Abandoned Shit Weekly contest

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

aswcontest by @customnature

HOMES

When I saw this abandoned cabin from the highway while traveling in the American West, I was transported back to what it must have been like as a new settler to buy this piece of land in the foothills of the Bighorn Mountains of Wyoming and choose this site for my cabin. A beautiful cold mountain stream at the doorstep for drinking water, and all the trout my family could eat. Wild game would have been plentiful, and the valley provided plenty of grazing land.

image

I only hope the cabin was abandoned when the settler became successful enough to build a new home for his growing family!

There is still plenty of time to enter this week's Shadow Contest!

Round 3-TREE SHADOWS

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Very cool abandoned place!! Really nice the different
layers of colours and textures! Such a grand view
Bring your hammer it's a fixer upper 🔨 :-))

Maybe if we all pitched in!!

It is interesting to see the backslashes or how people lived in the past. I am sure it was not easy as they have lived off only what the land provided and from their hard work. So much was depended on the weather.

I think people today forgot how to plant and survive of the land. As,all is provided for us in supermarkets. But, there is nothing like eating something you planted and grown yourself. :)

I agree! My kids and grandkids would do ok living off the land. They have been quite involved with gardening from a young age, and have learned to cook and we have all done many of the old time skills as fun projects. Shaping pots from clay dug from down by the river, and making soap. At least they would have the confidence to try!

That is amazing Melinda. And, I am sure they are thankful for it. Those are some skills all should learn. They should learn how to survive on their own and take care of themselves. :)

Hats of to you lady. Keep educating. :)

I think it is easier for people who have been raised in rural communities to see value in those skills.

must have been a nice place once with a stunning view, what a pity!

I hope they built somewhere else on the property
that was even better!

nice story😎😎

What an amazing view!

Isn't it? I could wake up to that every morning!

I love the layers and textures in your shot. I could envision myself living there. :)

Thank you so much for bringing this contest to my attention! I seem to like to take pictures of A.S. ;)

@artz does a really great list every week of current contests. ASW is a good one!

Excellent! I will check out their page. Contests are good for me...they help me focus my swirling thoughts and ideas for posts plus I end up meeting whole new groups of people.

I agree! The focus certainly is good for me, too, and hosting the Shadow contests have opened up a whole new world for me.

I am excited about your contest too and will wholeheartedly support your efforts! I am so drawn to shadows and have many photos and thoughts to share. I admire you for taking on this endeavor...the thought of that overwhelms me.

This one is very interesting Melinda! Good luck in the contest!

Thank you, my friend!!

Interesting reminiscing and lovely photo. I'm always curious too, when I see abandoned buildings, as to what the story is behind them.

I was wishing there was someone around that I could ask questions of, but I didn't see a soul for miles

the shot is so clear...wyoming is a favorite spot of mine..and you are right they would have had enough to make it..so many cabins get abandoned ..e will never know what happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44