travel photography - Langtang National Park, Nepal

in #bescouted6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

Me with Nepalese family
Langtang National Park, Nepal   -   1995

This is a monochrome version of a scan of a color photo taken and printed in 1995.

I have traveled to different countries on this beautiful earth, but none made as much of an impression on me as Nepal. Maybe it was because it was my first journey outside of Europe, a real culture shock - the material poverty on the one hand and the spiritual richness on the other. It was transformational on my view of life.
This is a rare photo where I am on the lens-side of the camera; it was taken by a fellow traveller. This was towards the end of my trek through Langtang National Park. I arrived at this little town in the late afternoon, and in the middle of the street was a little girl, singing with a bright crystal clear voice. She touched my heart and I walked to the house and asked her parents if I could stay for the night. While the mother cooked a simple dinner I had a conversation with the father, who spoke English reasonably well. The little singing girl felt very comfortable with me and sat in my lap most of the time. These are some of the memories from my trek that I'll cherish as long as I live.

The series that this photo is part of was shot with a Canon AE-1 on 35mm color film. The negatives were developed in 1995 and printed; those original photos have faded a little bit. I scanned the photos last year on a regular office scanner. So overall the quality is not great, and I didn't attempt any touch-up or remove dust and lint because that to me is the charm of this whole series.

The color scan can be viewed in the Langtang National Park series on my website.

Posted through BeScouted, a community for photographers, models, make-up artists, stylists etc.


divider-other-posts.png
 

boy at temple

little girl at Bamboo Lodge

women on trail

divider-web-sites.png

banner kagalakan.combanner insharedoneness.com

quote-formulate-desire.png

All content originally created by @edward.maesen, unless otherwise indicated
#epvm #epvm-photography #epvm-bescouted #epvm-nepal #epvm-monochrome

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.95 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.19
Server time: 06:50:23
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 503.33/800.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 9
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @edward.maesen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90