STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #42: Hokkaido Milk Bread!! (Second Entry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

I made Sunburnt Piggy Paus for this week’s ‘Beautiful Bread’ SCC challenge’.

THEN. . .!

I found out that @ikaputri had done something similar in a previous SCC round about a month back. I must admit, I felt a little bummed to discover that. While @woman-onthe-wing was kind enough to vocally recognise the differences, this discovery was kinda a catalyst for my second entry.

Gotta use up that fresh yeast anyway, right? =)

So what is @foodie.warrior baking next?!

Hokkaido Milk Bread!!

main pic.png

I’ve always wanted to eat Hokkaido Milk Bread!

In my 26 years and 364 days, I’ve eaten loads of airy, soft Japanese bread and buns! However, I’ve not tried the famed pillowy Japanese ‘Hokkaido Milk Bread’ — not yet!

While getting on a plane and zooming off to Hokkaido to taste its illustrious Milk Bread in all its authenticity sounds crazy attractive, I’ll have to make do with trying to recreate a version of it at home.

If I do it correctly, my family should have a heavenly loaf of soft, fluffy, pillowy goodness. On top of that, the whole house will be filled with the most delightful aroma of freshly-baked buttery (though there’s no butter inside!) milk bread.

IMG_20170919_220248.jpg

DISH NAME

Hokkaido Milk Bread

IMG_20170919_213852.jpg

Ingredients for a fuss-free Hokkaido Milk Bread

480g Type 550 flour (German equivalent of bread flour)
120g Type 405 flour (German equivalent of plain flour)
80g white sugar
30g dry milk powder
8g sea salt
30g fresh instant yeast
250g full cream milk
150g heavy cream
1 medium chicken egg, beaten
Extra flour, for counter-top
Extra heavy cream, for brushing on top off the finished loaf

IMG_20170919_192409.jpg

How to make the Hokkaido Milk Bread

In your big mixing bowl (I used the one that comes with my stand mixer), whisk together all dry dry ingredients. Drop in the yeast.

In a separate bowl, combine all wet ingredients, then add to dry ingredients. Use a wooden spoon to mix the dough till it forms a sticky mass.

Using a dough hook attachment, mix the sticky mass of dough on low speed (3 min), then increase speed to high and knead till dough is elastic (it will still be sticky).

2017-09-19_19.40.03.jpg

Lightly oil a bowl and dump the dough in. Turn the dough around so that both sides are covered in oil. Cover the bowl with a damp tea towel and let it proof in a pre-heated 35°C oven for 1.5 hours.

After first proof, place the dough onto a lightly-floured surface. Flatten the dough to release trapped air bubbles, and shape into a log. Divide the dough into 4 portions.

Using your palm, flatten each dough ball into a long strip and roll it up.

2017-09-19_19.56.18.jpg

Flatten the roll again into another long strip and roll it up again, starting from the other side.

Pinch close the seams and place the twice-rolled portion into a buttered loaf pan (I don’t have one, so I used a glass dish). Repeat till all four are side-by-side in the pan.

2017-09-19_20.11.13.jpg

Return the pan to the 35°C oven to proof again till rolls are doubled in size. Toss a damp towel into the oven beside the pan to provide humidity.

2017-09-19_21.02.44.jpg

Bake at 175°C for 15 min. Check. If the rolls are browning too much on top, place a sheet of aluminium foil over the pan and carry on baking for another 15 min.

IMG_20170919_205553.jpg

Brush the tops of the loaf with a little heavy cream for a glistening finish.

2017-09-19_21.11.22.jpg

Before slicing the loaf, let it cool completely to room temperature. Otherwise all the fluffy structures might collapse/be ruined and you won’t be able to note the lovely crumb structure in your slices.

Alright! I couldn't wait! So I half cut with a bread knife and half pulled it apart with my hands.

effect_1505850104825.jpg

UPDATE: Here's a slice that I made after the bread cooled down. Enjoy that crumb! =P

IMG_20170919_220248.jpg

Close up:

IMG_20170919_221624.jpg

I cut a horizontal cross-section for more detail. This is fun! =D

IMG_20170919_221529.jpg

Such soft, fluffy happiness! With a dollop of salted butter, it's a wonder! =DD

IMG_20170919_213146.jpg

The weekly Steemit Culinary Challenge is the brainchild of @woman-onthe-wing. Current sponsors @gringalicious and @sirwinchester and recent sponsor @englishtchrivy, as well as all the contestants and upvoters/resteemers/word-spreaders past and present have helped to boost this contest into one of the most popular cooking contests on Steemit.

P.S. @progressivechef’s super well-organised and fun Steemit Iron Chef Contest is another..while still a young initiative, it is gaining steady and rapid ground.

