers and think all of the under 50 and at least 1 of the over 50.

Your entry is confirmed for this week, but can I suggest that next week break up the part of the post that is for the PIF contest vs the rest of your curation. Doesn't need to be it's own post, but if there was a clear divide highlighting the newer steemians that would be great!

Thanks!I'll do that. And thanks for showing them some support!

Thank you so much @fiberartists I'm extremely thrilled to have my post fall in there. Much love 💞

Thank you for including my post, I hope more Steemians will become involved in @steembasicincome

Thank you so much for your entry to the Pay it Forward Curation contest! Wow, this is amazing; I'll spend tomorrow having a look at them all :)

thank you for your entry upvoted and commented all your featured entries . great crafts there and of course my friend @joyart :)

You have been upvoted by KiwiBot at 100.00%! KiwiBot is a recently started community project to support and help grow minnow bloggers creating great content. Upvotes are free, but any donation is accepted!You can also delegate Stream Power to the bot to get larger Upvotes and earn rewards. To learn more about how you can support KiwiBot, you can find it's Discord here



image.png


Thank you so much. Very pleased that you chose my pocket unicorn

I am already looking forward to the next fiber ramble, they are always a lot of fun, just as are the posts you promote here. Thanks for always sharing a great list of posts. 💚

Ahhh this is wicked. I need to pick up my hooks again. Feels like ages!!!! Post Christmas break is lasting s but longer than expected.

Great post!

I feel you.... surfing ravelry helps...LOL helps spend hours of your time....

Thank you so much! I am honored to be mention by you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26