ART MIX-UP CONTEST RESULTS | 01

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

I asked multidisciplinary artists to submit their genre-bending art work to me, and boy did they deliver! I was blown away by the 12 strong entries in the first Art Mix-Up Contest.


This challenge called for art that mixed genres, broke expectations, or tried to contribute something new to art forms that have been around for a long time. (FYI: All images from Unsplash)



To recap, here are the rules:


(1) Create a post sharing a piece of your own work (or a collaboration you played a key role in) that mixes 2 or more artistic genres! This might mean sharing a video, an image, writing, a sound clip, or something else (who knows!).

(2) Write at least 100 words describing the work and the artistic techniques at play

(3) Drop the link to your entry in the comments. This is the only way I accepted submissions!

(2) Extra credit: I’m always very interested in seeing documentation of your artistic process, and will award “extra credit” accordingly!


The winner is taking home 3sbd and 2 runner-ups are taking home 1sbd each. So, without further ado...



First place and 3sbd go to steemit newcomer @Zailecita, for her beautiful post: Intervención de cuerpo con poema.


@Zailecita truly delivers it all with this project. First, a beautiful poem, then an incredible photographic record of her work that uses natural elements to highlight human connection to ocean, moon, and land.

What is more, she writes beautifully (in Spanish, I took the time to translate and understand every word I was so captured by this project!) about her holistic process of documenting this writing as an intimate photographic journal. She is new here, and I would LOVE it if you would consider following her--she is someone who deserves to go far!


brogift.jpg


A runner-up slot and 1sbd go to @mandelsage for his incredible post: A Gift for My Brothers - Science/Maths meets Visual Art meets Creative Writing - Entry for Lily's Mixed Genre Contest.


@Mandelsage blew me away with two incredible images that he created for his brothers at the intersection of fractal design and creative writing. I can’t stop looking at his work because the layers of detail are mind-boggling. He is an extremely thoughtful, skilled artist who you should follow if you aren’t already!

Even more exciting, this post got an upvote from @curie! I will say that this post is on par with the quality I’ve seen from @mandelsage since I first started following him! I’m excited for the success of this post, and thrilled that the quality of work showing up for this contest is on this level!



A runner-up slot and 1sbd go to @huslein.slash for his post: How to Draw with Mixed Media Make Up Tools, Colored Pencils And Crayons (Bilingual)


@Huslein.slash hit it home for me with this masterpiece post that is an art tutorial done right in every way. Not only does he show incredibly detailed process photos, he also has a clear easy-to-follow writing styles in 2 languages! And, to cap it all off, he includes a video tutorial of the entire process at the very end of the post.

Although the art he makes is lovely, I really can’t get over the high-quality of documentation he is employing. I find myself wishing that more artists would follow suit! Follow him for more tutorials, everything he publishes is of exceptional value.


And there you have it! My TOP THREE ART-MIXERS!



Be sure to check out all of the other worthy entries!


ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 01 / Dream / by @mnallica
The Ballad of Fred and Ed by @hope-k
Stepping Outside the Dream by @jey-blue
And then I got a smack. by @anjkara
ESCAPISM by @mrbloom
Be proud of what you do by @ehisoria
Life of a Fish (Visual Poem) by @doctorlawyerjr
TV effects by @heathtyler
Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space by @jpgaltmiller


This was so much fun I’ll be doing it again! Check out the ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 02.



squigglebreak.jpg

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg



Sort:  

You are doing a phenomenal job here @lilyraabe. The effort and admiration oozes from your words!

You've done a great job bringing these authors/artists to light and you need to give yourself a huge pat on the back. I love to see this kind of creativity in my feed and I can't wait to see who you bring into the light next!

I really appreciate those kind words, thank you for stopping by to check out this post and these artists! Looking forward to seeing you around -- just released the 2nd version of this contest!

Ohhhh I feel so happy for your words on my post, I love the photography it is my way of him saying to the persons since I see the world, am very happy. Thank you @lilyraabe

I LOVED YOUR POST so much. More than happy to support your beautiful work. <3

Wow, some real good stuff. Thank you @lilyraabe for putting this Contest on. Lots of talented people here at Steemit

Thank you so much for checking it out -- ya there’s some amazing humans on this platform. :)

Your contest was a wonderful success @lilyraabe. I enjoyed all the entries. Keep steeming friend!

Thank you so much for checking it out! <3

Wow thank you so much. I can't believe you chose me be runner up.

DQmPKWdEBbbPpYcx3wi12WJCpygZTyJ3oeeEpGhkbHp45mB.jpeg

YOU’RE SO WELCOME, thank you for participating! :)

This post has received a 4.13 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thanks for the contest @lilyraabe. It was fun to take part.

cheers
Anj :D

Ooohhh... Runner up! Awesomesauce!

Lily, thanks for the opportunity and thank you for your very kind words in this post. I work hard at each of my pieces (some people who use fractals to create flashy images don't put much effort at all into the process) and it feels so good for this to be recognised! <3

Also, since I got curated by @curie, I'd like to pay it forward just a little bit... So, I'm going to choose 3 favourites out of the other participants and give them each 1SBD.

Congrats to the other two winners by the way! Especially yours, @zailecita ... Beautiful!! You truly deserved 1st place.

You are AWESOME, thank you so much for participating with such a thoughtful, original posting! It truly set the bar for me early on in this contest! And AMAZING idea to pay the love forward!!! :)

Ohhh @mandesalgeI feel so happy for your words thank you.

Amazing results here! It is so cool to see cross-overs of art forms - and I'm also very happy to see they are active Steemians! Great job on making them visible to us too @lilyraabe! :-)

Thank you so much for checking them out! There’s some really amazing work happening on this platform, it’s really fun to be able to highlight it! :)

You got a 6.67% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @lilyraabe!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53