Steem Basic Income Giveaway (I'm cooking!)

in #contest5 years ago


Thanks for all the entries to the "Left or Right" giveaway, it is interesting to see what people thought that their first instinct would be.. or what other insights might have come from just considering a simple left/right question!

This week, I'm talking a bit about cooking... or more importantly, our cooking habits! There are two types of people in the world, those who make a god-awful mess when they are cooking and those who are nice and tidy (haha... no bias in that statement...). Okay, I guess there is a third type, those who don't cook....

My Question

  1. Are you a tidy cook or are you a spawn of the Lord of Chaos when you cook (see, no bias!)? Explain yourself!

My sample answer


Unsplash

Well... I am more of a tidy cook (surprise!). It bugs me to have a pile of stuff all over the place, and I like to stir things gently so that the food stays in the pan/pot! I tend to clean up as I go, putting stuff in the dishwasher soon after using it... there is just not enough space on our counter already so... adding a pile of used and dirty stuff on it doesn't help that situation!

However, my wife... likes to save all the moving of stuff until the finish. So, there are piles of things and subsequently much less room! She stirs stuff vigorously (she says that I don't put enough effort into the stirring!), which leaves food out of the pot... I often joke that I'm surprised that we've got any food left to eat!

In the end, we have different ways of doing it... but it doesn't really matter.. we both cook fairly decently, and we tend to enjoy doing it in our own different ways! I am pretty curious to see how our daughters end up... will they be neat cooks or not?

Rules

  1. Upvote is not required, but appreciated!
  2. Resteem is NOT necessary!
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!
  6. PLEASE PLEASE Don’t upvote your OWN comment. I can’t stop you doing it, but it seems to mess up the distribution of the Bounty for everyone else. If you upvote your own comment, I will consider it an invalid entry when doing the draw.

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0.887 SBD and 0 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 3 shares.

There was a special prize share for @jacuzzi for an interesting answer to the last round!

The winners by random draw are:

@simonjay

@softwaricho

@hans001



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Sort:  

I like to get out everything I need first, so that I know I have all the ingredients. Then I put things away as I use them. Is that neat or chaotic?

Lol, extremely ordered!

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

Haha getting picked on by the wife for the weak stirring habit (she says that I don't put enough effort into the stirring!) I think I've always been more of a tidy cook even with all the extra space in the old family house when I was young, but now with less space it just seems more sensible to keep it organised.

Yes, I think it is easier when it more organised... it also means that you end up with more space and somehow an easier feeling of time. Well, that's what I think...

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

I have learned to become a tidy cook. I wash as I go, keep my counters clean, put everything away as I cook and wipe my stove clean as I’m cooking.

When I’m five cooking the only thing dirty is the pot the food is in.

Ah, that is just blissful to hear! Less mess for later is always a great idea!

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

Well, may my name contains mango but that does not mean i cook food. I didn't even know c about cooking. But gladly my girlfriend is teaching me basics of it since last week. Yes I am messing it up in the kitchen but the chicken curry i made yesterday tasted good! 😋😋

Great that you are learning! It can be such a nice thing to do when you have other people to cook for... less fun when you are cooking for yourself only... get the habits in right at the start, clean cooking!

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

I'm a little of both. I try to be very clean, but I get out all my produce in advance and leave it in the counter for washing. So it starts messy and cluttered and gradually getting less so haha. When stirring things, I always try very hard to be cautious, but that doesn't always work out unfortunately. We have a much too small pan haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I do the same... I like to get things out at the start, mainly because I hate rummaging around the cupboards with dirty hands. ... yeah sure, blame the pan!

Haha well it's true, it's too small :p to should see the oven after my girlfriend cooks though. That's a huge mess I have to clean up weekly

Posted using Partiko Android

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

I only learned how to cook when I was like 35 or so. But I liked it, and quickly became the one who cooked most of the time.

It's been a while now... since the surgeries last year, cooking is still out of my league.

But anyway, as with everything in my life, cooking means utterly, complete chaos, lol.
I not just make a big mess in the kitchen, but I never manage to get the timing right either. So most of the time, one part of the dish is cold again already, while I'm still preparing the other parts.

I like to stir things gently so that the food stays in the pan/pot!

I like that too, but there are a million other things to do at the same time, so that never happens.

Because I'm not only very unorganized but also very uncareful, it happens quite often that - in between everything else that needs to be done - I need to go search for a band aid because I cut my fingers. ;0)

LOL... I would never really guess from your online writing that you are chaos personified! At least it is with good intentions! To date, I haven't cut myself... sharp knives, that is the secret... and a certain technique that doesn't involve sending the knife towards your fingers (which my wife does... and it freaks me out every time I see it!)

Lol. My wife freaks out every time she sees me using a knife 😂

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Awesome thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am the most tidy cook you will ever meet. I cook left i chop veggies in the middle , I do mixing next to that and all way right is the sink and washing machine so from left to right everything ends up in the washer or sink and left is the end result

But

One exception the fruit for the smoothie that’s KLEVERIG when finished so that’s a bit messier than usual but it’s allowed cause it’s healthy!

B

I hope you rinse the smoothie machine before it gets hardened! I always rinse it immediately after pouring it out, otherwise it gets really a fair bit harder to clean...

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

First, @bengy thank you for the special prize! YOU ROCK!

Ok, on to the question.
Well, I cook just about every day for myself and guests at my home. The majority of the time I try to keep it tight and clean, but after a long day, the belly is telling me to EAT... well ... at that point things go down hill sort fast and chaos is born.

Pealing's of onion shells, little rice escapes onto the floor, and after its a disaster.. then I eat and sleep... only to wake up the next day and say.. WFT happened in here then remember that Past me, the jerk he is at times. Went to town and made a big mess for Future me.

:D

Well, at least the mess is for future you and not your housemates/partner! Past me is always a jerk... Not just in cooking..

Thanks for the tokens!

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

@bengy I am more of a tidy cook in the sense that I will multitask, but remove iyems as soon as I am finished with them. I do have a bit of OCD with this, but I think it more the small counter space I have to work in. Like to be fast and efficient in most things and cooking I guess is just one of them lol. Cool post and thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Efficient! That is a word that I love! Leaving stuff to the end strikes me as completely inefficient. On the other hand, there is some efficiencies in doing things in bulk....

The winners and the SBI Giveaway (Emoji...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayemoji-ljv1lwvzh2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62