"Bitcoin mainly used by criminals" - Through the eyes of an oldie

123.jpgYesterday I had the opportunity to have one of those eye-opening conversations, with an American (age group I would say 60+) who shared his knowledge, thoughts and views on bitcoin and cryptocurrency in general.

line2.png

Hi

Yesterday I had the opportunity to have one of those eye-opening conversations, with an American (age group I would say 60+) who shared his knowledge, thoughts and views on bitcoin and cryptocurrency in general.

His beliefes amazed me as I stood there completly speachless. Let me underline that I personally considered him overall very well educated, having decent knowledge about economy, politics and psychology. Could be useful to add that he also used to work for the U.S government too. Maybe that's why his views on this particular subject were as such as well.

He amazed me with 2 statements:

A) "Cryptocurrencies will definetly replace current fiat system as there is so many benefits coming from this technology."

Upon hearing that, I was like 'great, someone with proper knowledge'. Unfortunatelly what he told next ruined my first impression.

B) "Currently bitcoin is being used mostly by criminals".

That statement blew my mind. A year ago I wouldnt be surprissed but now? In 2018? Perhaps for some of you it's nothing new to hear similar staments and know how to handle the conversation from that point on?

Do you know anyone who has similar strong anti-crypto opinions? Perhaps someone within your own family or from the elder generation as the American did? Or even worse: your wife hates it.

Share with me your experiences :)

Cheers
Piotr

Sort:  

Cryptocurrencies market share will grow, but will never replace sovereign fiat, because taxes (including fines and tariffs) will mostly be payable via sovereign fiat.
Regarding his second statement, he probably knows.

perhaps im just to naive to believe that just a small fraction of population in cryptospace is using it for criminal purposes. damn

thx for your comment @stimialiti

I did not claim a thing about it.
I wrote that the person you talked to knows more than I about what he talked, because I know that I do not know about it.

You got a 66.67% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 20.00% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

Hey @stimialiti, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 25.00% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

This comment has received a 81.97 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti.

Bids above 0.1 SBD may get additional upvotes from our trail members.

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 15.75% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 50.00% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

Hey @stimialiti, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 30.00% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

People saying that cryptos are mostly used by criminals have an agenda. They want to get control over it, or they want it to go away because they got a vested intrest in e.g. banks. Also, it's possible they are retarded, or a combination of the two :)

Hi @frankvvv

Im very sorry for such a late reply. Ive been away for couple of days and now Im trying to catch up with all comments.

Indeed it's always all about power, money and control.

Yours
Piotr

Hi Piotr, Yeah, that's the "narrative" washing over the minds of Americans and anyone who watches American television and film programming around the world these days. And the word "criminals" is generally the corrupt wall street banker types and of course the governments themselves in so many cases, such as paying their spies, etc. I've seen countless stories in the media/press on that over the last year or two. Of course this "negative narrative" is all smoke and mirror propaganda to manipulate and hold down the growth of the market to give them, the central bankers running the governments, media narratives, etc., time to play catch up until they can create their own crypto currencies, which they can control in a similar fashion as they do the current fiat monopoly money.

Longer i live more im convinced that living in US and Asia must be very different.

Thx for your comment @positivesynergy

ps. have you tried to find any of my recent emails? just wondering.

yours,Piotr

I'm sure life is different, just as it is from North to South America, but certainly they must have the same narratives there in Asia. I see the same thing all through the English translations of Asian news too. In fact S. Korea and China may be the worst from what I see to throw hyped negative news narratives out there tank the markets to buy in low for another run.

On the emails I looked and haven't gotten any. Maybe the GDPR thing filtered them out. Have you herd of the news mega laws the EU wants to inflict on the global internet? I've thought of doing a post on it, as it makes GDPR seem like nothing. You think steemcleaners were tough, They want to tax all source copywrited material, if it passes next month.

I guess you don't intend to ever reply to my other comment on your other post that I posted and asked you about before 6 days ago. It should still be easy to find in your Replies section. It was https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@positivesynergy/re-cryptopiotr-what-s-your-view-on-bots-promotion-tool-or-necessary-evil-let-me-share-my-personal-view-20180525t072722417z It seems one of very few you never replied to of the millions you had there and did reply to. I have to admit it takes away much of the reason for commenting.

hi @positivesynergy

i just read your message. sorry for getting back 3 days after you posted it.

Do you think GDPR could in any way affect emails?

Have you herd of the news mega laws the EU wants to inflict on the global internet?

i never did. If you would ever write a post about it then please let me know.

They want to tax all source copywrited material, if it passes next month.

im not sure if i understand. sorry that i didnt reply your previous post. Somehow i've missed it. will do it early morning tomorrow.
Thanks for reminding me about it and providing me with a link. Appreciate.

I have to admit it takes away much of the reason for commenting.

i understand. unfortunatelly steemit doesnt allow to manage comments/replies easily and it's easy to skip someone's comment (like i did with yours).

ps.
i noticed that you completly stopped posting on steemit. such a shame :(

cheers, piotr

Hi Piotr,

You mentioned,

unfortunatelly steemit doesnt allow to manage comments/replies easily and it's easy to skip someone's comment.

What? These are two of Steemit's strongest data feeds, which makes it very easy to track all Replies and Comments, each with their own section. Surely, you know that, Piotr, as they are some of the main options on Steemit. Nearly 2 months on Minds and I finally found today where they've added the same options there, because Steemit was the first I know of to do it and Minds wanted to compete in that space too.

On the email issues, the GDPR has effected a lot of emails. This first change has been a real pain in the ass to deal with. So the next one has me considering what to do without much of the internet as we know it today, given the lengths they want to impose and censor the internet in favor of big corporations with the biggest financial muscle.

