A re-introductionsteemCreated with Sketch.


re-introduction

I joined a little over a month ago, and I feel a re-introduction is in place.

Originally my intention was to focus on and document my experiences with waszupp crowdfunding. But that initiative has still not come off the ground so there wasn't really that much to post about. Besides that, I don't think anybody read any of my early posts.

I realized the chicken-and-egg problem of steemit: it was not worthwhile to attempt to write quality posts as long as nobody followed me.

So I changed gears. I started contributing to photography contests from my large archive of photos that I took mainly over the last few years. That gave me some exposure and some people started to follow me. While exploring the site I also discovered BeScouted where I started to post my model photography, and d.tube where I posted some videos with my audio recordings.

But that's not all I'd like to contribute to steemit, I'd like to be able to post regularly about topics that interest me, and that hopefully reach an audience of like-minded people here.

So here's a photo of me with the obligatory steemit sign that shows some of my interests:

PA300035l.jpg

Central is some of my photography gear; I'll keep posting my photography. I have several cameras and lenses, more than displayed here. For me the tools are not important, and I hardly ever post my camera info and settings. They are meaningless anyway unless the sensor specifications are included and taking into account. When I look at a painting I don't expect to find out either what the brush brand and size was that the painter used. The emotional value of an image is what counts to me.

On the wall are some of my limited edition giclée prints that I print at home. I'll probably write a few posts about my art and print/framing process.

one-minute-shift-thumb.jpg

click image to view video

Under the steemit sign is a crystal bowl, which together with the two didgeridoos, drums and large (Solfeggio) tuning tubes represent my sound attunement activities. I hope to get into a rhythm of regularly posting sound recordings. I also sing; spontaneous improvised soul sounds. My voice and didgeridoo playing can be heard on the video next to this paragraph.

My photography gear is placed on a geometric vibrational device that I build, which represents my interest in sacred geometry and numbers.

I'm a physicist by education. Only years later did I recognize that my thesis in quantum physics exposed a circular logic in the main-stream approach. This realization led me to study alternative physics, from the spiritual harmonics-based worldview by Walter Russell to Subquantum Kinetics by Paul LaViolette.

My spiritual journey has been long and gradual. I follow my heart, question everything, including my own beliefs.

I hope to connect with many like-minded people here.

capture-kagalakan.jpg


◊Φ◊ My photography, art & audio ◊Φ◊
◊Φ◊ Retreats in Mt Shasta, CA, USA ◊Φ◊


Sort:  

I know the feeling on wanting to do another introduction post, I feel mine was lost in the shuffle!

Yes that happens, plus my original introduction was no longer very relevant since I changed my direction how I want to participate here.

Welcome @edward.maesen

You may like this nice Card. Use it in any way you want: It is a completly free gift for you :)
PS: Some clever Steemians print it for takeaway. The QR-Code leads directly to your blog.


Made with Love 💋

Nice to meet you! So nice you decided to join!

Thank you. Nice to meet you as well!

Hey Edward,
Normally I don't spend my time reading people who are "reintroducing " themselves because I normally find that they are just looking for some cash and a quick increase in REP from upvotes.
I am glad I did take the time to read yours, you gave a very good account of how being new on here a person can be easily overlooked. I commend you for how you approached the situation through photography and contests.
I wish you well and will check back on you in the future.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Thank you for taking the time to read and respond to my post.
I read a few of your posts and just like you I suspect I'm not here for the "rewards", but to reach out and connect with people who have something relevant or interesting or just unexpected to share.

You are correct sir, rewards are not the motivating factor for being here.

Hi @edward.maesen, I think the way Steemit appears to a lot of people to be another 'get-rich-quick' scheme/platform, but I think eventually as the site improves and you continue working on producing good quality content it will help create a better community and help remove people who are not here for the right reasons. I am only a new person to Steemit but I am doing my best to support people who feel the frustration, and I hope that we can all help each other on our journeys :)

Thanks for the comment @plushzilla. I came here for the freedom of expression that is increasingly being censored elsewhere. And when I first looked around here I was pleasantly surprised to find many high quality posts, that's when I decided to join. The monetary aspect of this site seems to be a double-edged sword. I admit it's a nice incentive to post and to continue posting, but I'm getting a bit annoyed by all the upvote bots that flood some people's comment sections.

I think the problem is that there is no real process of introducing or initiating people on Steemit, and it took me a lot of effort to look past the bots initially and dig a little bit deeper. But in a way this is rather rewarding (and what curators should be rewarded for), and it has led to some interesting conversations and connections that I think will continue to grow.

As you say, the monetary aspect is a double edged sword, and we have seen it in the way people are drawn into and discouraged by it. All I can say is that all the really amazing artists here have eventually found a following by being here long enough and I really admire and try to promote their work in my own way (since I am not an artist myself).

Judging by some of the developments that are coming (and discussed at SteemFest2 at the moment), I believe that people will start getting rewarded more for their efforts so I hope you can persevere and prove me right as well :)

To be honest we started using Steemit at around a similar time, and I think we both focus on a more organic way of trying to attract followers and monetize our work. The good thing is that I don't think there is necessarily a right or wrong way to go about it here, and while bots and scammers have to keep changing what they are doing to try and rob the system of its value, all we have to do is just keep doing what we enjoy and are passionate about and the people will do the rest.

That's most important, do what we enjoy and are passionate about. I hope to make a difference in this world, even if I reach just one person.

Welcome beloved, steemit is a place for personalities such as you.

You'll do well here, I've up voted your introductory post.

Make friends and have fun.
I'm a friend @maxdevalue

Thank you for your friendly comment and vote :)

Welcome once again, @edward.maesen. It does take a little time to take off on this platform. Not everyone becomes rich and famous immediately. Glad to know that you didn't give you and here you are today. Keep doing what you are doing and you will reach there. Keep Steeming On!

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62922.80
ETH 3437.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50