Sort:  

Yowzah! I'm definitely going to make this! I've never heard of Hokkaido bread, and I'm so glad you've shared your fabulous creation with us! It clearly has a lot of steps, but it seems to be absolutely worth every minute! I can see the light and fluffy crumb, pillowy and soft! Excellent work friend! Enjoy that bread!

hehe it is worth the work! You won't regret making this one...just be sure to have a tub of salted butter on hand..the combo is really sublime =D

I just updated the post with more and better crumb pics (after I managed to slice the cooled-down bread).. Enjoy!! =)

Crikey now that's a loaf and a half! I don't even think I've seen Hokkaido Milk Bread before, but now you've got me really wanting to make one and taste it... It looks heavenly torn apart fresh out the oven, with butter melting... oh my oh my oh my! I'm impressed that even though you've never made one before it turned out so beautifully. Your step-by-step photos and presentation style are a joy to look through, they really are. Excellent bread entry @foodie.warrior, the crust looks slightly chewy and the crumb light and airy! Though your first entry was wonderful too, I'm happy you decided to bake something else because it's truly a work of art. Surely your whole family will remember this loaf for the rest of their lives ;-) Good luck on this one!

Also, happy 27th birthday :-)

hehe now you've seen one!! You sure know your breads..the crust is has a delightfully chewy bite to it, and the crumb is light, airy, and oh-so-soft..it really is a little like a pillow! Please do make it (not sure if you could substitute out the sugar and still get the same texture, but it should not be too big a difference, what d'ya think?) , tear it apart and snack it with melting salted butter! You'll really be in bread heaven! hehe

I did a lot of reading and even watched a couple youtube videos to see the techniques and ingredients before making my own version..I guess that helped in the success. =D

I'm glad you like my step-by-step photos and presentation..knowing that encourages me to keep on doing the positive parts of my posts.. <3

..and Thank you for the birthday wish! You're one of the first to wish me! =DD

Wow this looks really fluffy. I tried making it before but I don't know if it was because the cream and milk was too rich, mine always turned out too stoogy.

Aww..I'm in no position to help you since it's the first time I made this! My dough was rather sticky at first..which could be a little exasperating to work with..but after the second proof, it was easy to handle w only a little bit of flour.. Beginner's luck must have been awake that day and smiled on me, because my baked loaf turned out great! =D

Hmmm 26 years and 364 days...That's really a creative way to announce your birthday my friend! Happy birthday @foodie.warrior! Wish you health and lots of success ahead!
I will have my wife try this Hokkadido milk bread, looks so yummy!

Hehe thank you, dear PG!! Has @creativewoman tried it? I want to remake this one soon hoho

@creativewoman has made herself super busy by entering in so many contest everywhere my friend...now she is overloaded trying to keep up. I told her to take it easy and don't rush like that. Hope she listen!
I will remind her of this one, I really wanted to taste it!

hehe yes, it can get a little taxing entering in so many contests, cos creativity and originality is necessary...unless you're a natural Ideator. =)

Of course, the strain is likely insignificant when compared to running a contest which consistently receives double digit entries!!!

I hope you both don't burnout anytime soon..the power couple (PG & CW) must stay charged!! <3<3

Happiest Birthday pretty lady!

Here is hoping many more happy returns 💃💃💃

And I loooooveee Hokkaido sweet loaf! Indonesians bake them often! So fluffy, so soft, so sweet.

Whenever I go to Japan tho, I haven't seen them there! So weird 😅

Thanks dear @thekitchenfairy!! So cool that Indonesians have their own version and bake it often..they really know how to live life!! hehe I haven't seen it in Japan too (only typical Japanese milk bread)!! But, I've never been to Hokkaido itself..maybe it's only available there =P

Ah no. They don't have their own version. I believe Indonesians baked using recipes they found on the net and/or cook book @foodie.warrior

Hehe very resourceful of them then! Then again, I read up on many recipes on the net and then made my version too hehe

Steamed buns and milk bread?! You keep making some of my favorite things! Happy birthday! (We're the same age, hehe)

hehehe we're the same age and we enjoy similar food items =D High five, dear!

That looks so good! I have to try this.

Yes, you do!! If you your dough behaves and becomes a fluffy pillow, you won't be sorry you did! =D

Looks like your loaf really caught the eye of @jaymorebeet, as she's awarded you 4th prize for this whopper! Congratulations @foodie.warrior!

Hehe I'm glad I did a second entry after all! =D

Looks delicious. Must try. Resteemed and upvoted

It's addictively scrumptious!! You must! Thanks @snooway! =D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by foodie.warrior from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49