travel photography - little girl at Bamboo Lodge, Langtang National Park, Nepal

in #bescouted7 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

little girl at Bamboo Lodge
Langtang National Park, Nepal   -   1995

This is a monochrome version of a scan of a color photo taken and printed in 1995.

I have traveled to different countries on this beautiful earth, but none made as much of an impression on me as Nepal. Maybe it was because it was my first journey outside of Europe, a real culture shock - the material poverty on the one hand and the spiritual richness on the other. It was transformational on my view of life.
This photo is from a magical location, Bamboo Lodge, in Langtang National Park. This little girl helped her (grand?)parents in their lodge, where I stayed at the beginning of a trek through the Himalayas. One day towards the end of the trek I made all effort to get here in time before nightfall so I could stay there again. More than twenty years later, having visited many places, the little lodge where this girl lived in the forest still remains my favorite.

The color scan can be viewed in the Langtang National Park series on my website.

Posted through BeScouted, a community for photographers, models, make-up artists, stylists etc.


divider-other-posts.png
 

my (re)introduction

divider-web-sites.png

banner kagalakan.combanner insharedoneness.com

quote-formulate-desire.png

All content originally created by @edward.maesen, unless otherwise indicated
#epvm #epvm-photography #epvm-bescouted #epvm-nepal #epvm-monochrome

Sort:  

wow this is stunning portrait ! even more with this grainy touch
love her expression !
the cameras were not in everybody hands these years

Thanks @victorbz. This was shot with a Canon AE-1 on 35mm color film. The negatives were developed in 1995 and printed; those original photos have faded a little bit. I scanned the photos last year on a regular office scanner. So overall the quality is not great, and I didn't attempt any touch-up or remove dust and lint because that to me is the charm of this whole series.

thank you for this response !
about the quality - we fallen to this high quality race because of the digital cameras and all what came with them and don't stop in the rise .. but the quality of the moment, expression and taken emotion decreased to the lower level by my opinion ! so i don't know what is better :-)

For me the tool that I use is not very important; that's why I rarely mention which camera I used in my posts. I don't care much about technical specs. Some of my favorite photos were taken with a point-and-shoot camera - it's all about the emotion. And even with my digital cameras, I try to shoot as if it had film so I think about every shot I take if it is worthwhile.

Congratulations @edward.maesen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @edward.maesen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

please join our steemit whats app group and earn more and more " https://chat.whatsapp.com/4wJ3NLSK1H67SQJlT1tcDR"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53