N.D.E. My Near Death Experience - Never Shared Before - The Future of Medicine and Healing?

in #blog8 years ago

I am sharing my story for the first on Steemit. Here's why...

Background

Several seemingly unconnected coincidences have occurred in my life over the last several days. One of them was finding Steemit; and then finding and reading some incredibly honest posts sharing intimate secrets and stories from people's personal lives. I guess they have all helped me now to do the same.

I came across a posting from Neil Strauss earlier today ( @neilstrauss ). I thought:- "the Neil strauss, that "Game" master of seduction chap?" So, yeah, it's him. He has two posts and the second with the title "Hate Mail from Phil Collins" begins.... Have held on to a number of items like this for over a decade and never shared them. This seems to be the place. Now seems to be the time. I thought 'WOW.' I also read some deeply affecting 'Secret Writer' posts on @stellabelle 's page.

I thought, if they can do it, so can I.

What Happened

At age 14, I had a Game Changing life altering experience that has profoundly affected my thinking and life ever since, and that I cannot easily explain away by rationale, logic, or scientific means. I can expostulate on the capacity of the human mind, especially one with a young fertile imagination, to create fantastic landscapes to retreat to in order to reassure and comfort oneself when faced with moments of extreme and life-threatening discomfort.

The thing is, my experience wasn't really like that...

Don't try this at home

The year was 1980. I had just turned 14. I was fit and healthy. On the Friday evening through to 9a.m. on Saturday morning we had a "Stay Awake" event in my school to raise money for charity. I had never done anything like this before and I remember it was a great and magical experience. We rented out movies, and being testosterone driven young teenage boys we snuck off to a lecture room and played Bo Derek's "10", Ridley Scott's "Alien" and I think Dudley Moore in "Arthur." A few of us were a little more adventurous. We sneaked out to an "adult" disco in town, I had alcohol, I remember dancing, sweating, walking back to the school soaking with perspiration, cold, a little drunk. It was still early Spring in Ireland.

At 9a.m. we bid our adieus to each other, usual see you on Monday stuff, very tired, and I am sure most of my classmates headed home to bed. I, on the other hand, as a member of our town's swimming club, headed off to a Swimming Gala where I competed in backstroke. The gala finished about midday.

I remember a break for lunch. Then I was off to a local Forest Park some 10 miles from my hometown where there was an Orienteering event, which mostly consisted of me running thought the forest wildly yelling and screaming like a madman with some other friends. I was young, healthy, and very fit. The idea that I could be overdoing things never once entered my mind. There was so much to experience in life and so little time! The forest was wet, it was drizzling rain most of that day, the kind that gets through your jacket and clothes and soaks you to the skin. We were tumbling and falling over and pushing each other in the wet grass, puddles, streams, and bushes. I recall saying to a close friend as we boarded the bus back to my hometown how tired I was and wouldn't it be great if we could figure a way to take Monday off school.

Panic Stations

My dad yelled for me to get up for school on Monday morning as per usual. I tried. I really tried. Nothing. I literally couldn't move my body at all from the neck down. I felt pain everywhere. I could feel myself panicking. I tried again. Nothing. I thought, "It's ok David. You are still asleep and having a nightmare. That's what this is." (I used to, and still do, get very lucid dreams. Not all are pleasant.) My dad yelled again that we were going to be late if I didn't get up right now. Nothing. Not a muscle would obey my command. I broke. Panic washed over me. I remember crying and sobbing trying to call my Dad, but only a whisper came out.

Eventually he came charging into my room ready to give me what for; but I could see from his face that something about what he saw looking back at him couldn't be right at all. I have no idea what color I must have been. I recall him asking what was wrong. I recall him trying to help me to the bathroom. I recall throwing up. I recall a doctor, then an ambulance siren, then nothing... blackness.

