Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 02/12/18 > So, where are we going today? Not where you think…

in #blog6 years ago

Yesterday I told you all the story of how I met my wife at the horse racing track over Louisiana and I mentioned that I could have taken that Daily Dose in one of two directions, her story or the story of how Mike and I had pulled a prank on Chuck. Well today is a new day and while I have the Chuck story on my mind, I’m not going tell it today either. You see I just realized that today, February 12th , is my sixth month anniversary here on steemit.com . So if you are not into hearing in short form about my last six months, now is the time to exit this daily dose.

First, let me say that this has to be the fastest six months that I have ever experienced in my life. One of the reasons for that might have to do with the day I was born on. When your birthday only comes every four years, six months only works out to being 12.5% of the time between birthdays, not 50% like most people wait to celebrate their birthday. For those of you who are having trouble figuring that out go Google “Leap Year Day”, and then you will have a better grasp on it.

I actually detest these types of posts, or at least I used too, that was just part of being the grumpy old man that came here on September 12, 2017. I looked at those posts as trying to make a “big deal” out of how many followers and how many posts you’ve made as nothing more than bragging about crap that is meaningless. The fact is I still do see the statistics as meaningless; that is why I am not going to mention that I have 341 and followers and this post is my 2,000 post. I also won’t mention that I follow 130 people, because like I said, all of those things are indeed, meaningless.

What I want to do, and will focus on, is what this six month experience has meant to me. I did in fact come here as a grumpy old man, looking to exploit this platform in my own little way for personal reasons, plain and simple pure truth.

What I didn’t expect to happen was for steemit to change me; and change me for the better is what it has in fact done, in my opinion. Six months ago I would have finished that previous sentence with, “in my opinion, because that is the only opinion that matters.” So you really can see what I’m talking about, right?

One thing that I believe has made this experience so good and beneficial was the fact that I did not know one person in this community when I got here. The other forms of social media that I used I already had friends there from the moment I signed up. I only used Facebook and LinkedIn, and those I got talked into joining by people who were already friends or business associates who connected me with others who I already knew. So looking back I would almost compare this to being like the first day of school when you just moved to a new town. You don’t know a soul and you don’t know where a damn thing is, you can either explore people and places or you can just kind of hide in the shadows and find your way to class.

I only spent about a week in the shadows, and that was probably six days too many looking back on it now, but I did find my way into the light. The more I explored the brighter the lights became. We all know that the sultnpapper is not a “star” here on steemit, my posts are not setting records for earned steem. So even though my stuff never makes it on a “trending” page it doesn’t mean I am not appreciated, it just means I’m not appreciated by the folks with a lot of clout in the form of SBD. Those lights I mentioned that had gotten brighter are bright enough for me to see clearly that I belong here and to be contributing what little I have to offer.

It may be that my daily dose has something every now and then that just puts a smile on a face, or gives a little insight into how something works. I’ve even been known to give encouragement to others when they seemed kind of down.
Those little things like encouraging people may not seem like a lot, unless you are the one in need of the encouragement.

Let me also say that the encouragement giving was a lesson learned, I have great knowledge and confidence in my field of expertise where I make my living, but in writing and blogging I had little to none. Only through the encouragement of others on here I have just started entering writing contests, which six months ago I would have scoffed at the idea of doing such a thing. I was here for one purpose, my daily dose, so encouragement works.

One of the big things about steemit that seems to go unnoticed in my opinion is the caring and sharing. This community is full of great people who are constantly doing things to help others. While it may not be something that you notice outright I can assure you that it is having an effect on you. Six months ago, when I joined here, the area I live in had just a couple weeks earlier gone through major flooding with hurricane Harvey. The Orphan Grain Train has been helping our area; six months ago I thought it was nice of them to help. Seven days ago I discussed trying to get them here on steemit so the community can help them to help others, and I am still working on it and will continue to see it through so that at least the board of directors of OGT can make a decision if they want the help of the folks here on steemit.

So what changed from September when I thought it was “nice” to now when I’m trying to help? My mindset changed, and it changed because the good deeds and works that I’ve seen on here have rubbed off on me. Now it is my turn to start helping and doing, with any luck we’ll succeed and who knows, maybe someone else will be the next to get involved and help somewhere where they see a need that could use some help.

This is a worldwide community that has great potential to do great things. The reason it has the potential is the great people who make this community. It is not the steem that makes this community great; the people make the steem great and that is why it will continue to grow in value.

Thanks to all of you who have been a part of my first six months here, you know who you are so there is no need in making what would be a very long list. You all have helped change me for the better and I can’t thank you enough. I look forward to being here for the long haul and I hope that you will allow me to be a partner with you as this community continues to grow. I pray that blessing be bestowed upon each and everyone here.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

And just so I know who reads to the bottom, I will transfer $2 steem to the first person to correctly answer this question; what day is known as Leap Year Day?

