Cook With Us #17: Raw Soup & Salad {Cucumber Melon Gazpacho & Carrot, Squash & Lentil Sprout Salad with Peach Basil Dressing}

in #cookwithus6 years ago


Happy Friday everyone!  I had a client cancel this morning, so I am jumping on the extra time to share my entry for the wonderful @cookwithus contest this week.  This week the theme is raw food--perfect for all of us fruit and veggie lovers!  Of course I have to give a huge thank you to the main team @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for running what has become one of my favorite contests here on Steemit.  There are so many other contributors that make the contest great, so definitely check out the latest post to read about it and see all of the other cool people that keep the ship sailing!

The summertime is perfect for making raw meals!  Though I don't always do fully raw meals, I try to incorporate lots of uncooked elements in my dishes this time of year while everything is so fresh and vibrant.  From a meal prep perspective it can definitely save some time and energy, as well as help keep your kitchen cooler when you don't have to cook everything.  There are definitely some health benefits to eating more living foods, as well.  Certain nutrients can be degraded in the cooking process, so by keeping your foods fresh you retain some different nutrients than cooking those same foods.  I think it also gives you a really great connection to your food and where it comes from to eat it in its natural state.



One of the really neat things you can eat raw is sprouted beans and legumes!  You may have seen in some of my other posts recently sprouted mung beans and broccoli sprouts, which are two really easy and highly nutritious foods to include in your dishes.  This week I switched it up and sprouted lentils for my raw meal entry.



The process is pretty similar for most items that you can sprout.  The lentils I rinsed and then soaked in fresh water for about 8 hours.  I have the easy lids that allow water to drain out, but you can also use cheesecloth or something similar.  After soaking, rinse and drain out the excess water.  Generally the recommendation is to let the jar sit at a downward angle somewhere out of the way to let all of the water drain out during the sprouting process.  I usually just use the dish drain on the one side of my sink.  Repeat the rinsing and draining a few times a day until you get some cute little tails sprouting out.  Each variety may take a different amount of time, but these took about 4 days to get to the point where you can eat them raw or you can toss them in different cooked dishes.



Sprouting is a great way for anyone following a raw diet to still be able to consume a good source of protein and fiber.  The process also helps make some of the nutrients more bio-available than they would be when just cooking and eating lentils normally.  They have a really great crunchy texture, as well, so it is a nice element in a dish like the one I made that was mostly soft otherwise.



Because part of the point of eating raw foods or following a completely raw diet is to consume foods with the highest proportion of nutrients and life-giving forces as possible, it is also important to know the source of those foods and choose locally grown produce.  Most fruit and vegetables start to lose nutrients as soon as they are picked, so grabbing things right from your garden, local farm or the farmers market is the best way to make sure those beautiful raw dishes are really packed with as much good stuff as possible!  And of course you will always get the best flavor from seasonal produce. :)

All of my produce (with the exception of a lemon) came from my favorite farm stands at my local farmers market.  My lentils and beans I buy from a locally owned co-op store, and the herbs I grabbed right from the garden.  I think I may have enjoyed the meal even more having that sense of pride in all of the beautiful local foods!  The cantaloupe was perfectly ripe and juicy, adding that sweet and musky undertone to the gazpacho.  Fresh jalapenos always seem spicier than store-bought ones for a great kick to a dish.  The tomatoes--oh gosh, I could go on all day with just how good they are right now.  Of course cucumbers are also wonderfully crisp and refreshing right now.

My salad was pretty simple, but the peach dressing definitely packed a punch for only being three ingredients!  We are down to the last of our fresh-picked peaches from the farm, so I have been trying to use them up in ways that truly honor the flavor.  Basil was a perfect herb to pair with the peaches for a light, bright dressing.  All together it was a really satisfying and energizing meal!



Cucumber Melon Gazpacho

Made about 4 servings

  • 2 cups fresh cantaloupe, seeded, peeled & cubed
  • 1 1/2 cups cucumber, roughly chopped
  • 1 red or yellow bell pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, havled
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded & chopped
  • 1/4 cup red onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1/2 cup loosely-packed fresh mint
  • 1 lime, zest & juice
  • extra chopped cantaloupe, cucumber & tomatoes for serving

Place all of the ingredients except for your reserved fruit for topping in a blender.  Blend on medium to high speed until fully incorporated.  I am loving my new Vitamix, which only took about 30 seconds to whiz all of this goodness together!  Pour into bowls and top with a few spoonfuls of cucumber and melon, and a few cherry tomatoes.