Hospital

I awoke to starched sheets and plumped pillows, beeping monitors, a curtain drawn completely around my bed. I drifted in and out of consciousness. There was a small gap between the edge of the curtain and the wall at my head. I could see an old man sitting slouched forward in a chair beside the bed next to mine. I couldn't see his face. I tried to speak but nothing came out. He appeared to be snoozing anyhow. I awoke to shouting and crying. Someone was screaming, "Daddy! Daddy! Wake up!" Turned out the old man in the chair wasn't snoozing after all. Three more men died that week in my ward. It was segregated at that time, men only. I still couldn't move. Most of my companions couldn't either. One chap could though. He was very nice, smiling, reassuring, telling me I was going to be ok. He lent me a picture book with lots of photos about travelling to exotic places I had never heard of around the world. This was long before the days of 'Lonely Planet' and the internet. A few days later, when I tried to return the book, he was gone too.

But I am jumping the gun to after what happened. Those first 48 hours I knew instinctively that healthwise, I must be in real trouble.... Awake, asleep, visits, doctors, slipping in and out of consciousness, nurses tapping me, gently shaking me, repeatedly calling my name, asking me if I could hear them, telling me to try and stay awake. I couldn't keep any fluids down. They couldn't stabilise my temperature. Ice baths, literally, ice packs all over me. I couldn't feel them. I thought this was very funny for some reason, and was silently chuckling to myself as I started to drift off to sleep again.

Where am I?

I woke to the sound of very pleasant and soothing music. I opened my eyes. They must have transferred me to another ward. I seemed to be the only one there. I was still in bed, but it felt a lot more comfortable now and I was feeling a lot better, in fact I was feeling great! No more pain, completely gone. There was a very very bright blueish tinged light, I couldn't see the source, it seemed to be everywhere, but at the same time it was soft and didn't seem to be hurting my eyes. I wasn't squinting anyways. There were no sheets over me any more. They must have stabilized my temperature! Great! I'm on the mend!

I could see figures nearby, moving around the edge of the bed, but with the light I couldn't really make them out clearly. Not wearing the nurses uniforms from the previous ward. I tried to get their attention by turning my head. They seemed to notice I was awake. A voice by my ear. Female? Very soothing. I felt like whoever else was in this room with me right now were like my best friends ever. I felt happy. Loved. There was nothing to worry about.

A disembodied voice whispering in my ear. Familiar. I know it from somewhere, sometime. You are going to be ok David. We needed to change your treatment. You will be here with us for a little while. Don't worry. Reassuring... Music, light, music, light, music and gentle pulsing light.... The sound of soft laughter....

Playing. Running. Laughter. Others...New friends... A field, a meadow, flowers, long grass. A park?, trees, gentle breeze. Summer, warmth, soft glowing light. I am well, I am upright, no longer in hospital. I have never felt better. No sense of time. How did I get here? That familiar voice... female?... You are well again David. You should think about going back now....( I don't want to leave... I want to stay here... with you...) It is your choice. You don't have to go, but your family will miss you if you don't go back... They are sad without you. Don't worry. You will be coming back again...

I am shown myself ? in a hospital bed, an overhead view. Looking down I can see my family around this bed. Heads bowed. It looks very sad. I feel sorry for them. How can it be me in the bed if I am here? I want to shout that everything is ok, that there is nothing to worry about. I am told this is not allowed...Either I go back or stay... I hesitate, for how long I don't know, there is no sense of time.. I really do not want to leave this place.... there is no sense of being pressured and I am not rushed to give an answer... eventually I say...( If you think it best, ok then.)...Speed....Light.... (By the way, my memory of all of this was no actual speech.. all communication was thought based/telepathy)

Home? again

I open my eyes. I am back in my former hospital ward. They must have transferred me again. There is someone, a male, at the foot of my bed dressed all in black. His head is bowed and he appears to be mumbling something to himself. He appears to have laid stuff out on the top of my bed. Some sort of paraphenalia. The cheek of him! I decide to get his attention. I give a cough. "hello"... He looks up visibly startled. Aha! He's a priest. He jumps up, nearly trips over himself and runs off to get a doctor or nurse. Everyone comes running. They all look happy to see me. Comments like "So you decided to return to the land of the living then!" "Good to see you back". Relieved faces. Smiles.