Sort:  

first off....the leap year day is Feb 29th. the next one is in 2020. I saw so many comments and 12 hours had passed...but i read through...and no one seems to have noticed your little challenge....so whamo...the butt sneaks one in.
second off.... i just want to say i really loved this post. it is very similar to how i feel about steem in many ways. more specifically....i feel your change. You really feel much more open and playful. trying new things and writing your experiences about it. You are 1 of a short list of folks that have propped me up in those early months. subtle things of attention....they mean a lot really. I was seeking grounded real people on steem....i feel blessed i met you so early on....and got to move along with your journey...it has been a true pleasure.
When do we get to stop calling are selves noobs by the way....these 6 months seems a lifetime....im ready to graduate.....and what do you call yourself when you are no longer a noob?? hmmm

WINNER!!! WINNER!!! WE HAVE A WINNER!!!! They say that they early bird catches the worm, well it appears that while those birds may have been early they surely weren't looking at the ground. Congratulations, you winnings have been transferred to your wallet, so check and let me know if it isn't there.
Thanks for all the kind words, it is nice to hear from you that you were noticing the changes, and your encouragement means more than you know on me doing more writing and entering contests.
The pleasure is mutual on our trip so far on here, the feeling of blessed is the same as well.
I think we can probably adopt a new adjective and replace the "noob", I think I might just call myself a "steemer", as it imply's "action", steemian just doesn't work for me, kind of like a pedestrian, just hanging around and getting in the way of the traffic. When we get real good and have been here ages, we'll graduate to "steem rollers", by then steem should be to the moon as the crypto folks say in their lingo.
Take care and travel safe and most of all, THANK YOU!

Hello sir, I have been a fan of your daily doses ever since I met you at the unmentionables now we are passengers on the Steemengine.

Your consistency is very encouraging...thank you for being one of the faithful one's.

So even though my stuff never makes it on a “trending” page it doesn’t mean I am not appreciated, it just means I’m not appreciated by the folks with a lot of clout in the form of SBD

This stood out for me

Well thank you so much @klynic. My background in sales has a lot to do with how a view things with regards to certain situations such as being on steemit. We are all basically selling something each time we make a post or write a blog or vlog. I don't look at the lack of earnings as personal rejection, I look at it as some people just didn't have a need for what I am selling that particular day.
Being in this kind of arena is very much like sales; some days are better than others. There are two very important keys to sales that a person needs to know. #1 Ego has no place in sales. #2 Be persistent or in the case here on steemit , be consistent.
You can't be hit and miss in sales or here in my opinion.
I'm not a car salesman but to use the car salesman analogy, the folks with the big clout are buying Mercedes and Ferrari's , I just happen to be selling Datsun's. There are more Datsun buyers on here than the other two brands I mentioned, I just haven't reached all those buyers yet.
Thanks for your kind words and continued support.

For all its current faults, Steemit is indeed a great place for bringing people together and for community building, and so in that respect it is wildly successful so far. Yours is just one case in point, and if I told my story that would be a second, but I know that Steemit has changed life for thousands, and for the better.

It's interesting to consider too that your six months may seem a short time, but it is 30% of the time that Steemit has even existed. Isn't that kind of amazing? It is to me and I'm very excited to see what the next six months and six years brings.

You know I never even thought about the time % with relation to the site, 30% is a pretty fair amount of the existence when I see that number. I look forward to the pair of sixes you mentioned as well. I hope that the folks running the platform will be doing something big at SXSW in March since they moved there offices to the Austin area last fall.

They did? Well hopefully I can make it to SXSW and I'll let you know. Not easy with two little ones at home. Although you're pretty close to Austin anyway and might make it yourself?

I normally am in Austin about once a month at least on business, but I normally stay clear of the town during SXSW, hotel rooms are outrageously priced during that time. I book a room in San Marcos for a couple night while SXSW is going on so I am planning on checking it out if I can work my schedule out right.
Yes, I saw a little blurb about the move when it happened but it didn't say where in Austin they located. I might see if I can figure out sometime where they are and drop by and shake their hands and give them my thanks.

We should get together for a cup of coffee and some Steemit conversation as well :)

I'll see if I can figure out where they're located and let you know if I learn anything.

Hi I found your post through the discord group #thesteemengine. I
can really relate to what you say. Especially with the followers, I actually went through mine and not even I would say 5% of the people I follow are active with me. I tend not to follow too many people only because I want to read content I find interesting. I did read somewhere that you should engage with ten people a day.
Thank you so much for your post very interesting.

