Be proud of what you do

in #poetry6 years ago

FB_IMG_15196071197455188.jpg

It is foolishness to be shameful of what is gainful
Many a great man have been reduced to cinders,
Manipulated, frustrated, solemnly hindered
Prevented, obstructed, solely hampered
By this so great a foe.

Be proud of your work,
Be one with the ground and dirt
Plunging the hoe , cutlass slashing
Clothes drenched with the sweet sweat of labour
Basking in the glory of earth's savour
Flowing in successive rhythm with the farmers song.

Be proud of your work,
Be one with the nail and hammer
Fixing the nail, smashing the hammer
Sawing with vigour, soaked in the aroma of wood and sawdust
Creating, making, forming anything delivered from the minds crust
In harmony swings the carpenters hammer.

Be proud of your work ,
Be one with the fishes and the sea
Swinging the line, deep into the depths of the sea
Catching the fish, hook, line and sinker.

Be proud of your profession
Work with quick precision
Make shameless decisions
Because it is foolishness to be shameful of what is gainful.

FB_IMG_15196071197455188.jpg

I have never really done this before merging poetry with my drawings. Yes I'm a poet but i can also draw, i love drawing but there's no much time to draw.
My father is a blacksmith. We make knives,and other things for my village but now the job isn't that good anymore. I drew that drawing of swords so i and my dad could make them. I know one day we will surely make them.

The drawing above is a simple sketch made by me with a hb pencil on paper. This drawing means a lot to me.
I wrote this poem when i was been ridiculed for being the son of a blacksmith.

Sort:  

Wow, this is a beautiful entry, the sentiment is so personal and I love that the drawing and poem both feed into a personal experience and story. Amazing, thank you for entering this. :)

Thanks so much for having me

Wow I'm really inspired by your passion and zeal.... I so much love your poem.... Inspires me to be always proud of what I do for a living...

Thank you bro

Beautiful poem ! And I love the designs of these swords. I would look forward to see how they will look like in real when your father makes them :) Thank you for sharing your creative work @ehisoria

It's my pleasure. Thank you for having me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87