Finding Peace in a Crochet Needle: Thoughts on Learning a New Hobby

in #crochet6 years ago

In an attempt to chill out and find something to do in those times I don't want to physically do anything but happen to be very bored. I've been known to scroll Facebook and honestly I'm not interested in doing that anymore. I took up crocheting honestly at the worst time in the middle of the fork and have since gotten back into it.

One of my many recent adventures in learning the craft. My learning process has been a combination of the internet and playing around. Not everything goes as planned but nearly everything I make turns out functional and is helpful so I can't complain. I keep to small projects to keep me interested and keep me switching things up.

I've learned the single stick, something called a half double stitch and the double stitch. It's all coming pretty easily and it's been therapeutic as it's helping me work on kicking some bad, nervous habits.

If you've got anxiety and you like making things, try this. It's cheap and surprisingly calming.

Even John's getting into it, purchasing me yarn and making requests for things to hold his hair back.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Crocheting Adventures: Learning the Basics (Step by Step Photos)
Crocheting Adventures: Hair Ties and More Step by Step Photos
You Gotta Dread Your Heart Before Your Dread Your Head: Lily's Dready Journey Explained

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Distracting Colors
Tacos con huitlacoche Photo Shoot and Thoughts on Corn Smut
Acapulco Nights: Half Moon Shots

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I always wanted to learn , just didn’t have time and never got around to it .

I don't have the time and I still do, it's good to do during those times of the day where you don't want to do anything physical but want to be productive. Good way to relax.

I’m going to make it a point to start next week :)

Glad to hear.

I tried, I just never had the patience for crochet, knitting, embroidery, any of that stuff. Macrame, big ropes I can see and handle easily... that is more my speed lol!

I feel that way about knitting and emroidery, which i used to do. I thought crochet was the same way but its honestly way more versatile and fun honestly than the other two.

Great post! I love seeing new fiberartists creating their visions. Small things are useful and it feels so good to use what you make! Thanks for sharing.

Hey thanks for the comment! it's been a fun adventure so far!

Wow amazing tutorial with really great pictures thanks for this

wow very excellent post Thanks for sharing i will done upvote..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46