WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #5

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Untitled design.png

"

This is the Week #5 of the Whaleshares Short Story Contest series. I'm a bit shocked because of there only a few entries last week, I hope it's due to the time I posted it at the wrong time so no one sees it.
But I hope this week there will be more and more entries because I love reading all of you guys entry. And also I will increase the number of winners and rewards for this contest to attract more people joining the contest.


First of all, Congratulation for the winner of last week Short Story Contest. If you haven't check it, here it is:
Winner of WhaleShares Short Story Contest Week #4


Contest Rules :

  • Write an Original ShortStory ( Plagiarism will be flagged and reported )
  • The Story contains no longer than 200 words
  • Write a ShortStory based on the topic that I will give every week
  • Only 1 entry per user
  • Submit your entry in the comment section below
  • The Winner will be decided by the number of valid and genuine upvotes received. So don't try to cheat with the bot upvotes or community upvotes ( I will check them manually).
  • There will be 3 winners this time.
    1st Winner will receive 5 SBD and 20 Whaleshares Token
    2nd WInner Will receive 3 SBD and 10 Whaleshares Token
    3rd Winner will receive 2 SBD and 5 Whaleshares Token
    Note: @akrid decided to participate without competing , and willing to double the whaleshare tokens reward
    Whaleshares short story contest: My participation and donation by @akrid
    Special Thanks to him.
  • If you're wondering what's whaleshares, you can check this thread:
    STEEMGIG - A COMPLETE GUIDE ON HOW TO USE WHALESHARES! by @eirik
    Whaleshares Project | My Experience with Whaleshares Project
  • Upvote and ReSteem is appreciated to help me grow the contested interest.

This week Topic will be "Power Abused"


If you're interested in Donating for the winner rewards, Feel free to contact me in Discord or Steemit.chat. My username is walterz on both platforms.

These tokens are on BitShares! So make sure you have a BitShares Account to receive and send them for upvotes on your Steemit posts!

Register Bitshares Account




Be sure to join us on the fastest growing steem-related Discord server! Over 1700 users in under 6 weeks!

https://discord.gg/hskTseT


Sort:  

It was Sunday that everyone was enjoying Sunday's holiday. As everyone knows that due to the holiday on Sunday, there is a lot of crowd in the markets & streets. It was the same day that it was very crowded on the road, an ambulance was trapped in the crowd it was going to the hospital with a patient. Due to the overcrowding of the crowd, the ambulance could not find the way. The police department had to barely control the traffic there. The patient father went to the police and asked why the traffic was closed? The policeman did power abused with him and got him out of there. He told the policeman that his son is in very serious condition, so please give way to the ambulance to go the hospital. The policeman did not listen to him and abused power with him again. After a long time, when the traffic system was made smooth, the patient had died.
The reason for this was the policeman and his power abused.

When I was 9 I was left home with my brothers and sisters, the youngest of which was about 1 yr old, and still in diapers.

It was my responsibility as an older brother to take care of him. It wasn't long before he pissed all the way through his diaper, and instead of doing the responsible thing- changing and putting a new diaper on- I took that soggy thing, chucked it and let him run wild.

When my moms boyfriend got home, he saw a puddle and started yelling "who the fuck pissed all over the goddamn floor?"

This time, as the older brother, I didn't hesitate to protect him. He shouldn't get hurt for something that was my fault, so I quickly blamed it on the cat.

You know how you rub a cat or dogs nose in the mess they made, to teach it a lesson not to do it again?

He did that. And then drop kicked the thing. His steel toe boot splattered it's guts and blood across the room- all over us.

I nodded to him- and walked my bro to the bathroom to clean up.

When I joined the rest of my family at the campfire (to dispose of the remains) I thought about telling the truth.

I never did.


I wanted to participate, but I am not competing.

I am sending @walterz 35 whaleshares to double the ws rewards for this week.

Don't forget to vote for your favorites! Thank you for your participation.

Are you ok?

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: dropAhead to focus on curating posts, core of the project!

“I’m sorry sir, but you need to have a ticket for entry.” The young man broke eye contact and stared straight ahead.
“Look I was just in there! You had to see me walk out.” Bill said, exasperated.
“I didn’t see you walk out, sir.” The young man didn’t even look at Bill this time.
“You nodded at me.” Bill said, trying to regain eye contact.
The young man put his hand to his ear and cocked his head to the wire mic. “Roger that.”
“My girlfriend’s in there. I can see her!“ Bill almost yelled.
The young man put his hand up. “This is a popular event. You need a ticket.”
A couple approached the velvet rope. The bouncer unhitched it for them and waved them through.
“You didn’t check their tickets!” Bill gestured toward them.
“I saw them leave, sir. Names are Mindy and Bob.” The young man replied.
“My girlfriend’s coming.” Bill brightened.
“Bill, what’re you doing out here?” The girlfriend asked.
Bill gestured at the bouncer, “I don’t have a ticket.”
“It’s okay, he’s with me.”
The young man unhitched the rope, “Enjoy your time at Ronnie’s fifth Birthday party, here at Chuckee Cheeze.”

Some say I'm abusing my power. I'd prefer to just say I'm using my power. But I won't lie, it feels good to be in control. What can I say, it's the perks of the job right? I mean I'm the one doing all the hard work, why shouldn't I get a bit extra?

People just assume that because I'm good at it, I should be the one stuck doing it. I didn't ask for this! I want to be carefree and enjoy my life too! I'd like to not have to worry about being bombarded at all times with mundane questions Google could answer better.

Instead I'm stuck being the guy who gives everyone in the house computer advice.

So no, I won't apologize for throttling my roommates bandwidth so I can stream my Netflix without buffering. I set the router up myself, so I'm keeping the admin password to myself.

