My Original Daily Motivation - "Don't be afraid to be DIFFERENT in life, but rather be afraid of going through LIFE PRETENDING to be someone you are not."

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

DQmayUPrBd67VZbfcTm4rs6hu2etg2Y3e4z3gdjahDvnGqP_1680x8400.jpg

I know this is a very hard thing to do. Especially if we really want somebody to like us. The truth is do we really want somebody to like a person who we are pretending to be or a person who we really are? The thing is when we pretend to be someone we are not we are only setting ourselves up for living a life in which we never truly reveal our true self. The person who we truly are will always stay trapped in our own mind because people are used to the pretending "you", and not the person who is truly inside. Basically, we become our own prison never truly expressing our opinions, and always holding back on what we really want to say in order to fit the person we are pretending to be.

Trying To "Fit In" Mistake

I have made this mistake many times in my life. At the moment I was doing this I thought this is the necessary and right thing to do, but I can safely say from my personal experience I was wrong. Because I was constantly going against myself. Contradicting what I was really thinking, and believing in. That is why it is important to express our likes, dislikes, interest, desires, or whatever we think is important for us to express to show who we are as a person. We have to protect who we are and stand for what we believe in.

woman-510480_1920.jpg
source

We Have To Express it, and We Have To Say It

Because when I really started to express myself and stopped holding back I have opened myself for the opportunity to meet the right people. People who appreciate me for who I really am, and who have similar interest as me. We can't truly expect to meet the right people in life if we never express who we TRULY are. Nobody can get in our minds, and know who we are and what we really think. We have to express it, and we have to say it. We are constantly attracting what we are showing to the world. If you don't like what you are attracting than change what you are sending out there. Send more of your TRUE SELF, and the right people will find you.

human-2412988_1920.png
source

Turn The Magnifying Glass On YOU

If you struggling with this issue I want you to go home today. Find a quiet place to think. I want you to think about YOU. Turn that magnifying glass on YOU. I want you to think about what you like to do, and what you don't? I want you to find what makes your heart beating a little faster? I want you to find what you are passionate about? What excites you? What motivates you? I want you to find the things which bring that beautiful smile on your face? I want you to find what makes you happy? And, most importantly I want you to find out who you are as a person, or who you want to be as a person?

Once you can answer that question no matter how crazy does it sound at the moment, I want you to be or become the person you WANT to be in life? No pretending, no holding back, just pure 100% YOU from this point on. Work on becoming a person you WANT TO BE IN LIFE. Every day, and step by step WORK ON IT. YOU CAN DO IT.

freedom-2053281_1920.jpg
source
Because my amazing Stemian friends from my humble 29-year-old experience I can only say to you is to be yourself in life. No matter who that person is. Do it even if it sometimes means walking alone. Sometimes in life you need to walk alone in order to find yourself, and the right people to make our life more complete. By doing this you might lose contact with some people, but true friends will stay. Because those are your true friends. But, you will gain much more.

You will literally free yourself from the chains of PRETENDING TO BE SOMEONE YOUR NOT, IN ORDER TO FIT IN. It will be one of the most liberating and inspiring things you will do for YOURSELF in life. Life is meant to be lived being YOU. We all have this one beautiful life, and it would be a shame to spend even a one minute more pretending to be someone we are not. Stay true to yourself ALWAYS no matter what my friends.

"Don't be afraid to be DIFFERENT in life, but rather be afraid of going through LIFE PRETENDING to be someone you are not."

Thank you for reading, BE YOURSELF, have a liberating day, much love,

dbjegovic 💓💓

If you enjoyed this post but need some extra motivation, go and check out some of my other motivational posts I wrote:

My Original Daily Motivation - "You can FAIL. You can FALL DOWN. You can make a MISTAKE. It is all part of LIFE. The only thing you should never do is STAY DOWN, or quit on YOURSELF, and the DREAMS you have."

