Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.2 - "Homes" - The Winners!

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWlogoWinnersWeek2.jpg

My Thoughts:
My god.... once again, there were so, SO many fantastic entries to the second ever Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest. This contest is definitely bringing the type of awesome contest to Steemit that I was hoping it would, but I really had NO idea that judging would be so difficult. In fact, I'm going to start farming it out to some guest judges real soon. lol I think that would help the contest too. Get some other peoples choices and preferences to start winning some cash. Thank you to everyone that entered the ASW contest. If you didn't win, don't be discouraged. There's always next week! Now then, lets get to this week's winners:

1st Place Winner - 20 SBD: @creepycrazylife


^^^ It's almost hard to imagine how this entry COULDN'T take 1st place. Look at this old, abandoned mansion! It's pretty much the perfect example of cool abandoned shit. I also had to include the photo of the home's incredible spiral staircase. A lot of my judging is based on the amount I feel like I'd LOVE to check a place out, and this is a fat 100% in that department. It boggles my mind to think about how such an exquisite home could be left to rot. From the author: "People refer to it as "The Old Knox House", and "The Haunted Old Hickory." It was built by Franklin W. Knox, construction began in 1875 and ended in May of 1880." Be sure to check out the other photos of this gem, there are several of them: https://steemit.com/awcontest/@creepycrazylife/the-old-knox-house

2nd Place - 10 SBD: @shieha

^^^ It's one thing to see a cool, old building deteriorate... but it's another to see Mother Nature truly reclaim objects made by man. This place that @shieha found completely embodies that, hardcore. That tree growing up/through this old house is incredible. Yay for team nature! From the author: "This was shot inside an old house on the north coast of Taiwan, the previous owners must've been pretty well off since the house is much larger than the surrounding houses and has elements of western architecture incorporated into its design."
Link: https://steemit.com/photography/@shieha/tree-house-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-entry

3rd Place - 5 SBD: @fivealive55

^^^ For the second week in a row, Steemian @fivealive55 lands on the scoreboard. Of the photos from this location, this one in particular really stuck with me. A once grande fireplace on one wall, and then no wall at all adjacent to it. An incredible location. I'd love to see this place in person. From the author: "This 68 unit apartment building was originally built in 1928 and its original purpose was to house upper level management staff from the nearby steel factories."
Be sure to check out their other photos from this spot here: https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@fivealive55/entry-for-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-week-2

Bonus-For-Resteeming Winner - 5 SBD: @fishyculture <--- Picked by a random number generator, and after checking, they did, in fact, resteem the contest post. Thanks for helping out! Congratulations! Check out their entry too; they were born in the featured building

Honorable Mentions - 1 SBD each:

@bil.prag

"Castle "Bisingen" located in Vlajkovac, near Vrsac, in Serbia. It was build by earl Đerđ Močonji in 1859. In 1888 earl gave the castle as a gift for marriage of his daughter to famous Austro-Hungarian noble family Bisingen-Nipenburg."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@bil.prag/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-2-homes

@tillygerbi

"This abandoned beauty is in the New Forest, Hampshire - UK. I wonder what the story is behind it - such a beautiful place to live?"
https://steemit.com/photography/@tillygerbi/hidden-cottage

@soyrosa

*"When the government decided this city should be closed down and cleaned up (in order to be able to expand the Antwerp harbor) the people of Doel didn't want to give up their homes..."
https://steemit.com/photography/@soyrosa/a-ghost-city-in-belgium-with-the-name-doel

@jogo

"The Austrian actor and movie director Willi Forst bought this house at the end of his career around 1960. He lived there until the death of his wife in 1973."
https://steemit.com/architecturalphotography/@jogo/ruinenvilla

@melinda010100

"When I saw this abandoned cabin from the highway while traveling in the American West, I was transported back to what it must have been like as a new settler to buy this piece of land in the foothills of the Bighorn Mountains of Wyoming and choose this site for my cabin."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@melinda010100/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-7f7d3e72cb5ee

FINAL THOUGHTS
Again, if you didn't win... don't be discouraged. There will be a lot of these contests with lots of different themes. There were quite a few imagines that were disqualified for not adhering to the rules. Many weren't a type of home/residential space. Several were submitted after deadline. Other's submitted many entries when only one is allowed. I hate to be a stickler, but I'd like to keep this as fair as I can.

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 3 will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday) and look for the official contest post to see what the week's theme will be! I'm so excited and I hope you all join in, once again! Now, I'm off to distribute payouts!

Sort:  

Wow! That house with the staircase! How could anyone leave that? And why haven't squatters claimed it?! :)

That's really cool stuff you've found and selected @customnature! Glad I made it to the honorable mentions :-) Looking forward to the next subject!

I LOVE your photo!

Yeah that mansion is absolutely nuts! That spiral staircase gives me the creeps.

I just wish the realtor would have let me go up it. She wouldn't let us leave the first floor, plus it was the only photo I was allowed to take inside

Wonderful photographs, congratulations to the winners.

my lord that 1st place entry!!! Congrats everyone!!!!!

I just logged on and saw that I won! Thank you so much! The other photos are so beautiful as well, I am honored! If it weren't for @msvee & @donvee telling me about this site less than 2 weeks ago, I probably would have never gone through this abandoned home's photos again- even though I made my wife go several hours out of our way to get to the house. After a few days of having no clue how Steemit really works, I almost gave up, now I'll be a lifer (with more motivation). Thanks once more! - steve

So happy to see that you joined steemit!

That was an awesome post, man. I'd love to see that place. I'm also in PA, so I might have to make that happen, even if I don't get an inside view like you did. I didn't know you knew @msvee & @donvee. Small world! Stick with steemit for a while... even if you get small payouts and stuff for a while. I did. It's worth the perseverance, trust me.

Best contest name out there! It always makes me kinda sad to see such buildings full of history just let go. Then again I do like the creepyness of it. Congrats to the winner! I'd say it was a perfect example!

Agreed on every level!

Indeed a lot of great images once again! Great job making this happen @customnature

Goat house blues.jpg

This is an art-piece I made using a picture I made of an abandoned house on my island Curaçao...

So amazing!
This is such a cool contest!

They are worthy winners amazing entries they have go here really this is awesome, a great contest to, next time I'd participate

I wish I could have them all be winners; so much cool stuff was posted!

But it's a contest somebody had got to win you know

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71