Yes @crazybagadventure, I recognize your name from in there but haven't had a chance to jump into conversation with you yet. I also only follow folks I believe will add to my experience in a positive way here, otherwise it is to much crap to sift through. I don't know if there is a magic number per day that one needs to be successful but you surely have to engage with people on some consistent basis. I hope to be able to visit with you soon, thanks for checking in and breaking the ice.

Happy 6 month anniversary on here I enjoy seeing your daily dosed so am glad we meet in here

Incase I forget happy birthday for the 29th

Thanks Jay, same goes for me on meeting you, and the BD wishes too.

Cheers and have a great week

I can’t say I have known you for six months, but that has certainly changed in recent weeks. I came here with just one friend on the platform and he rarely posts. It was a bit intimidating to start. But as you point out, it is a great community. I relate to the first day of school thing. I look back at my original posts and see that helplessness. But I was quickly taken under a wing or two and pointed in the right direction.

I still consider myself a newbie. There is so much to learn here. But I have at least settled in to a level of comfort. Sounds like you have as well my friend.

I pretty much still consider myself as a newbie as well, there is plenty about steemit and steem that I have yet to explore but everyday I either find something new or go back to something I've found and check it again until I am sure I understand it or how I can utilize it.
I have noticed you here with me quite frequently with me and it is much appreciated. I'm not a movie guy so I haven't really jumped on board your work in here, but I do glance at your post promotion links to see if something catches my eye. The last movie I went to see was Frozen, on a date night with the youngest girl. In fact I would bet the last 8 movies that I went to see were all animated children's movies.
I need to try and catch you in discord and visit in there.

Nice. My children are grown, but my wife and I still see everything animated at the theater. Well, we actually see everything at the theater. Animated or not. I use Moviepass, which means I pay one annual fee for as many movies as I want to watch during the year (one per day). Great deal for someone who sees as many movies as I do.

That sounds like a heck of a deal if it doesn't cost an arm and a leg for the Moviepass

Surprisingly, only 89 dollars per year. I have already seen 17 movies at the theater (using moviepass) in 2018. I used a gift card and rewards to do a couple of double features this year. But the 17 tickets purchased with Moviepass currently work out to about five dollars per ticket. And I have the rest of the year to go still.

I would say you have gotten your money's worth for sure, like in 43 days. They may not offer you a card next year.

They may not. Lol. I better wear it out while I can.

Yay! Congratulations on 6 months here! It's been fun getting to know you. You are indeed an encourager.

Happy almost birthday for the 29th of Feb! I will wish you again on the day :)

What do you do on your birthday for non-leap years? Do you celebrate on the 28th or the 1st?

It takes a while to understand how Steemit works and then when it clicks it does inspire us to reach out to help others.
Wishing you many more years of Steeming!

On non leap years I celebrate both days. So thank you for the congratulations and birthday wishes.
It has been really a great experience in meeting folks like you and Lynton, so much talent you two have in art and writing.

Aaw Thank you Sult :)

I found a new Texan steemian. His name is Dr Mike Carriker @demolitionranch . He's a vet and a gun enthusiast who is starting to move over from YouTube. I'm trying to help show him the ropes. I don't know if you might be interested in some of his videos but he posts about either blowing things up, what's happening at the vet practice, or what he gets up to with his family.

Well thank you, I will definitely check him out. I like supporting folks efforts who hail from my state. I also like watching things get blown up every now and then so he sounds like he is right up my alley, so to speak.

Keep it up, old man. Life's too short to be grumpy.

Remember that life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it. Glad that (creative) expression has helped you find your better self.

Community, and the ability to write, just for the sake of writing, can do wonders. Even more so when both come together.

Well said @fknmayhem , 10 & 90 sounds about right.
Thanks for stopping in and sharing your thoughts which are spot on.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 45 (2/14/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Happy Sixth Month Anniversary!! I think you write exceptionally so surprised to read that you only recently started joining in on writing contests! I'm glad you are though and I wish you all the best!! ❤

Thank you @deerjay, I greatly appreciate the compliment on my writing. It is true, when I was younger and in school I was never good at writing according to the teachers so I never did any since then. I have always enjoyed telling stories though, mainly over coffee or drinks or telling the kids stories. I have more fingers on my hands then I have stories I've written that weren't personal experiences. Actually you could knock that count down to one hand.
So I am a amateur for sure when it comes to writing. But with the encouragement from others I have decided to start giving it a try so more will be coming I'm sure.

You're very welcome and I'm glad you're writing! I think some of the best stories come from personal experiences and even some great made up stories have elements of experience in them!

Thanks. Some funny ones for sure from personal, and fiction stories sometimes do have a tint of reality from the personal as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69