travel photography - Bamboo Lodge, Langtang National Park, Nepal

in #bescouted6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

Bamboo Lodge
Langtang National Park, Nepal - 1995

This is a monochrome version of a scan of a color photo taken and printed in 1995.

I have traveled to different countries on this beautiful earth, but none made as much of an impression on me as Nepal. Maybe it was because it was my first journey outside of Europe, a real culture shock - the material poverty on the one hand and the spiritual richness on the other. It was transformational on my view of life.

This photo is from Bamboo Lodge, one of the most idyllic places I have visited in my life. It is difficult to say why it made such a big impression on me but it has stayed in my memory after all these years. I often wondered what happened to the little girl who lived there with her (grand) parents and who helped to prepare food for hikers that passed by their little lodge. This place was truly magical, simple and soulful; the people were inspirational. My overnight stay there initiated a healing purge that continued the next eight or nine days of my trek through the Himalayas, and of which I felt the after effects for many weeks since then. To this girl and her family I say a heartfelt Thank You For Being ( #ThankYouForBeing initiated by @everlove)

The series that this photo is part of was shot with a Canon AE-1 on 35mm color film. The negatives were developed in 1995 and printed; those original photos have faded a little bit. I scanned the photos last year on a regular office scanner. So overall the quality is not great, and I didn't attempt any touch-up or remove dust and lint because that to me is the charm of this whole series.

The color scan can be viewed in the Langtang National Park series on my website.

Posted through BeScouted, a photography community.


divider-other-posts.png

boy at temple

little girl at Bamboo Lodge

women on trail

religious life

me with Nepalese family

little monk

girl in doorway

girl at Bamboo Lodge

religious life

 

souvenirs

 

divider-web-sites.png

spacerbanner kagalakan.comspacerbanner insharedoneness.comspacer

quote-formulate-desire.png

Photography, art work and text by @edward.maesen
#epvm #epvm-photography #epvm-bescouted #epvm-nepal #epvm-monochrome

Sort:  

Great job with this post @edward.maesen. You photography is really exceptional, and I love the other facets of your life I know of as well. I'm glad you kept the imperfections in this image. I agree that it makes it what it is.

So glad you incorporated #thankyouforbeing in this post. I love that we're sharing the appreciation around.

Thank you for your kind words @everlove. I'm grateful that I found you here, your posts are inspirational.

Like attracts like!!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71