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-original-daily-motivation-you-can-fail-you-can-fall-down-you-can-make-a-mistake-it-is-all-part-of-life-the-only-thing-you

My Daily Original Motivation - "Failures, mistakes, and disappointments are merely guidelines to success."

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-daily-original-motivation-failures-mistakes-and-disappointments-are-merely-guidelines-to-success

My Original Daily Motivation - "Keep SHINNING your "LIGHT" every day. Eventually, the "CLOUDS" will disappear, and there will only be you there. Shinning your "LIGHT".⛅️

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-original-daily-motivation-keep-shinning-your-light-every-day-eventually-the-clouds-will-disappear-and-there-will-be-only-be

My Original Daily Motivation - "Never let anyone tell you what THEY think is IMPOSSIBLE for you in life. THEIR impossible could be YOUR POSSIBLE."

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-original-daily-motivation-never-let-anyone-tell-you-what-they-think-is-impossible-for-you-in-life-their-impossible-could-be

My Original Daily Motivation - "Dream of a happy life, and live you are DREAMING. Create your own happiness." 😃

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-original-daily-motivation-dream-of-a-happy-life-and-live-you-are-dreaming-create-your-own-happiness

My Original Daily Motivation - "You are as STRONG, as the obstacles you OVERCOME through life." 💪🏻

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-original-daily-motivation-you-are-as-strong-as-the-obstacles-you-overcome-through-life

My Daily Original Motivation - "Breath in confidence and love. Exhale doubt and fear. REPEAT."

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-daily-original-motivation-breath-in-confidence-and-love-exhale-doubt-and-fear-repeat

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

Sort:  

Oh, I love this. Be the authentic you and you will never get lost. Good morning, my friend and thank you for the daily inspiration. One love.

Thank you, my amazing friend. I am glad you liked it. :)

And, you are more than welcome. I am happy to share my view of life with you. :)

Have the best day ever. :)

And here is something for you:

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” Dr.Seuss

I love this post, and I am so grateful to you for sharing it. It moved me.

This is such a great and motivating post, I used to try to fit into the norm that society and peers made me feel I should be in, maybe its getting on it age, but now I do what makes me feel good and doesnt hurt anyone else

At work I have to be semi conventional with suit or Jacket and tie for meetings brother than that I am not the robot I used to be and enjoying life so much more

@tatoodjay thank you. I am glad you like it. :)

We all did, my friend. We all wanted to just fit in at some point of our lives. But, we were really not helping ourselves by doing it. Because we were sharing ourselves in little pieces, or not at all. We were living in the prison we created for ourselves. And, for me, that is not a way to live a life. Never being ME. Once I realized it I just stopped doing. I started to express myself. And, I am not going back ever. Sure I lost some friends along the way, but they were not really my friends, they only liked the pretending me. True friends stayed. :)

Life is too short to spend it not BEING YOU. :)

Yes your last line is the key

Now that I am older I am people people can like it it lump it 😎👍😎

It’s a whole lot easier for me to be myself than to pretend to be someone I’m not. At my age, this advice comes easy. But it is good advice.

It is. I agree 1000%. And, you only realize it when you start doing it. You realize how much energy you were wasting just pretending to be someone you are not. And, no it is not worth pretending. Ever. You close yourself to the opportunity to meet the right people because you are never expressing your TRUE SELF. :)

Thank you for the great comment. Have an amazing day. :)

hey man. I really enjoyed this post and I'm so sorry I just missed a chance to give it an upvote. totally deserved it and more.

ever since I got on Steemit my eyes have been opened to so many things, so many different people. I've also gotten to know myself better and what I want for myself in life and for my family.

to express and say it, at times I realized, actions really speak louder than words. I am learning to dig deep, ignore certain comments, and look at what I really want in life. learning to zone out and focus in. steep learning curve! :/

By doing this you might lose contact with some people, but true friends will stay.

this is really what I need to hear man. thanks for sharing. I'm sure I'm not the only one who has benefited from this! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66