I ask for the kind nurse who treated me with the nice light and could they please put the music back on. They think I am delirious. I am insistent. I want to thank her. They ask what she looks like. I can only describe her voice.
Where is the park and meadow? Can I go there again? .... You have been through a lot I am told. We thought we had lost you a few times. You had double pneumonia. Your temperature was off the charts. You should never smoke or take on heavy manual jobs for the rest of your life. You will have a weak chest. Your recovery will be slow. You will need to take things easy for a while. Plenty of rest.

I never did return to competitive swimming. There were no more orienteering weekends or stay awakes. I was weak for a long time. I never found out who the kind nurse was. I only ever shared with one other person, my closest friend, what happened.

Aftermath

Time passed. The memory of being healed by a combination of sound/music and light never left me. In fact, over the intervening years, if anything it has intensified and more details from my NDE have clarified in my mind. Whilst memories of "real" events in my life have faded, this "dream" memory has become stronger, more real of an experience than anything in the physical world. I am now 50. MOre than 34 years have elapsed, and I have a sense that whatever I am meant to be doing, I need to be doing it.

I studied music. I now have a Masters Degree. In my late 30's I came across Raymond Moody's Life after Life. I cried when I read it. In my 40's I started seeing articles about Cymatics and the future possibilities of Musical Therapy; healing illnesses as serious as cancer through specific sound vibrations and wave frequencies.

Disclaimer: The images in this article do no justice whatsoever to the actual experience I had. I have included them just to break up the text.

There follows a few examples from current research and events that might help any skeptics to consider that what I experienced was perhaps a little more than the delirious ramblings and dream of a near-death teenager's mind:
I would ask that if anyone reading this has ever had a similar experience if they would be so good as to comment below. Or else, if you prefer to contact me privately, you can reach me at: [email protected]
Likewise, if anyone has knowledge of current research as shown in the links, please get in touch or comment below. Thank you for reading this far

The Guardian - 31st October 2015 - High Power Sound Waves Used to Blast Cancer Cells
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2015/oct/31/ultrasound-cancer-research-hifu-bone-trial

Cancer Tutor - How Sound, Light and ElectroMagnetics can heal the body.
https://www.cancertutor.com/index9-howitworks/

U.S. National Library of Medicine
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1297510/

BioWaves Sound therapy
http://www.biowaves.com/

Positive Health
http://www.positivehealth.com/article/sound-and-music/the-healing-power-of-sound

Altered States
http://altered-states.net/barry/newsletter420/

The 49 Octaves of Sound and Light
http://www.cocreatorsworld.com/science-of-harmony/the-forty-nine-octaves-of-sound-and-light/

Remember kind traveller: The Truth is Out There

Sort:  

hi lovely post I will be featuring it today in my daily pick of hidden gems

Thank you for your kind comment. It has only taken me 34 years to be able to share this one, and it is only as a direct result of reading the honest sharing of other people on Steemit.

https://steemit.com/life/@dragonslayer109/daily-pick-of-hidden-gems-25 here is where i will be featuring your post. IT is an amazing post and hope to bring it some light

Wow man! Thank you so much for doing this and sorry for only getting back to you now. I live in European time zone, and a few life events to take care of today, so this is my first opportunity to check in since posting.
I really appreciate you carrying the message. I will definitely attempt to emulate you bro. I have great positive feelings and intuition about where Steemit is going and what it can and will represent; a complete paradigm shift in social conscioousness. Some are mentioning Black Swan, which is great, but for some of us, those words can carry a very negative conoctation. Peace my friend :)

P.S. I will share your link. The very least I can do.

Hi DragonSlayer - I'm new on here & meeting new friends.... I saw you liked reading a Story about a Near Death Experience & thought You'd like reading my NDE Story when I Drowned as a kid. It's totally true -
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doctormegazilla/near-death-experience-nde-and-out-of-body-experience-obe-drowning-part-i

Hi @davidbrogan. Thanks for sharing this account of your life-changing experience. I really enjoyed it's reading; that certainly struck some resonant chords with me.

2 people immediately sprung to mind.

