Cemetery Photos challenge

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

Robert Bailey is the only Revolutionary War Veteran buried in Shooks Prairie Cemetery in Green County, Wisconsin.

image

Bailey realized slavery was wrong and in 1814 gave the slaves who worked on his farm their freedom.
He and his wife moved to Green Co. Wisconsin in 1838 to be with their son, 10 years before Wisconsin became a state.

image

A ceremony took place when this plaque was installed.

image

image

image

I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos. If you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote them!


Cemetery Photos-Asheville

Cemetery Photos-Stones River

Cemetery Photos- Charleston

Cemetery Photos- Italy

Cemetery Photos-Portugal

Cemetery Photos- High Desert of Arizona

Cemetery Photos-Lincoln's Tomb

Cemetery Photos-The Gap, Wisconsin

Remember to enter your Shadowphotos here

Shadow Photo Contest Round 12- Your Favorite Shadow

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Thanks, my friend!

Here is my entry :
https://steemit.com/cemeteryphotos/@vee2180/cemeteryphotos-this-picture-is-made-in-dinant-belgium

In Dinant Belgium,on a walk through the woods, I ended up on a small footpath, and on that path I passed this private cemetery,
It was completely secluded from the streets, only houses around, ... here you can say rest in peace

@melinda010100

That does look peaceful! And the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Great cemetery photo!

Thank you, I was surprised to see it, I was walking in the woods, and suddenly this silent place pups up

Good that you thought to take a photo of it!

I have some cemetery photos I can share. Thanks for this post and the challenge.

Looking forward to seeing them!

Interesting to know different cultures

Thank you, Melinda for telling us a little about Robert Bailey's story! Beautiful photos!

This is my entry in cemeteryphotos:
https://steemit.com/cemeteryphotos/@ginga/cemetery-photos-challenge

1779 is such a long time ago. It's hard to think of the people here in this area.

It is hard to imagine.

Beautiful photos and great ,

amazing pictures Melinda. I love to know more about others countries history. Great post

All of the Revolutionary War veterans lived in the Eastern part of the country, and they were already growing older when Westward expansion began in this country, so not many veterans died in this section of the country. There are 40 Veterans buried in Wisconsin. Thank you for reading and commenting!

this information and photos went well, my dear friend. congratulations :)

Hello beautiful I will look for a photos for you you know that I love to participate for you @ melinda010100
Happy Thursday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40