The law is the proposed EU copyright reform/expansion. It will especially effect Steemit and all social media, if it passes the vote in the US on June 20/21st.We will no longer be able to use anything copyrighted without paying some sort of tax and everything we upload will have to go through strict filters. If it passes, I am hoping they will give social media companies time to implement the censor machine filters. I know YouTube already has one running and they were the ones the first study was largely associated with. It has been censoring, removing and shutting down a lot of the best You Tube content and channels the last few years.

Here are some videos talking about this new law:

https://juliareda.eu/eu-copyright-reform/censorship-machines/
https://saveyourinternet.eu/

Honestly in my opinion notification system on @positivesynergy and managing comments is definetly weak point of Steemit. And I think you introduced me to busy.org showing that they front end is way more user friendly.

Personally I found it very hard to manage replies here. Maybe Im just doing something wrong but I've read number of posts where people were complaining about same problem. I just dont think it's very user friendly. I dont even know how to select that some comment was 'unread' in case if I want to reply to it later.

On the email issues, the GDPR has effected a lot of emails.

I didnt know. Thanks for that info. Does it mean that emails between people who usually were in touch are not even going through?

It has been censoring, removing and shutting down a lot of the best You Tube content and channels the last few years.

That's just very sad news. I didnt know that things are that bad.

But internet is more than just US and EU. Will China and other asian countries follow in your opinion and force their own social media platform to adjust EU regulations?

ps. you didnt post anything in over 3 weeks. Did you completly give up on steemit?

Yours
Piotr

I think you have a hard time managing the replies in part because you get so many millions sometimes. And I believe many of those may be bots, given I saw on the competition one you did on AI and Blockchain had a load of bot comments.

But really, Comment and Reply management system on Steemit is one of the few things that really set Steemit apart from all the other social media I know and use, such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest, Yours, and especially Minds. But Minds is gaining fast and I'm sure has nearly doubled the membership of Steemit as fast as they are growing, if not more. For example Minds started to see some issues with bots gaming the system, like Steemit, and quickly changed the algorithm within a few days to take away all incentive. I have seen that and so many other debates rage on Steemit of all the problems they have for more than a year and they have yet to fix any of them. Yeah, maybe they lowered the power down system to 13 weeks except 5 steem, but that's still ponzi scheme scam territory and the number one reason I am not posting now for nearly a month.

It's simple as hell to at least find replies form specific people on Steemit. You simply go down the list and check which one. When I told you I had commented, I even told you how many days before it was, so all you had to do was go though to that period past and look for my username.

Hi again @positivesynergy

Have you herd of the news mega laws the EU wants to inflict on the global internet? I've thought of doing a post on it, as it makes GDPR seem like nothing.

Im waiting till 21st of June to learn more about that mentioned issue. One more time THANK YOU for bringing it up to my attention.

Indeed using bots makes it even harder. The biggest challange I have is that I move around a lot quite often and every now and then I dissapear for 2-4 days and catching up is a hard thing. I will always do my best to reply all your comments as I really value them a lot. Sorry if I ever miss any.

ps.
Can you please try to send me any email or write on skype? I would love to be able to re-connect with you as I have some business ideas I wanted to discuss with you.

Yours,
Piotr

Also, EU laws effect the world... Asia included. That's how things generally work online. To me it seems China may be the ones largely behind all of this, given they seem to be the most advanced in censorship, at least from what I am told and see talk of. Who knows though.

Very true. To some degree. Asia is not as strict with almost anything as europe is. Here people still sell shit everywhere without even having their business registered. Hardly anyone still pays taxes. They have long way to go to catch up (luckily).

Thank you for the contribution of Steem. 🙏🏼

What the man said is actually correct. From the first statement to the second statement. It is true that crypto will definitely replace fiat system in subsequent years to come and most people involved in it now are using it for criminal acts now. There are situations like that where you see people being scammed of their hard earn portfolio they been building for some time and politicians using it to move huge some of money from one country to another just because many people have not yet understood how the blockchain network works. The man is really very well educated like you said.

hi @caesar816

Thank you for your kind comment. I love how responsive you are.

im glad you shared with me. Somehow i always believed that majority of investors (who treat bitcoin as a store of value) have nothing to do with criminal world. I still prefer to believe in it ;) maybe Im just naive

cheers mate,
Piotr

Well, I guess cryptocurrencies in general are perfect for criminal activities. Bitcoin obviously is not the one used by criminals though. Privacy is definetly not the strongest feature of bitcoin.

hi @cryptohumster

I didnt hear from you in a while. Im glad to see that you're still active on steemit. I noticed that you created post about hackers on blockchain. Gonna read it now. i've been thinking about this subject a lot lately.

Privacy is definetly not the strongest feature of bitcoin.

Agree 100%

Take care buddy, hope to hear more from you
Piotr

Lol... I feel ots true.. over here.. guys are selling fake bitcoins :(

I don't even know how they get their hands on it. I just feel bad for those on the other end.

So cryptocurrency might soon be the home ground of all cybercrimes though.

Its just a thought

hi @aluyeah

thanks for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate it a lot

So cryptocurrency might soon be the home ground of all cybercrimes though.

It crossed my mind several times. i thought that blockchain cybersecurity companies will have their chances here

cheers
Piotr

most people that say that are just repeating what there hear in the media...
im not saying criminals are not using bitcoin because that would be stupid, everything from hippies to icos, and the silk road to name some criminal activity..

thats just a drip in the bucket compared to all humans using bitcoin/altcoins/tokens...

idk maybe he should of started with the second statement first.

hi @eyemon1

I completly agree with you
It's "just a drip in the bucket .

thank you for commenting, appreciate

yours,
Piotr

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 13.55% upvote!
I was summoned by @crypto.piotr. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 4.75% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @crypto.piotr!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48