The Ballad of Fred and Ed

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20161113_150340-ANIMATION.gif

Fred had lived upon the farm
For almost his whole life.
He wound up with a colt named Ed
Instead of a filly wife.

Ed arrived in a truck one day,
And much to Fred's distress,
He ate up everything in sight
And always made a mess.

"Shut up," said Fred. "You bray too much."
To that fresh Ed said, "Neigh."
The two commenced to tussle, then
The farm wife brought them hay.

As years and deers passed by them both,
Old Fred got tired and sad.
He realized that Ed had been
The only friend he'd had.

And as his life came to an end
Fred leaned against the barn & said,
"You've always been a pain in the rump,
But I love you, rowdy Ed."


Poem and photo animation by me, @hope-k!

@lilyraabe's Art Mix-Up Contest can be found at this link: https://steemit.com/contest/@lilyraabe/art-mix-up-contest-or-01

I was immediately interested in this challenge because I always use my own images to illustrate my stories and poems. This time I decided to take it up a notch. Why not add animation?

One day I was on a walk and saw two horses at play in a pasture and took many photos of them. I downloaded an app that makes gifs and put a series of the pictures in it. The animation made me wonder about the horses lives, and Fred and Ed were born.

Sort:  

This is so awesome! I LOVE the idea of using your own photos to make a GIF to illustrate your poetry. This is also the first entry, and I’m REALLY excited about it. <3 Thank you for submitting! Don’t forget to drop the link over on the contest post!!

Thank you, Lily! It was fun and I look forward to reading the other entries. 😀

Congratulations @hope-k! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76