Life Hacks: Citrus Peel Vinegar Cleaning Product with 2 Ingredients

in #recipe6 years ago

So I recently got on Pinterest, which is a bit crazy with how trendy it is with the DIY community from what I can tell. This post isn't about Pinterest but a quick life hack I found whilst scrolling that stuck with me so hard I had to act on it immediately, by saving my citrus peels instead of composting them. The hack was to steep them in a jar in plain vinegar for a few weeks, resulting in the glowing product shown above. Yesterday I harvested my first batch of the stuff and I'm already hooked, truth be told.

It smells more like oranges than vinegar. I was considering starting to make my own citrus oil cleanser anyways, this is a great much cheaper shortcut to a likely better product. If you use citrus and have peels around, start collecting them in the fridge in a bag or a jar. I like a jar because I can just fill to the top with regular white vinegar when it seems "full enough".

Here we have two new batches already started. I've always had a love for vinegar for cleaning just about everything since I was a kid and this takes it to another level without much work and it actually saves money.

I left it for 2 weeks but it can go for realistically as long as you want. If you use good tasting vinegar you can use this in cooking too as a citrus infused vinegar. I'll likely do that with my next batch, the first batch went straight into my vinegar cleaning spray bottle.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Fermentation Adventures: Apple Cider Vinegar Using the Mother!
Apple Cider Vinegar Adventures: Starting my First ACV Ferment!
Apple Cider Vinegar Adventures: First Fermentation Finished! Thoughts and Photos

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 6
Acapulco Sunsets: Cotton Candy Colors in April
Adventures Around Acapulco: Parque Papagayo Massive Park Photo Tour 5

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

Much better thant the chemical stuff!!! Thanks for sharing this!

We Are The-Resistance:
We have seen that @grumpycat or his alt @madpuppy has flagged your post.
You are not alone. He also:

  • flags innocent people and calls them "collateral damage"
  • tries to impose his rules by using his SP on those weaker than him
  • rejects all diplomatic proposals presented
    @the-resistance has upvoted you to help heal the damage he has done to you in an effort to protect people like yourself.
    Join our bot we-resist to help protect others ....https://we-resist-bot.herokuapp.com
    Come to meet with the community ... https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

@GrumpyCat: you can avoid ever seeing this message again when you STOP attacking innocents.
Love: @the-resistance

Do you wait until the jar is full to put any vinegar in, or do you put a little in at the beginning so they can soak partially? I am just wondering if you are supposed to dry the peals or get them wet. This is a great idea for a cleaning product.

I havent thought about a presoak but I can't imagine it'd hurt. I think the amount of peels I used in the first jar might have been a bit overkill so I'm experimenting with this next batch with slightly less so I could have two batches instead of one really full jar.

Sweet (no pun intended lol). I look forward to seeing the fruits of your experiments. Blessings.

I love the color of this concoction, very vibrant. Neat that it smells more of oranges than vinegar too. Really diggin' your new photos at the bottom of the post as well! Useful life hack you came across <3 I need to start saving onion peels and avocado pits/skins for dyes too.

The color was a bit surprising but that's kinda how I knew to harvest I think.

This is a great idea! Won't the peels start to brown or rot at some point, though?

In the fridge as long as they're in a sealed container they keep nearly perfectly and in the jar they ferment a tiny bit and soften and lighten in color but that's it.

cool idea! im sure this would smell great :)

It does, I've used it a fair amout. Worth trying, I'll make it as long as I have those things.

Hi @lily-da-wine, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thanks for the share and the photos that is a genius idea I'm gonna have to do that when I get the chance. ive got some lemon essential oil made out of the peal and it is so legit it is a perfect scent.

Yeah this saves you the essential oil because the vinegar strips it out.

This post has received a 7.95 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45