Plus, it's not like anyone even knows how to access the configuration page anyway.

This is good! <3 Steem-on babe!

Dr. Jones pinched the bridge of his nose and sighed. He leaned conspiratorially toward the nervous man sitting across from him.

“Look, Mr. Statford. It is very good you came in today. I know most people would try to treat their constipation with over-the-counter laxatives before scheduling an emergency appointment, but with a disease like this early detection is imperative.”

Mr. Statford paled and wrung his hands. “I told my wife just this morning that I been eatin’ everything right, so somethin' major must be wrong.”

“The condition is called... uhhh... scroglinathimitis. Preliminary research shows that one day you might just pop. Ploof!” The doctor splayed his hands wide in the air and tried not to take too much delight in Mr. Statford’s whimper.

“Fortunately, at this phase, it’s totally curable.” Dr. Jones poured some pills into a bottle, scrawled “For scroglinathimitis. Take 2 a day” on it, and handed it over.

“Oh, thank you sir!” Mr. Statford bowed out of the examining room.

Jones’ assistant poked his head in. “How’d it go with that Statford fellow again, doctor?”

Dr. Jones gave a catlike smile. “Seventh time I’ve ‘saved’ his life this year.”

Man that was kind of messed up lol, do doctors profit off you for diagnosing them? Or is it the pharmacy since they have the medication?

I don't even know how the money gets divided! I was imagining the doctor simply enjoyed messing with the emotions of a hypochondriac, which would certainly be an abuse of power.

Mr. and Mrs. Eddy are career couple. They barely stay at home or take care of their kids. This has not been a palatable experience, but they could not help it.

One day it struck the mind of Mrs. Eddy that her elder sister's daughter was of age and it will please her sister if she chose to pick her daughter as a house help and train her at the same time.

"Honey! I think I have an idea", she said to the husband. "What is it?" the husband asked. She expressed the idea, and her husband welcomed it. The following week, she set out to accomplish it, and that she accomplished.

Anu-nti, meaning stubborn, the new house help and a niece to Mrs. Eddy arrived. Her world has changed, everyone who knows her will say. She now has chance to feed well, wear good clothes and attend school.

Knowing that Anu-nti was her niece, Mrs. Eddy was soft with her, enrolled her in her children's school but begged her to take care of home and her children.

The matter was settled, every sane man will believe. But the situation was far from this. The career parents were always on the go, from one function to another, from one state to another. The Anu-nti was a new authority, madam of the house, and new decision maker.

Showing the stuff she was made of, a totalitarian, authoritarian, fascist, nazist, and an autocrat, she turned the kids to maids, sent them on harmful errand like leaving the compound to buy stuff outside, compelled them to perform her own chores. She rationed food for them claiming that they ate too much, reason they were not responsible. Worst still, she administered capital punishment on them, inflicting injuries on them.

With all these, the children had no one to report to as their parents were no where to be found. The days their parent would ever come home, they returned at bed hours and left before children woke up.
This was the situation, but you know, it will not last forever. Everyday is for the thief, they say, and one day is for owner.

The day came, arrest was made, and the matter was described as a case of POWER ABUSE.

THE END

RESTEEMED AND UPVOTED

"Inhale, exhale, inhale, exhale"

She says to me, shaking her head in distaste.

"You're not trying hard enough. Do you even care if you get better? Back straight! Eyes closed! Again!"

"Inhale, exhale, inhale, exhale"

To be honest, I don't even remember the last time I had a panic attack. Surely I must be in some kind of mental anguish if I keep coming here. All I have to do is get my prescription and walk out. Easy, right?

"Here's a prescription for your Xanax. Follow the instructions carefully and don't abuse how many you take"

Doctor’s always get huffy about not wanting to see you sooner than they have to. They really like to chalk everything up to being “in your head” and if you were to submit any type of research to their attention, it’s useless.

“Well, maybe you should go to college for 10 years”
“Perhaps then you’d have a bit more of a medical background to backup all those internet claims whose unending expertise of hypochondria can so easily be cured by coconut oil and yoga”

I’m not sure what’s more worth it anymore. Being a constant walk-in, or just walk-out completely.

Power Abuse

Udenna became a leader of the gang unexpectedly. No one expected him to rule like a tiger because he hasn't been seen active in any position before. He's an introvert, full of kind words and rarely get irritated by anyone. But he's sure full of life, but slow in decision making. To the group, he appears to be the perfect figure for the post, even for posterity. But something is not just right about Udenna.

He flares up at little offences, to the surprise of every of his admirers. It was on a Monday morning, about 8:30 a.m. Everyone were going about normal resumption in the department of documents arrangement. Udenna walked in to see Uche's table scattered with files. That's all we know, but the rest was a sight of beatings and abuse. He saw himself as a lord over Uche and others. No one ever noticed because he looks too calm to engage in power abuse.

     @greatness96

I was amused at the thought, really. There I was, 23 years old with the kingdom in my hand. Father had passed during battle on one of his monthly coastal raids. Crazy bastard always loved to fight..

Looking back at all those years... I remember how I aspired to be everything my father wasn't. A kind, more gentle king, who would fight only to protect his land and loved ones. It's amazing what power can do to a person.

Over the years I had built a great empire, one that the gods would even be envious of. I rode into battle, leading armies of hundreds of thousands, vanquishing any who dared to stand in our way.

In my heart, I am still the king I aspired to be. I never wanted this much power, but as I lay here, thinking about the past, I grow uneasy. As if none of this was truly my doing.

"Rest easy, we'll conquer the rest of the world in the morning." Whispered my wife, whom I married at 23.
_
_
_
Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87