"Are you a Christian?..." - Daily Word #35

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

What does it mean when someone says that "I am a Christian"?

I'm sure there are many many opinions about this. And then there are also many misconceptions of what a Christian is or does and is not supposed to do.

Someone IS NOT a Christian just because they...

  • Attend Church or Care / Cell Groups
  • Sing Christian Songs in their Car
  • Read or Study the Bible
  • Wear a Cross around their Neck
  • Partake of the Communion (Bread and Wine)
  • Recognize the Sacraments or Holy Days
  • Feed the Poor or Take Care of the Needy

Someone IS a Christian when they...

  • Recognise that they have turned their back on God and now put their whole faith, trust and life in God’s saving hands and grace, through His Only Son, Jesus Christ (alone)!

YES... It’s that SIMPLE.

lepota4.jpeg
Source

And from that truth, we build our journey upon His Finished Work with the help of the Holy Spirit so that our days ahead will be Empowered, Purpose-filled and reflect the Fruits that will eventually come out overtime.

So to claim that a Christian Perfect is one FAT LIE. No one is perfect apart from God/Jesus!

And whilst we live here on this side of heaven, there will be constant ups, downs, flats, slides, and repeat. If you as a Christian should fall/falter, it's ok...admit it, give thanks and get back up again and continue walking in His Righteousness.

Recently I've come across this Powerful Poem penned by Carol Wimmer entitled “When I say I am a Christian.” It clearly shows us who we really are. Read it below and be encouraged.

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting, “I’ve been saved!”
I’m whispering, “I get lost sometimes
That’s why I chose this way”

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I don’t speak with human pride
I’m confessing that I stumble –
needing God to be my guide

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong
I’m professing that I’m weak
and pray for strength to carry on

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success
I’m admitting that I’ve failed
and cannot ever pay the debt

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I don’t think I know it all
I submit to my confusion
asking humbly to be taught

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect
My flaws are far too visible
but God believes I’m worth it

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain
I have my share of heartache
which is why I seek God’s name

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I do not wish to judge
I have no authority
I only know I’m loved

Source

Amazing-Cross-of-Christian-God-wallpaper-wallpaper-background-photos-download-hd-free-windows-wallpaper-iphone-mac-1920x1200.jpeg
Source

Amazing poem that makes me realize my need for a Saviour. And I am blessed to have a God that cares and wants to have a relationship with me. How fantastic is that!!

One last point, after accepting Jesus into our lives... we don't live under LAW anymore, we live under the covering of GRACE. So all we need to do daily is to Stand Up, Take Up our Cross and Walk our Journey of Faith with Confidence... not Condemnation.

Are you ready to be a Christian?

Over to you.

Blessings & Shalom.

SG

FullSizeRender.jpg


Follow us @seekgod, and get your DailyBread

Sort:  

CHRISTIAN also stands for

Without CHRIST, I Am Nothing :)

Love the poem and your explanation of what a Christian is is spot on.

Excellent choice of a poem, you see God promises to give more grace to the humble, and it is deep love of God and the perfect life of Christ which causes us to see our faults. I bless you for your insightful article.

Amen @starr86. I encourage you to also continue posting inspirational messages. Blessings to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55