The Story of Juan Pip

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Moving to Mexico has been an absolutely amazing experience. The people, the climate, the ocean, the scenery, the fresh produce, the seafood, and so much more! So wonderful. So many wonderful experiences! All wonderful, in fact, except for one.

As my first rainy season here approached, a new neighbor moved in next door.

A tiny frog had moved into the tree right outside of my bedroom window. And, I probably would have never ever known he was living there had it not been for his incredibly loud voice.

Every evening, that frog would start his racket. Chirping out a loud "Pip" every 2 seconds, relentlessly. Every 2 seconds. For the entire night. Without pause. Without taking a break. Without end.

I remember laying there trying to sleep, my eyes wide open, feeling like I was losing my grip on sanity one shrill "Pip" at a time.

I tossed and turned. I tried sleeping with ear phones. I tried smothering my ears with pillows.

Yet, the more I tried to ignore him, the louder he seemed to get. This went on for days and days. I was tired and cranky. I was out of patience.

I dreaded the nights. I dreaded that frog.

I debated getting ear plugs and drowning out all sounds. And, I would have if I didn't want to be able to hear other things, especially, in case of emergency.

I tried to tell myself to ignore him.

Just ignore him. Focus on something else. IGNORE HIM!

But, I couldn't ignore him. I couldn't just not hear him. And, I started to hate him with a passion. I began to absolutely loathe that little frog.

Days turned into weeks. I had completely given up on trying to sleep nights. I was now sleeping during the day and working at night. I wore headphones and blasted music in my ears during the nights. I wanted to hear anything but that frog.

I started to lose touch with people because of the incredibly odd hours I was keeping.

"What do you mean you're sleeping during the day?" "What do you mean you can't sleep because of a frog?"

"Can't you just ignore him?"

I was starting to feel like my life was spinning out of control, all because of one little frog.

I decided to take a new approach. Things just couldn't go on this way any longer. Something needed to change.

So, I began learning about the little frog. Why was he doing this? What was this racket all about? Why!?

It turns out he was a Coqui frog. A male Coqui. And, he was actually making two sounds. A Co sound to ward off other males. And the shrill Qui sound to attract females.

He was just a lonely little guy looking for love.

So, I gave him a name. I named him Juan Pip. And, I made a story for him.

He had wandered and gotten lost. Now, he was in a strange land far far away(the city). He was alone in this strange place. There was only him. And, he felt incredibly lonely.

He so desperately just wanted to love and be loved.

He was filled with passion and longing. So much passion. So much, that it overflowed. He simply had to to express that passion.

The idea of finding true love consumed him. It took over his entire being.

Every night, filled with hope and passion, he was calling out for his love.

He was not giving up! He would find her! He would find her or die trying!

As the story of Juan Pip evolved so did my attitude towards him. I softened up. I started feeling a great compassion towards him. I started to have empathy for his longing, for his suffering. I started to admire his determination. I started to admire his passion.

Such a big sound coming from such a little frog. Such dedication to a hope, to a dream.

He was one determined little man!

I started to not feel quite as annoyed with him. Yes, he was loud, but it was for a reason.

How else was she going to hear him? How else would he reach her?

And, then I started to smile when I heard him start up in the evenings.

Juan Pip was up and ready to try again. He would try again tonight with all his might.

I started to wish him well. I started to root for him.

And, another thing started happening. I started sleeping at night.

Juan Pip no longer bothered me.

I was at peace.

--
I wanted to share this story to illustrate the incredible power of perspective. A simple shift in perspective can change the entire experience.

We all have a Juan Pip in our lives. We can choose to let Juan annoy and irritate us, or we can choose to try to find compassion for him.

Two things to always remember:

1. Hurt people hurt people.

2. We are the ones who cause our own suffering.

I hope you enjoyed this story.

-Akiroq Brost

yjmuh7819w.png

Check out my other articles:
Finding gratitude in each other.
Breaking Habits and Building New Ones.
The Difference Between Supporting Someone and Trying to Save Them.
Real People Do Real Things.
Defeating the Cycle of Psychological Violence Towards Yourself.
Shifting from a Scarcity Mindset to an Abundance Mindset.
Meditation for Beginners.
How I Got Rid of My Excuses and Started Living.
Who do you surround yourself with?
Simple Common Sense Ways to Happiness and Self-Love.
Getting to know yourself - A Journal Exercise.
How to Find Your Way Through the Impossible Maze of Struggle.
How to use boundaries to improve the quality of your life.
Negative Self-dialogue - An Exercise.
Strategies for Coping With Criticism in a Positive Way.
Stop Hiding Behind Your Excuses and Live Your Truth.
Create a Life You Love with the Powerful Intentions.
How Self-Acceptance Will Set You Free.
Create a Life of Peace Through Mindfulness.
Strategic Detachment.
How to Handle Negative Experiences in a Positive Way.
10 Steps to Living a More Meaningful Life.
Changing Perpectives.
It is OK to make mistakes.
Finding your "Why".
Does this serve you? Or does this harm you?
12 Strategies for Improving your Diet.
Developing a new relationship with fear.
Finding Self-acceptance.
How to Find Courage When You Don’t Have the Answers.
Eight ways to increase and maintain your self-confidence.
Tips and strategies to help you get a good night’s sleep.
What matters? A journey into Faith.
Finding your way back to yourself, reconnecting to love.

Sort:  

I love the story of Juan Pip. Such a productive way to turn a negative perception into a positive one, employing empathy and compassion for little Pip. I love it!

  1. Hurt people hurt people.
  2. We are the ones who cause our own suffering.

Indeed, I hope others will read this and take something from it. Thank you as always, for your uplifting message Akiroq 💕

💞 I feel like you really understand what I am trying to say and do here @futuremind.

Of course darling, we understand each other very well 🙂 💞

..and that is beautiful 💕

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.

Awww, thank you so much!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your continued support.

Congratulations @akiroq! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I'm glad that I read it till the end :)

Now, I will think about millions of Juans, maybe from a different perspective.

Thanks!
Yeah, compassion doesn't condone people's behavior. But, it will ease our suffering when dealing with difficult people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51