Carrot, Squash & Lentil Sprout Salad with Peach Basil Dressing

Makes 4 servings, plus extra dressing

  • 2 large carrots, shaved into ribbons
  • 2 small summer squash, shaved into ribbons (I used local Zephyr squash but zucchini works, too)
  • 2 cups sprouted lentils
  • 4 small fresh peaches
  • 1/2 cup loosely-packed fresh basil
  • 1 small lemon, juice & zest

Use a vegetable peeler or spiralizing tool if you have one to shave the carrots and squash into long ribbons.  Divvy up into bowls, then top with about a half a cup of the lentil sprouts.

To make your dressing, place the pitted peaches, basil and lemon juice and zest into a blender.  Blend on high speed until smooth.  Drizzle over your salad and serve!


The whole meal came together quite easily with the help of my blender.  I had to plan a little bit in advance to remember to sprout the lentils, but otherwise the meal was inspired straight from what was available at the market.  I hope I did the local bounty justice on this one.  Enjoy!




Sort:  

I need to ask you for a favor plantstoplanks. I'm giving away 3 shares in the program I'm setting up that will support quality steemians who are here with a longer term mindset with a daily upvote and I would love to see one of them go to someone from the health / vegan / fitness / running community. So if you have 2 minutes and know someone from these communities who's posts deserve more upvotes, please nominate them in this giveaway post (me, you, @lenasveganliving, @steevc, @slobberchops already got a share, so someone else if possible)

You will get an equal part of the post SBD payout, there have been 6 nominations so far with 1 clear winner so it should not be that difficult to have 1 of the remaining 2 shares go to someone of these great communities.

Thanks a lot !

Thank you for the reminder!! I saw that you put that out there and I meant to nominate someone. I'm heading over right now...

Thank you so much for your support, this is a wonderful idea to supprt our community 🌸💖🌸

Wow! This looks great! I'm looking at sprouting for a long time but it's not possible for me right now due to my travel schedule. But you can do it all year round so I'm planning to start in autumn :)

I love your presentation! It's really beautiful and very creative :)

Thank you for sharing!

Yeah, sprouting is easy but does require a little attention to rinse them every day. I will look forward to seeing what you make when you get a chance to incorporate them! Thank you for your kind words and support as always! 🤗

Yes, you surely did justice to the local bounty. Your salad and gazpacho look refreshing and flavorful. Knowing that the ingredients are all fresh and local definitely elevates the eating experience.

High-powered blender ... yeah! The cucumber and melon gazpacho with the specks of green and orange looks like it has just the right thickness to it. A little sweet, a little tangy and full of flavor. I love the addition of the jalapeno and red onion to give it a little kick and bite.

The freshness of the salad with the peach basil dressing (this sounds delicious, btw) is wonderful. Who could resist the sprouting lentils when they look so beautiful?

Thanks for your sincere support of the contest. You're right, we have a bunch of cool people "that keep the ship sailing" and we are so appreciative of it. So amazing!!!

The blender was definitely my best purchase for the kitchen so far! I am only just scratching the surface with what that baby can do. It may come in handy for ice cream week... 😉

I can't keep saying enough about how much fun it is to join in on the contest! You guys are awesome! Thank you so much!

Really beautiful dishes! I would love to have both! :) I LOVE lentil sprouts, they have such a delicious flavor and are so wonderful on salads, sandwiches, just about everything! Well done!

Thank you my friend! The sprouts really are such a great accompaniment to so many meals. It's almost time to restock my stores. 😊

Wonderful, delicious and so healthy!
I have been juicing for 2 months now to help with migraines. Some days are better than others :-)

Thank you! I am sorry you have been suffering from migraines so badly. Hopefully you can get some long-term relief. That new grandbaby should bring some joy! Congratulations!

This is superb. I could eat raw soup everyday. This inspires me to sprout. Beautiful dishes and as usual super healthy and tasty.

I love soup in any form, so I am with you there! Sprouting is really a great way to mix up the vegan protein sources. I'm sure you would come up with some great meals with them, too!

This is my dream summertime dinner 😊
Why we stil cook vegetables and destroy their values? Thanks for healthy inspiration.

Yay! So glad you like it! To be fair there are certain nutrients that are enhanced by cooking, but it's definitely a good practice to include lots of fresh raw veggies when they are ripe and in season! I love that most plants are so versatile to be able to do so much with them. 😊

So bountiful and flavorful Katie. The description sounds like from a menu in a fancy vegan restaurant and it looks like it too. Absolutely perfect for this time of year. Well done my Dear. Good luck with the contest 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Aww, that is the sweetest comment Lena! 😘 I don't think I have the mental fortitude it would take to run a restaurant, but it's nice to think I at least have the culinary creativity!

It's my pleasure Sweetie and I know what you mean. I could not run a restaurant physically and mentally, lol But you are right, you have the creativity covered for sure 💜😊💜

Omg yessss

I love gazpacho!!!!!

It's such a great way to enjoy soup year-round! 😊

amazing recipe about the Raw Soup & Salad and a great presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65