travel photography - Religious life, Kathmandu, Nepal

in #photography6 years ago

nepal-950409SCN_02.jpg

Religious life
Kathmandu, Nepal - 1995

This is a monochrome version of a scan of a color photo taken and printed in 1995.

I have traveled to different countries on this beautiful earth, but none made as much of an impression on me as Nepal. Maybe it was because it was my first journey outside of Europe, a real culture shock - the material poverty on the one hand and the spiritual richness on the other. It was transformational on my view of life.

This is one of those photos that is more impactful in color than in monochrome, but to keep in style with the rest of the series I converted this one also. In the original photo, the man's clothes are red so that he stands out more; I played with the color filters (of the B&W conversion tool) to find the right grey tone for the fabric in this monochrome version.

The series that this photo is part of was shot with a Canon AE-1 on 35mm color film. The negatives were developed in 1995 and printed; those original photos have faded a little bit. I scanned the photos last year on a regular office scanner. So overall the quality is not great, and I didn't attempt any touch-up or remove dust and lint because that to me is the charm of this whole series.

The color scan can be viewed in the Kathmandu series on my website.

I posted this yesterday on BeScouted.com, but somehow it didn't get replicated on steemit; hence a separate post now so that I can reference it later.


divider-other-posts.png
 

boy at temple

little girl at Bamboo Lodge

women on trail

religious life

me with Nepalese family

little monk

girl in doorway

girl at Bamboo Lodge

divider-web-sites.png

banner kagalakan.combanner insharedoneness.com

quote-formulate-desire.png

Photography, art work and text by @edward.maesen
#epvm #epvm-photography #epvm-bescouted #epvm-nepal #epvm-monochrome

Sort:  

The photos was very nice... its look tradional outfit

Hi! Congratulations on winning weekly round of my 7 World`s Continents Photo Challenge. What a great image. I just sold all my SBD before transferring 20SBD to you as a winning price. I will do that tomorrow. In the meantime you can interact with you winner announcement post by answering some of the congratulation comments. Tomas

Price of 20 SBD/150 USD: 7 World's Continents photo challenge weekly winner announcement #14!

Woohoo! What a wonderful surprise! THANKS!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 05:04:57
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 939.38/1600.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 15
And have also received a 1.84 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93