Have you heard of Eban Alexander? His book "proof of heaven" is a must read.

Also, have you checked out John Stuart Reid yet? He is a social media friend who I'm currently in contact with in regards to doing a guest feature that i'm sure you would find very interesting.

Great post. Thank you! :)

@yogi.artist
Check out Richard Hoagland's hour long interview with Dr Alexander.
I'll remove it in a few days, so the YT bot doesn't flag me.

@matherly Thank you so much. I am going to make a coffee now and sit. relax, and take this all in.
You know you mentioned about no evil... well, I'm always real real careful who I share this with... I got the message that there is no right/wrong or good/bad (s strange as this may sound)... it's just our limited perception of reality, and that one attracts the other. It is the song/dance of life itself.
Life has no opposite. No-one can remember not being alive. Only birth and death are opposites.
Here we go, coffee is ready. You are a "Legend" for doing this, truly :)

@davidbrogan the setting WAS at unlisted, but somehow it went to private, NOW its back to unlisted.... so sorry about the false start.

No problem at all. I knew it would be a simple fix :) All your efforts are very much appreciated!

I have an interview with Eban you absolutely must hear.
Eban has an AMAZING story!!
I really love that man!

Fantastic @matherly I checked your channel and cannot see it. Perhaps you could make a future post (soon) linking to it? Or else provide the link to this interview? Thank you very much in advance!

@davidbrogan here is an inspirational experience told by Neurosurgeon Eban Alexander.
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!
The video is black, audio only. :^)

@matherly Despite what I have tried, I'm getting the message "This video is Private"... bummer! YT wont let me play it unfortunately at present. Might need the private link?

ah, I'm replying late.... @davidbrogan
The Eban interview was on Richard Hoagland's Other Side of MIdnight show.
Its about 1 hr. If I edited it a bit (trimmed music out) and uploaded it to youtube, I'll keep it unlisted and if you want to download the video, just install any of the YT downloaders.
I'll do it tonight.
You should get the link tomorrow - in this thread. :^)

Phenomenal. Triggered a few things. I emailed him directly. Thank you so much for this Dave! @matherly I owe you big time. Feel there is something bigger going on here. A bit of Synchronistic energy afoot. Energy alignments.... that, or I am stone crazy :)) (It's a 50/50 bet).

@matherly I really appreciate you doing this. Thank you very much! :)

Thank you my friend. You know, I read a LOT, yet no, I have not heard of either Eban Alexander or John Stuart Reid. So this is great! I really love to come across someone new. I will definitely check out both these guys and the book recommendation. Thank you for the information.
On a broader note, isn't it great how Steemit is working already? This sharing of knowledge and information? I haven't been this excited about something in years.
I know you mentioned certainly struck some resonant chords with me I'd love to hear more about what those are, if you are ok with that, either here or in a private message. Thanks again for taking the time and effort to comment and the great references :)
P.S. I maybe should have mentioned in my original posting, but these "presences/other beings" didn't possess wings. (They were not visible anyhow). I cannot remember any mention of religion or heaven or other words and terminology we use here on Earth.

My pleasure buddy, you'll be glad that you checked those guys out. In fact John Stuart Reid just got back to me, so I'm definitely going to be running a feature, that will be sharing his latest research in cymatics, amongst other, very interesting things :)

I totally agree, the way steemit is working is a thing of absolute beauty. This is such an ingenious platform that inspires creativity, sharing and connecting in abundance, and the community here are a cool, friendly and interesting bunch. I feel like I've found home!

I couldn't find you on rocket.chat (Are you on there under a different name?), but the links that @lovejoy added go some way to highlighting my personal resonation with your experience. I've also had a few NDE's in my life, but not quite in the same way you have. These accounts, I may well share, as future posts.

