travel photography - Girl in doorway, Nepal

in #bescouted6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

Girl in doorway
Nepal - 1995

This is a monochrome version of a scan of a color photo taken and printed in 1995.

I have traveled to different countries on this beautiful earth, but none made as much of an impression on me as Nepal. Maybe it was because it was my first journey outside of Europe, a real culture shock - the material poverty on the one hand and the spiritual richness on the other. It was transformational on my view of life.

This photo was taken in a little village on our way from Kathmandu to Langtang National Park. I don't remember the name of the town but I do remember that it was blazingly hot there. (A few days later I'd walk in the snow.) We stopped for a short break and I took the opportunity to take some photos.

The series that this photo is part of was shot with a Canon AE-1 on 35mm color film. The negatives were developed in 1995 and printed; those original photos have faded a little bit. I scanned the photos last year on a regular office scanner. So overall the quality is not great, and I didn't attempt any touch-up or remove dust and lint because that to me is the charm of this whole series.

The color scan can be viewed in the Langtang National Park series on my website.

Posted through BeScouted, a community for photographers, models, make-up artists, stylists etc.


divider-other-posts.png
 

boy at temple

little girl at Bamboo Lodge

women on trail

me with Nepalese family

little monk

divider-web-sites.png

banner kagalakan.combanner insharedoneness.com

quote-formulate-desire.png

Photography, art work and text by @edward.maesen
#epvm #epvm-photography #epvm-bescouted #epvm-nepal #epvm-monochrome

Sort:  

dreaming country nepal i will surely visit

I can highly recommend it. It was a life changing experience for me.

I've been to Nepal in 2012 and like you, this country made me see a different view of my life. Im not good in taking pictures but I felt that every inch of that country has its own beauty that cannot be completely captured by any camera. I admire this picture you posted specially its caption. Hoping to see more of your work in this account.

Thanks for your comment! When I went in 1995, tourism was already starting to have an impact (negative and positive)... I hope in 2012 Nepal was still authentic.
The five little images under the text each link to an older post about this trip, and I have a few more photos that I plan to post in the course of the coming weeks.

there were small renovations arounf 2011 due an earthquake but the worst was in 2015. It was really devastating to see those beautiful temples and landmarks ruined. My cousin went there to trek the Everest base camp and he too fell in love with this country. Im hoping to come back there again..maybe Ill bring a better camera. 😊

I heard about the earthquakes. Devastating indeed. I hope you get a chance to go back and are able to take good photos.

Tipuvote!

Thats a beautiful photography, worth to be reminded!

excuse me what that nepal place?

I don't remember the name of this village. It was located in a hot and dry valley about halfway between Kathmandu and Langtang National Park.

great work any way im wondering how come u still have that old photo cheers!

When I came back in 1995, I had all photos printed and I put them in an album, which I kept ever since because that trip had made a big impression on me.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for posting in #travelphotography.

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 06:15:10
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 654.54/800.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by edward.maesen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66478.29
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95