Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 6

in #photography6 years ago

So this thing is easily one of my favorite parts of the trip to this park. I've seen photos of these things but never in real life and never one this cool looking. It's called a temazcal and it's been used by Mexicans long before the Spaniards ever arrived here for therapeutic purposes.

Sometime, hopefully very soon, I intend to try out one of these ceremonies. In this post online I was reading about the ceremony, it's more like a doctor visit in some ways and less like some religious or spiritual thing.

It's next to this creepy pyramid that seems to be funded by the government and NASA according to it's sign. Not sure the purpose but it seems overbuilt and under used.

Creepy building, awesome Mexican sweat bath house, awesome location. I wonder what, if anything, that Casa de la Terra is used for.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 5
Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 4
Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Photo Tour Part 3

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Cotton Candy Colors in April
Kombucha Chronicles: Labeling Adventures and Selling Kombucha Locally
Acapulco Sunrise: Early Morning Glorious Spring Shots

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

So, according to that Temazcal article you linked to, 20 years ago someone decided Acapulco just wasn't hot enough & they needed to bring back the sweat bath? (The benefits do sound great but the price is way too high for me.)

YESSSS. And I think it's worth trying.

The sweat pods look great! Yer not sure about the pyramid oddly places hey. You'll have to try building a pod at some point, for the next Acapulco maybe? 💯🐒

I will try this one to be honest, it's too cool not to. I'll try and ignore the building haha

I'll look forward to it if I make the next Anarchapulco 💯🐒

Hey if you're interested in doing that ceremony, there's a place in Bonfil that Robyn and I stayed at called Jardin Secrecto. They also do mescalin ceremonies as well. The name of the guy who runs the place is named Julio. We we're offered to participate in the ceremony but it was only in Spanish and we didn't think we would get the full experience. Julio seemed to respect the practice as a spiritual ceremony and not a theraputic one. Last time I checked he is on the lookout for a Northern Mexican Shamman as they only have an american shamman for mescaline at the moment.

It's like 400 pesos for a ceremony there and it's in buggy hell bonfil, I'm a little biased but i hate being itchy and most of the year they feast on me there. I really like the one at that park it's only drawback being it's by the creepy pyramid. I'll try it though. I personally don't consider psychadelic experiences even ones like aya or mescalin to be "spiritual" necessarily, I personally see them from a therapeutic almost scientific point of view, the ceremonies even the tame ones are a bit much for what I want out of those experiences.

great photography.......
thanks to share

have a nice travel

you are a great photographer, thanks for sharing..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50