That's fantastic. Synchronicity! I have recently been in discussion with a retired professor of Astro physics concerning music and Cymatics, so I will eagerly await your interview with John Stuart Reid with baited breath :)

This was a bit of my exchange trying to increase my understanding of things: have you any knowledge of or thoughts on 'Cymatics'?
I do know a little. The term is related to standing waves on surfaces,
mostly. Such wave phenomena are something we study a lot in Physics since -- not
to put a fine point on it -- everything is waves.
E=mc^2, despite what others will tell you has nothing to do with objects
moving at the speed of light. What this equation says is that matter
and energy are interrelated. One is the other, just different forms.
This wave nature is the foundation of quantum mechanics.

I am on steemit.chat as username david.brogan Hope this helps! I really look forward to your NDE experiences if you share them in the future!

@yogi.artist @davidbrogan
At the 40 min mark in the video link...
Eban says there is no evil
Our concept of evil is just the lack of love.
This made me weep. Its so very beautiful and it makes sense.
As a child, I was told there is no cold, its simply the lack of heat energy.
Its the same.
Hopefully you both can see why I say I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this man!

ARGH~!!!! @yogi.artist @davidbrogan
I had it set to private instead of unlisted!!!!
Its good now.

Hi Yogi.Artist - I'm new on here & trying to meet Friends.... And, I saw you liked reading a Story about a Near Death Experience, so I thought You'd might like to read My NDE Story, whenever I Drowned as a Kid.... True Story -
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doctormegazilla/near-death-experience-nde-and-out-of-body-experience-obe-drowning-part-i

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Yup. But not as deep as your thing. Had alcohol poisoning. Hillarious story actually, since I saw what was happening around me, although I was passed out. It actually happened that before people started trying to get me out of the wardrobe I was sleeping in it was all about void full of stars.
But after it was something like double vision. On one hand I saw people clumped in the tiny corridor near the wardrobe. It was in the hotel room. On other side it was a vision of the desert and a canyon. I was hanging over the canyone and those same people were trying to get me tomfall down.

It is probably a story I should write down, since I really enjoy telling it.

Hi Xanoxt - I'd love to read about your Alcohol Poisoning Story, if you have a link..... Anyway, I'm new on here & meeting new friends.... And, I saw you liked reading a Story about a Near Death Experience, so I hought You'd like reading my NDE Story when I Drowned as a kid. True Story -
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doctormegazilla/near-death-experience-nde-and-out-of-body-experience-obe-drowning-part-i

Thank you for sharing this heartfelt story of life beyond our current reality. I too have had this type of experience and as yet, I'm still experiencing the experience, before I write about it. Thanks for taking the first step to openly write it all done. Much appreciated.

@westcoast Welcome to Steemit and Thank You for taking the time to comment :)
When you write about your personal experience, please let me know. I would love to read your adventure too. If you scroll the comments below, there are some great links to some other people's experiences as well. I am aiming to do a follow up post at some stage, as this is not the complete (or only) story.

@davidbrogan Great post! Born 2 months premature was a NED for me and also again having Meningitis when I had no recollection of a few days. I didn't even see or hear the doctors and nurses during those few days.
Check this out if you haven't seen it already:
http://nigelstanford.com/Cymatics/

Thank for taking the time to share your personal experience and for reminding me about Nigel Stanford.
What I am exited about is the SCALING possibilities of what he has achieved. For example, do you see where he bends/diverts the water in front of the speaker cone? And likewise controls the fire flame?
What if we could scale this to create a sonic coastal defence system for example, that could literally "hold back the waves" in a Tsunami situation? Or to divert a forest fire's course and direction? I think of the Biblical story where the trumpets took down the walls of Jericho. What if that were the actual truth? Exciting times to be alive :)

Great story, thanks for sharing! I'm just going to leave this here: https://www.erowid.org/chemicals/dmt/dmt.shtml

Also, you may find some gems from my friend Ashera. http://www.asherahart.net

Ah yes.. Mr. Tesla! I definitely resonate with this great visionary soul . I have been in Croatia and on the streets named in his honor and memory. Thank you so very much for this link and your comments :)
Not totally sure of the authenticity of this piece, but to my mind, doesn't really matter, it is more the sentiment of the info contained within the commentary. You may find it interesting if you have not read it before: http://truththeory.com/2015/05/13/this-interview-with-nikola-tesla-from-1899-reveals-his-extraordinary-personality/

Sound frequencies + DMT. Then see Ayahyasca.

