The BLACKLUX Party - Day 6 - Christmas Memories - Share One of Your Favorites!

in #blackluxparty7 years ago (edited)

Do you have a favorite Christmas memory? Share it here in the BLACKLUX party! Have some fun while you help out a Steemian recovering from the hurricanes that hit Puerto Rico! It's a 14-day party with music, food, and more!

blacklux christmas party 6-2.jpg
This photo is from a model railroad layout in the San Francisco airport a couple years ago. It's a good thing I had plenty of time between connecting flights to enjoy it. I hope you are all having a relaxing Christmas time, wherever you are. And may @blacklux and Puerto Rico be back on their feet soon.


Join the Party!

I'm glad you've come to join the fun and games here at my BLACKLUX party! If you're new here, stop over at the cookie table, the hors d'ouevres buffet, and the bar, whenever you want. You can take a spin in the DJ booth. And you can craft a Holiday Card over at the craft table, too. Prizes await in every post! :D


Share a Holiday Memory

Parties are fun with people chatting and laughing and sharing stories. I'd like to hear about one of your favorite Christmas or winter holiday memories - in the comments below or in a post.

I'll choose a random winner of 1 SBD from everyone who posts a memory in the comments below. If you have a post about a holiday memory, you can put the link in your comment so we can all go take a look at it! If you want your possible prize to be donated to @blacklux, let me know in the comments.

I'm looking forward to enjoying your Christmas or winter holiday memory! I hope you stop by @blacklux's blog, too, with some holiday cheer! And you can invite other people to the party, too! The party goes through New Years Day!


How the BLACKLUX Party Works

Some of you have enjoyed my Icicle Party or Spring Celebration Party or my Baby Dolphin Party. I know I enjoyed hosting them and seeing all the happy creativity everyone brought to those parties. So I'm having a BLACKLUX party that lasts the entire holiday season!

I'm going to post a BLACKLUX Party Holiday Card every day, from now through January 1. Every bit of the SBD that these posts make, I'll transfer to @blacklux once the posts pay out.

And there's more. Tell me when you've made a gift to @blacklux. I'll check your wallet and match your gift -- up to 50 SBD total for the whole party. If you've been tracking the value of SBD, you know that is real money, for a real person, who has real needs.

Thanks for sharing your holiday gifts with @blacklux, @ecoinstant and @kalemandra!


Why We're Having a BLACKLUX Party

It's the season for holiday parties. Steemit needs a party! And hurricanes Irma and Maria devastated Puerto Rico. Our friend, @blacklux, is living through the mess -- still! I've wanted to help out, but wasn't sure how. I wasn't sure if she would even be able to stay connected with Steemit -- or be able access her Steemit funds to help recover. She's put out real effort to connect here on Steemit when she can get online. It took awhile for her to just get access to electricity and clean water. I really enjoy her sense of humor, here on Steemit and back on Tsu, too. And she has kept that sense of humor intact, too, all through the hurricane mess!


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

One of my sisters and I were riding with our grandparents to a Christmas Eve family gathering on the other side of their city. It was so foggy, we could barely see. It took hours to get to our destination. But we could see Christmas lights through the fog. And it was warm in the car. And we were with our grandparents. On Christmas Eve. It was wonderful and my sister and I still talk about that night.

Sounds magical! I love those moments. Its amazing how we can remember something that only took place 15 minutes years and years ago BUT I can't remember what I had to eat 3 days ago. LOL! Memories.

Yep, that's memories. When my grandmother got very old, she would black out sometimes and then slowly come to - talking German from when she was a child. She would be talking with her brother, when they were children. It was scary, but it was nice, too, because she could remember so much about when she was very young. Definitely more than what she had to eat, even the day before. Memories!

When my kids were little, we went to Germany to my mom's house and all my siblings came as well. Turkey wasn't a big thing in Germany at that time, but a farmer at the weekly market said he had one. I ordered - thinking in American lbs = 457 grams. He is thinking in kg = 1000 g.
we had to go to the farm to pick up the Turkey a day before Christmas. when we saw that thing, our jaw dropped open. It was huge!!
At my mom's house, we quickly figured out that it didn't fit in the oven. We had to cut off the legs and wings and cook them separately.
It all turned out well in the end and we will never forget that turkey lol.

What a fun memory!!

It was a very memorable Christmas all around lol

LOL! Great story. Yep, cut it up. I bet that made a lot of meals! Happy Holidays.

That is for sure!! Many meals - but we were a log of people. It worked out great. and they all were more convinced that we are "the crazy Americans" lol

That's an incredible story! That would be fun as a comic strip, lol. So funny! : )

That was a funny Christmas :)

Funny holidays make for good memories! More than an average holiday. Here's to more funny holidays! ; )

All my favorite Christmas memories are when I was young and our family was together. I can remember the voices, the smells and of course the food. My favorite part was inching my way under the Christmas tree and staring up into the tree with all the lights. I can remember the pine smell (I am catching myself taking a deep breath as I type this...LOL!) My Mom and Dad were not rich, they were factory workers. They would hand me the Sears catalog and let me pick out 4 items and told me Santa would bring me two. And Santa always did. I would write my letter to Santa and we would take it to the post office to mail to the North Pole. One of my favorite Christmas gifts was a Raggedy Ann and Andy doll that were 36" tall. I was just about that tall at the time. They looked huge to me at the time. I still have them. I must have been a good girl that year.

I can see you under the tree looking up! that must have been a great view! We always had too much under it - so, I never thought of that as a kid :)

Those are such great memories! It's amazing how our memories of fragrances, like the piney-ness of your Christmas tree, can be so strong. My sister and I were just talking on Christmas Day about how we would go through those Sears catalogs so much! That's neat you still have your Raggedy Ann and Andy, too! Good girl, indeed! : )

A Christmas memory. Waking early, as a child to discover the gifts from Santa under the tree, and being amazed that the cookies we had left out for him has been eaten.Oh the magic of a childhood Christmas!

LOL! Yea, to be young again. Everything was bright and magical! Happy Holidays @melinda010100

Thanks for the holiday wishes, @tesscooks4u
All my kids and grandkids are coming this weekend for 3 days to celebrate our family Christmas. It will be magical!

Have lots of fun, my friend!!

Santa must have eaten a lot of cookies in one night, right! Haha. Thanks for sharing that memory -- and the magic of Christmas for children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38