Writing CONTEST - Constrained writing #7 - Scaling reward system

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

constrained writing contest.jpg


Most writing contests give you a writing prompt or at least a couple of words to work your idea around, which is why I decided to host a slightly different contest.


A constrained writing contest

Instead of giving you an idea or a writing prompt, I will allow you to choose the topic completely by yourself, be it fiction or not. But, varying from week to week, I will come up with different challenges.

You will be required to omit certain words, use a word of your choosing in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, ... or a combination.


Winners of constrained writing contest #6

  • 1st place: 0.500 SBD
    @bashadow with the entry starring Slink, the red headed purple squirrel.

There was only two entries this week, so @bashadow won 100 % of the prize pool


Proof of payment:

11111.jpg

Or you can always check our wallets ;D


With that out of the way, onto constrained writing contest #7!


Rules:

  • Write a story using only sentences longer than 10 words
  • The story must be longer than 250 words
  • Upvote this post
  • Resteem this post
  • Post a link to your entry in the comments below
  • Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags

Prizes

Since this is no regulary contest, I use a different prize system. For each entry the prize pool increases by 0.50 SBD (increased as the contest gains in popularity). This means that with 5 participants the prize pool will be 2.5 SBD, with 10 participants 5 SBD and so on.

  • 1st place: 50% of prize pool
  • 2nd place: 30% of prize pool
  • 3rd place: 20 % of prize pool

*Disclaimer: I claim the rights to ignore any post made with the sole intention to raise the prize pool. Stories that do not abide the rules will not contribute to an increase in the prize pool.


Judges

For now, I am the sole judge of this competition and decide a winning story based on my own preference, but if anyone wishes to apply for a judge and make up his/her own rules, send me a hearty hello at steemit.chat.

*Disclaimer: I will only allow fellow writers as judges to keep the competition high quality.


Deadline

  • Entries are accepted until this post's payout
  • Your entry post must be newer than this post

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for picking me, even though there was only 2 entries. I had a lot of fun trying to do constrained writing number 6 contest. When I went to do my first edit, I had to carefully count the number of words in each sentence, then figure out how to let the sentence still make sense after getting it down to only 9 words, sometimes that was not an easy thing to do. Then I had to add words to some sentences to keep the total word count to the right amount, once again quite a chore, but when it is all said and done, I did enjoy trying. I may try again on Number 7 contest.

Awesome @bashadow, you won a writing contest! I've entered a writing contest myself, just posted my piece a couple days ago. However, there's a lot of good entries... so we'll see how I do. I can truthfully say you've won more contests on Steemit than I have. ;)
Congrats!

Thats funny, I think if he had a third person to of chosen from, things may have been different, but It was fun trying to meet all the demands for the contest.

It was a tough constraint, and you're right, things would have been different if there were more entries: your prize would have been bigger! :D

Thank you. Very much appreciated.

sadly only one entry previous week, yeah. :/

I'm happy you enjoyed it and even more so that it posed a challenge for you! :D It's exactly what the contest is supposed to be about! :D

I hope to see your entry again this week for sure! :D

I will see what I can create!

Can't wait to see what you come up with! :D

hello@svashta
upvote & resteem
DQmVXANFB68G3qQvXbGEKtFN4ju7Cbg5HSSYbpQsXBd4Dtm_1680x8400.jpg

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 6000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

This post received a 4% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @svashta! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

This post has received a 10.16 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @svashta.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @svashta.

This post has received a 1.12 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @svashta

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69380.97
ETH 3764.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86