The thing about chemicals is.... ok, just my personal experience and 2 cents worth... The follow up to my story is this... there were a lot of positive takeaways... I have no fear of this thing called "death". A moment no more or no less. That is all. Many other positive realizations I may write about in the future.
Negative impact - When you have been to "Heaven/Nirvana etc." how do you come back to earth? I suffered deep depression. I could no longer relate to other people. Life became largely meaningless. The pursuit of wealth? Money? The "American Dream"? ... Trivial pursuits. Imagine being the only person to ever see a Sunrise? Or more accurately, the only person you personally know of that has ever seen a Sunrise? How do you describe that to other people? How can they relate to you?
So, yeah, I tried to find my way back to "the Garden" in due course and later years via experiments with drugs. There were other experiences, none recaptured the one in hospital. I tried to find my way back via other methods also... Past Life Regressions, Hypnosis, seeking out spiritual masters and Gurus. ... it goes on...
Here's the thing. I realised I was becoming a "Peak Experience Junkie". I was looking more "Hits".
But an experience is only fleeting. It's not the real deal. The carpenter said something like: Happy are those who have not seen, yet believe I go with that. I would say to others, be careful what you wish for. I hope this makes sense. Peace :)

Hi LoveJoy - I'd love to read any postings you have about DMT or Ayahyasca. I'm all about learning more about growing Spiritually.....If you can, please send me a link to any of your postings...... Anyway, I'm new on here & trying to meet new friends.... And, I saw you liked reading a Story about a Near Death Experience, so I thought You'd might like to read about my NDE Story, whenever I Drowned as a kid.... True Story -
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doctormegazilla/near-death-experience-nde-and-out-of-body-experience-obe-drowning-part-i

I don't have any posts on the topic as of yet. I've been reluctant to write about such experiences, because they are not so much a part of the experiential... if you catch my drift. Great write up about your NDE. I'll let you know if I manage to find an acceptable way to properly express the DMT or Ayahuasaca 'experience'. Probably with a lot of disclaimers. :P Cheers.

Thanks for the Reply... I'm following U now....

I had the disembodied voice in my ear once.
It happened a couple minutes before I received a call from my sister.
The voice woke me, loudly projecting into my right ear (from a source that seemed to be only a few inched away) "CALL YOUR FATHER".
After leaping from the bed, shaken, I figured it was just my conscience telling me to call my parents, it had been a few weeks.
I got up, started to make coffee, and the phone rang.
My sister was crying and screaming about dad finding out he had only a few weeks left.
I was a happy atheist. Perfectly happy. Till that moment, in Nov 2011.
Now, not as happy. Don't know why.

My voice was softer, gentler and more melodious than this one in the first 10 seconds of the clip, but this was close enough to trigger the memory that I got emotional the first time I heard it. Still gives me chills.

Hi Matherly - I'm new to Steemit & trying to meet new friends.... And, I saw you liked reading a Story some months ago about a Near Death Experience... So, I thought You'd might like to read about my NDE Story, whenever I Drowned as a Kid.... True Story -
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doctormegazilla/near-death-experience-nde-and-out-of-body-experience-obe-drowning-part-i

David, Im so glad you decided to write this. I just got home from work , I sat down and began reading and I was pulled in. It was the perfect piece for me to read at the moment. I thoroughly enjoyed it . It made me recall memories of when I was young. It gave me a very good feeling and left me with a smile. Thank you!....

You are very welcome @blockchainbilly It makes me feel good to know I can help in some small way to make other people feel good too. Keep smiling :)

Hi Blockchainbilly - I'm new to Steemit & trying to meet new friends on here.... I saw you liked reading a Story about a Near Death Experience - You might like reading my NDE Story when I Drowned as a kid. It's totally true -
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doctormegazilla/near-death-experience-nde-and-out-of-body-experience-obe-drowning-part-i

thanks for sharing this material. I like what you posted. if you want you can visit my blogg you. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85