Bitcoin: How Has Your Conversations Changed In The Past 6 Months?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin as it gained popularity towards end of 2017 but in the past 6 months it has fallen substantial amount from it's ATH level. At the time there were many people who jumped on the band wagon looking for quick profits and made quick losses by buying at the top and now selling at the bottom.

19914124.jpg

Source

I have a fairly large network of non-crypto people from various walks of life. It's interesting how some of the people I have met (IRL-in real life) perceive Bitcoin.

  • For most part they just don't get it and there's not a lot to converse about because of it.
  • Some are under the impression that Bitcoin was a ponzi-scheme where you invest money and get regular returns. They are under this assumption because either they or their friends invested in schemes that were sold as "Bitcoin investment" and they lost heavily.
  • Some entered at the top and lost because of doing just that.
  • Some invested in the early stages of the pump and exited at the right time, but are scared to get back into it because they can't HODL and sit tight.
  • Some have burnt their fingers so badly that they are in serious debt.
  • A few early adopters are in profit and they had their own exit strategies but are still invested because they sold at the top and are buying at the bottom.
  • Elders and senior citizens don't get the concept of blockchain or cryptocurrencies for most part and think it's a new online scam of some sort.
  • Some think you are peddling them a scam. Explaining exchanges, KYC compliances, purchase/sale, demand/supply/ mining and more importantly use cases of blockchain technology fall flat on their ears and they still think you made money selling a scam.
  • Cryptocurrency isn't real, you can't have digital currencies because only paper money is real.
  • They snub you off because you choose to do something differently, and it worked out for you and they feel stuck for not paying heed when they were informed very early on.
  • They are jealous and they don't want to see your face and anything "cryptocurrency" upsets them and your relationship with them.
  • Traditional investors who are in stocks felt cryptocurrencies are aberration as people may stop investing in traditional investments.
  • Tell me how to make $25000 with $1000 investment and I'll give you 30% cut from it.
  • You are bullshitting everyone with this cryptos. They are banned by Modi government. I won't look into further because government has advised me not to touch them.
  • Don't you know they are illegal. You will be arrested if you hold any cryptocurrency in India.
  • They will change the world as we know it. People who look to the future will embrace it.
  • Disruptive and innovative new technology will replace old and inefficient technology. Cryptocurrency and blockchain technology are here to stay.
  • My father thinks you are doing illegal business. How can someone earn by posting content online. It's impossible. Why would anyone pay for sharing their thoughts.
  • Show me your bank balance and then I will believe you.
  • Where's your Lambo?
  • Give me some money I want to invest. I will repay loan as I've found a great system that gives me 2% daily returns with Bitcoin investment.
  • Hi, Meet this so and so person. He's a big guy on Gatbitcoin. They are innovating new tech. Would consider investing some?
  • It's easy money eh? Why don't you give me some of it. You can always earn some more.
  • You don't seem like you are working at all. Cryptocurrencies are such easy money eh?

I could go on perhaps but I'd like to hear it from you. These are just a few encounters I've had in the past 6 months.

It's incredible that people think so high and sometimes so low of emerging technologies. Not only that they are ready to write you off even if you never give them any advice on what you think they must do with their money. Surely there are a lot of scammy behaviour in this space, perhaps more often than not. But it's crazy what I've heard in my conversations with people.

But ignorance, lack of interesting in learning, general laid back attitude and focussing purely on get rich quick overnight is what I've realised after talking to hundreds and hundreds of people in my past 6 months of travel around the country.

What we have to understand is financial markets; crypto or stocks come with their own risks and rewards. There's manipulation in both places and crypto markets are a long way from maturing. I've no idea if we'll recover and do ATH but I think i'll stick around for a bit longer.

What about you?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. United Bikers of Mangalore Donates To Orphanage On World Motorcycle Day!
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Steem.Chat Contest #32

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

About an hour ago I went into Walmart and the cashier asked if I wanted to apply for a Walmart credit card. So I said, "they make you say that right?". She said yes. I then said "you know what's going to replace credit cards don't you?" She said no. I said "bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies". She looked at me like I was from another planet.

Exactly,whenever you talk about bitcoin and other cryptos with people they reacted like this.

I am feeling same what is the boy doing in this picture. really I want to run away from this but cant because i already invested lot of money energy and time....

In my experience responses are not that different here in Europe. What surprises me though is the number of people who profess to believe in bitcoin and crypto yet have never bought nor held even a satoshi or a wei ... I suspect the sheer difficulty of opening an account with a crypto exchange and transferring fiat is enough to exhaust people.
And as the best system for earning crypto is concerned, steem, I've come to realize that what for me is easy and a pleasure (writing) is seen as being hard as mining (pickaxe style) for a lot of people ...

Well, I think my family (at least) understands what makes Bitcoin special and why it's important to have a long term outlook. 👍

Congratulations @firepower! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi,

I am mostly in Steem and SBD now. BTC maybe a good time to buy now.

I still believe in cryptocurriences for the future profit.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@firepower I think that this long bearish period have made the space cleaner and right now only those people are in the market those who understand blockchain as a technology and believe in the technology.

Its interesting what peoples perceptions are not and how they can change over time. I was just in the museum looking at the apparent evolution of man. 6 million years to reach this point right...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50