Craft Adventures: Adjusting Messy Bun Hat Patterns for Dreadlocks

in #crochet6 years ago

Things have gotten a little crazy with this crochet habit. I've not worn this out yet but it is currently the only comfortable solution for my dreads to do a high ponytail. I adapted a youtube tutorial on how to make a messy bun hat, making the hole much larger for my hair.

For those who understand crochet speak, I changed the pattern instead of starting with a standard chain of 24 to make the smaller hole featured in many tutorials out there up to like a chain of 36 or 40 I believe and it was still tight. I just followed the directions for increasing the rounds, adjusting to make it fit to my head. It was an adventure, a blurry one at this point. Eventually I'll make another for John with pictures and a tutorial to share.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Craft Adventures: More Yarn, More Projects
Finding Peace in a Crochet Needle: Thoughts on Learning a New Hobby
Crocheting Adventures: Learning the Basics (Step by Step Photos)

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 7
Life Hacks: Citrus Peel Vinegar Cleaning Product with 2 Ingredients
Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 6

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I like the unique niche quality of this garment. I bet its nice to have the dreads out of your face when you need them to be. @hempress is starting an organic fabric/plant dyed clothing company right now. She just did a post with her modeling some cloths from one of her seamstress friend's line.

She should smuggle me some fancy yarn next year then :)

I will see what we can find! Thank you for supporting her, she has a few garments she is finishing up she will be posting soon as well. I am out of votes for the day, I will get this comment tomorrow night.

I also upvoted her post, I've been watching her adventures from afar :)

Nice work looks good. I attempted to knit once ended up with stab holes in my fingers and a big knot haha 💯🐒

I used to knit but couldn't wrap my head around anything other than a scarf. They were clumsy honestly now that I can use a crochet needle I feel silly for knitting. Especially cause I can do knit stitches with crochet needles lol

Good work guess I need some more practice then haha. I get onto it at some point maybe 💯🐒

Crazy hair, gotta love it! And your bun-hat looks super cool! Good to see things are back to todo tranquilo en Acapulco. Keep steeming on!

Thank you! It was worth the effort, I took it out and wore it today. The looks I got were awesome lol

Loading...

Awesome! What a great idea for the dreds!

It'd be great if you could join our Ultimate Crochet Contest run by @foxyspirit and me.

SIGNATURE.png

Pst... Don't worry... you're not alone with this habit :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32