Crocheting Adventures: Learning the Basics (Step by Step Photos)

in #photography7 years ago

DSC_0723.jpeg

I've been intending to learn to crochet for years and I finally decided to do it this week. It was almost spur of the moment while I was at the craft store where I went for sewing needle and thread and left with the supplies to get started, some yarn and a few needles. I watched a few minutes of YouTube video and got started with the intention of making things to tie back my dreads. I've made several things at this point, this post is meant to show the simple steps to get started crocheting that I learned to do what little I do with the craft so far.

DSC_0722.jpeg

I finished this today and am currently wearing it although it's a lot shorter than expected. I made John one too, I'll share the pictures of it in his hair later on as well as some photos of my hair with the purple one. My camera picked up the colors weird, the color that appears blue is actually a purple in real life.

DSC_0726.jpeg

It starts with a slip not and a chain. This thing is going to be a hair band that will go all the way around my head.

DSC_0728.jpeg

It starts with a little loop, grab a little yarn...

DSC_0730.jpeg

And pull it through....

DSC_0731.jpeg

DSC_0732.jpeg

You make the chain as long as you need to for what you're making. A blanket would take a long chain. I intend on using the rest of my yarn to make a baby blanket for my newborn neighbor.

DSC_0733.jpeg

DSC_0734.jpeg

To start a new row, find the second stitch and put the needle through...

DSC_0735.jpeg

DSC_0736.jpeg

DSC_0737.jpeg

Wrap thread around and pull it through that first loop only. There should be two loops left on the hook.

DSC_0738.jpeg

More thread.....

DSC_0739.jpeg

Pull it through both....

DSC_0740.jpeg

And you're left with one again! Just go to the next loop and continue down the line!

DSC_0741.jpeg

DSC_0725.jpeg

Both surprisingly simple and suprisingly relaxing. Stay tuned for more Crocheting Adventures

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Adventures into Mexican Markets Craft Store Adventures
Hard Times with Hot Glass
The Tough Crack but Don't Break

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Adventures Around Acapulco: Mid City Car Show 1
House Hunting Adventures: 2 Bedroom in Oceanic 2000 with Crazy Views
Anarchaforko Anarchpulco Fork Update: How to Fork on a Budget

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Great informative article and nice photos. However, I have no time for that. In Turkey, All housewives make gossip and crochet

I do it to chill out lol. It's helping me relax in this super stressful time getting ready for anarchaforko

That looks pretty cool. That seems pretty easy to do, so even I should be able to accomplish that. Be better for my crazy hair than these darned hairbands that pulls a lot of hair out upon removal. The colors look like Seahawks color. Guess your camera wanted it that way. :-)

Nice, It's my upvote you at upvote back and follback.

great shoot @lily-da-vine... i like it.. I want shoot like that, simple objects become amazing photos

Hey @Lily-da-vine Love the Green and Blue colors...very Mexico and bright! Such and awesome hobby that you can take anywhere too! When in doubt, my Mom still pulls out her Crochet. She makes GORGEOUS baby blankets as gifts which everyone loves cause its personal! Best of luck! ~Malissa

I'm going to make one for my neighbor, hopefully it goes well!

Make sure you post the final product. Would love to see!

amazing in learn to crochet for years. you patient.. good luck to you @lily -da-vine

nice works.....
U5dqwUoowxR8MrFT2FUjQsA35BHYUjV_1680x8400.jpg

DQmUvukWwVU7SeZnhRTAdao5cztuaKDqQk9Q4hHruCp1Gr7_640x480.png

photography and art combination is really marvelous

Hi @lilly-da-vine! Great post on crochet! Have you heard about the #NeedleworkMonday group that posts each Monday? If you use the tag, you get looped-in (pun intended) with many, many other needleworkers! Check it out. Hope to see you post there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54