The Old Knox House

in #awcontest6 years ago (edited)

On North Main Street in Coudersport Pennsylvania stands a beautiful empty old mansion. People refer to it as "The Old Knox House", and "The Haunted Old Hickory." It was built by Franklin W. Knox, construction began in 1875 and ended in May of 1880.

I contacted the realtor of this mansion 2 Summers ago to look at this property, they knew I was wanting to photograph it, and surprisingly they agreed to meet me there. Unfortunately, when the realtor showed, she informed me that the owner didn't want any interior photos taken. She still allowed us on the first floor - besides a fireplace mantle or 2 and a beautiful winding staircase, there was nothing to photograph anyway. Place was gutted and ready to get started.... on the inside anyway. She said, contractors estimated $800k- $1million just to make it livable. Before we left, the realtor allowed me to take a couple pics of the staircase that I promised not to post until the house was sold. I did hear once that it was finally bought, hopefully they'll bring this beautiful building back to life.

This is for the for an abandoned home! #aswcontest

IMG_1649-Edit.jpg

1DX_2498.jpg1DX_2468.jpg1DX_2459.jpg!
()1DX_2513.jpg
1DX_2478.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing Clicks @creepycrazylife I'd really appreciate if you can take a moment and see my photography also. I'm new here it would be big help.

Nice stuff! They have some beautiful cemeteries I like to shoot in Brooklyn

Wow, such a spooky place, I got goose bumps just from looking at it. Beautiful and scary at the same time. Thank you for the wonderful post.

Thank you for the kind words, I'll be adding many more soon!

Jeez, this is jaw-dropping. When are we going up to the tuberculosis retreat up by Painted Post?

After the Super Bowl

I really loke this one! Awesome photos....$800k to make it livable, these contractors arebinsane, what do they live in NYC or what?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.09
ETH 3827.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63